Google Photos

This is the place to discuss cameras, camcorders and anything you want to do in relation to photography. Also home to the 'photography competition'.

Moderators: Kryten, Alan b

nutter45

Google Photos

Post by nutter45 »

I was searching around the other day for online backups and read that Google have just relaunched Google Photos. Has anyone tried this?

Firstly it's a free backup service, unlimited as long as your file sizes are below 16meg (I think). It's also got a basic editing function and an intelligent sorting function, which picks up scenes and places as well as faces. It's very impressive.

It also randomly stylises photos, creates montages and animations, which is quite fun.
farmroad38

Post by farmroad38 »

I've been using Google for a couple of years, starting off when it was Picasaweb.

I still use Picasa for offline management, and sync various albums (not the whole lot) to Google Photos. The limitation used to be by image size in pixels, so not sure if that has changed.

Some of the things it does are fun, making automatic albums based on date and the like. It even took three photos I took of the same thing in quick succession and turned them into an animation. It's also pretty easy to link to the photos for use in forums etc.

I use Amazon and Picturelife for backing up my full sized photos.
Fatbloke

Post by Fatbloke »

I'd dearly love to see an update to Picasa. I'm not keen on all my stuff only being in the cloud and prefer to sync just the stuff I want to. Much prefer to sort and organise based on physical folders, creating online virtual albums only when I have something to share.

The increase in file size, is that referring to the actual file size or the MPixel size? If Mega Pixel, then my A55 DSLR will probably be right on the limit as it produces file 6~7MB in size.