TV Media Streaming boxes apps comparison (multi format)

Discuss all home media streaming hardware such as Popcorn Hour, Xtreamer, Mede8er and home cinema PCs
User avatar
Guest

Post by Guest »

Can you not spoof a device that does support HD?
User avatar
Deron
Posts: 12565
Joined: Sun Sep 24, 2000 11:00 am
Location: Birmingham

Post by Deron »

Useful thread....

After dumping sky movies, and moving to NOW TV, I'm looking to get Kodi in the bedroom as well.

Apple TV looks like it will tick that box. I already have an Nvidia Shield TV in the lounge and a PS4 that can do Now TV.
"If you can't support us when we lose or draw, don't support us when we win." Bill Shankly
500px
User avatar
Stevie G
Posts: 12265
Joined: Thu Aug 12, 2004 6:13 pm
Location: By the seaside

Post by Stevie G »

For me the essential apps that would make a box perfect are if it had Kodi, Amazon Prime, Netflix, Now TV, BBC iPlayer, Plex and TV Player. All the rest are good to have but I'm not so fussed.

I've just signed up to Sky for a decent price so that means I don't need Now TV for now, but may do in a year's time.

MrMC on Apple TV, does that allow any addons at all, not even default ones? Such as Trakt? The only thing that would put me off that is not being able to sync watched shows to Trakt or Emby.

Frustratingly, not one has all of that essential list. I guess a well chosen combination of the two should cover them all.

I've updated the list with the updates mentioned, but let me know if I have any wrong. I've assumed all but the 4k channels work on normal Android, but let me know if I need to correct any.
PSN Gamertag: NoMrMoreNiceGuy
It's all about the scrobbling...
alanmcg21
Member
Posts: 371
Joined: Thu Nov 18, 2004 3:07 pm
Location: Aberdeen

Post by alanmcg21 »

Kodi has an addon for ITV hub which is actually better than the app.
All it lists are the shows no navigating around the app to find what you want.
Its kinda like video on demand.
User avatar
Stevie G
Posts: 12265
Joined: Thu Aug 12, 2004 6:13 pm
Location: By the seaside

Post by Stevie G »

I couldn't get that to work when I tried it a few months ago, maybe it was a different one. Do you have a link to seeing it up please?
PSN Gamertag: NoMrMoreNiceGuy
It's all about the scrobbling...
alanmcg21
Member
Posts: 371
Joined: Thu Nov 18, 2004 3:07 pm
Location: Aberdeen

Post by alanmcg21 »

No video but i used this guide to install it.

https://seo-michael.co.uk/how-to-manual ... xbmc-kodi/
User avatar
Stevie G
Posts: 12265
Joined: Thu Aug 12, 2004 6:13 pm
Location: By the seaside

Post by Stevie G »

Great, thanks, I'll give it a go. It may have been the one I tried before, but I think the geo-blocking on ITV works well. Hopefully I can use it for the England friendly tonight over mobile data as I don't get my fibre connected until Tuesday!
PSN Gamertag: NoMrMoreNiceGuy
It's all about the scrobbling...
User avatar
Guest

Post by Guest »

Well my Beelink turned up yesterday and I've already bricked it, soooooo it was nice while it lasted.
fothy123
Member
Posts: 3055
Joined: Sun Dec 15, 2002 11:36 pm

Post by fothy123 »

How have you bricked it? Not do a factory reset?
User avatar
Guest

Post by Guest »

It was a combination of stupid actions but I can't even get a bootloader or recovery now. I might have a bit more of a fiddle with it later but it just seems completely dead.
alanmcg21
Member
Posts: 371
Joined: Thu Nov 18, 2004 3:07 pm
Location: Aberdeen

Post by alanmcg21 »

Cant you stick the original rom on sd card then reboot the box using the toothpick method ?
http://chinagadgetsreviews.com/download ... v-box.html
User avatar
Guest

Post by Guest »

I've tried but it's still a black screen. I've ordered a USB cable (who has a type-A male to male cable? :p) to see if one of the USB ports supports OTG as there seems to be a way of flashing an img file that way but I'm not holding my breath cause they're usually labelled as OTG and Micro-USB.
alanmcg21
Member
Posts: 371
Joined: Thu Nov 18, 2004 3:07 pm
Location: Aberdeen

Post by alanmcg21 »

Probably already tried this forum but worth a try.

http://freaktab.com/forum/tv-player-sup ... beelink-ac
User avatar
Guest

Post by Guest »

Yeah I have thanks. Not much info on this box yet, it seems a bit new.
User avatar
Guest

Post by Guest »

The USB flash method worked! It seems to have a different version of the software now and some weird bear on the boot screen and Tony Stark on the main menu now but it's working :D

I followed this (http://freaktab.com/forum/tv-player-sup ... ini-mx-iii) guide, the hardest part was finding a cable with a full sized USB on both ends.
fothy123
Member
Posts: 3055
Joined: Sun Dec 15, 2002 11:36 pm

Post by fothy123 »

Good to hear, mine has Tony Stark on the screen too, haven't worked out how to change it easily and going by your experiences then I might just leave it!
User avatar
Guest

Post by Guest »

I've managed to get OpenELEC running on it now and it's pretty good. x265 videos seem to be playing back fine with no dropped or skipped frames which they weren't when using Kodi on the default Android. Also it switches the TV to 24hz and CEC is working.
alanmcg21
Member
Posts: 371
Joined: Thu Nov 18, 2004 3:07 pm
Location: Aberdeen

Post by alanmcg21 »

Seeing as your mucking about with it maybe try libreElec see if its any better :D
https://libreelec.tv/2016/05/libreelec-jarvis-v7-0-1/
User avatar
Guest

Post by Guest »

It needs a special build for the device, I could only find a working OpenELEC build. It's really quite impressive, it even plays back 4k video no problem. It's just a shame my TV is only 1080p :(
alanmcg21
Member
Posts: 371
Joined: Thu Nov 18, 2004 3:07 pm
Location: Aberdeen

Post by alanmcg21 »

Oh i thought it was one of those dual boot boxes where you boot openelec from sd card.

http://www.futeko.com/products/MP066.php
Post Reply