Go Back   Forums @ The Digital Fix > Gaming Forums > Video Games Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 26-09-2007, 23:37   #1
Guest 43354
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 127
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Shake Head Halo 3 "Game Failed to Start"

Hello there people,

Just got my Legendary edition home, poped the game disc into my 360, Halo 3 loaded up fine, but when I try to start a solo campaign after a interlude with the loading screen I am presented with "Game Failed to Start". When I ok the message I am given the Campaign Lobby screen.

DOes anyone know what I am doing wrong? Or is this a bug that is going to make me regret coffing the 69.99 for the legendary edition?

All comments welcome!
Guest 43354 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-09-2007, 23:54   #2
Guest 20043
Trusted User
 
Guest 20043's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: West Baltimore
Posts: 17,669
Thanks: 18
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
70 bucks for a game whats in this legendary collection...........

been spoiled on the pc most new games are 18quid or i wait for it to be a tenner in the sales
Guest 20043 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-09-2007, 00:00   #3
Guest 54308
TAWT-A-HELLO
 
Guest 54308's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Above a bowling alley and below another bowling alley.
Posts: 1,279
Thanks: 25
Thanked 84 Times in 30 Posts
Did you click on 'Campaign?' Because that's the option for the multiplayer campaign only. If you want to play by yourself, then you click on the top option, 'Start Solo Game.' If you clicked 'Start Solo Game' and you still get that error, then I guess your copy is borked.
Guest 54308 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-09-2007, 00:01   #4
Guest 54308
TAWT-A-HELLO
 
Guest 54308's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Above a bowling alley and below another bowling alley.
Posts: 1,279
Thanks: 25
Thanked 84 Times in 30 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by unrealnils View Post
70 bucks for a game whats in this legendary collection...........
If you're around in the next couple of days, you can see for yourself
Guest 54308 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-09-2007, 00:36   #5
Guest 43354
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 127
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
further on this...

I have been grappling with this four couple of hours now.

It seems that if I take my hard disk out and try playing the game it starts fine, with the obvious ball ache that I can't save gameplay.

So I am currently in the process of clearing HD cache and recovering my profile

For those who care:
Clearing the HD cache is done by selecting the HD on the memory menu, then pressing the combination: Y, X, X, LB, RB, X, X, then selecting yes to option that appears.

If this doesnt work I shall cry as I think a complete format of HD will be required.

Watch this space.....
Guest 43354 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-09-2007, 07:22   #6
RichB
XBL Gamertag: FiniteRich
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 8,290
Thanks: 3
Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts
The above comment posted at 1.36am, nothing since

*Makes wild prediction*

I think he got it working
__________________
A time is coming when men will go mad, and when they see someone who is not mad, they will attack him saying
'You are mad, you are not like us.'
RichB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-09-2007, 07:45   #7
AFC
Trusted User
 
AFC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 818
Thanks: 72
Thanked 30 Times in 24 Posts
just read that there may be problems with Legendary edition
AFC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-09-2007, 07:48   #8
fredfox_uk
Me
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Earth
Posts: 654
Thanks: 171
Thanked 18 Times in 17 Posts
Scratched discs .........?

http://www.reghardware.co.uk/2007/09...ratched_discs/
fredfox_uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-09-2007, 08:37   #9
Guest 17129
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 176
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by fredfox_uk View Post

No that's with the Halo 3 Limited Edn
Guest 17129 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-09-2007, 09:23   #10
fredfox_uk
Me
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Earth
Posts: 654
Thanks: 171
Thanked 18 Times in 17 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by linkslow View Post
No that's with the Halo 3 Limited Edn

Ooops - They both start with an "L" though

I'll disappear now then .......
fredfox_uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-09-2007, 14:23   #11
anephric
Kidney Thief
 
anephric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Derby, UK
Posts: 22,698
Thanks: 33
Thanked 120 Times in 76 Posts
Oooh, I've been getting this problem too, and I've been through three separate H3 discs. I thought my drive was dying, but since all my other games are fine, I might try clearing cache/formatting the HDD.
__________________
www.khaaan.com
anephric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-09-2007, 14:34   #12
anephric
Kidney Thief
 
anephric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Derby, UK
Posts: 22,698
Thanks: 33
Thanked 120 Times in 76 Posts
I've just had a Google and apparently there are umpteen people with probs trying to play Campaign, and no amount of cache clearing/HDD formatting does anything.

http://www.bungie.net/Forums/posts.a...tRepeater1-p=1

I find the answer "It's your 360" a bit galling when I've got 20 other games that work fine. I'm not spending Ł200 on a new 360 to play one facet of one game.
__________________
www.khaaan.com
anephric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-09-2007, 14:46   #13
LouBarlow
Retired Member
 
LouBarlow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 55,655
Thanks: 923
Thanked 979 Times in 620 Posts
Have you tried all :

a)Powering on the 360 with the disc already inserted
b) Powering on the 360 and putting the disc in from the dashboard
c) Playing while disconnected from Live?

Do these make any difference?

Last edited by LouBarlow; 27-09-2007 at 14:47.
LouBarlow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-09-2007, 14:48   #14
AFC
Trusted User
 
AFC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 818
Thanks: 72
Thanked 30 Times in 24 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by LouBarlow View Post
Have you tried all :

a)Powering on the 360 with the disc already inserted
b) Powering on the 360 and putting the disc in from the dashboard
c) Playing while disconnected from Live?
no, but I've tried powering on the 360 while standing on one leg with one arm raised above my head, works a treat
AFC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-09-2007, 14:51   #15
LouBarlow
Retired Member
 
LouBarlow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 55,655
Thanks: 923
Thanked 979 Times in 620 Posts
LouBarlow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-09-2007, 15:14   #16
anephric
Kidney Thief
 
anephric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Derby, UK
Posts: 22,698
Thanks: 33
Thanked 120 Times in 76 Posts
Works without HDD attached. Might transfer my saves to memory card and wipe the HDD totally (since it's a launch machine and has two years' worth of saving and deleting). I'll lose Hexic, but what the hey.
__________________
www.khaaan.com
anephric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-09-2007, 21:46   #17
LooneyJetman
Xbox Live - LooneyJetman
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 1,490
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I had problems with Campaign. It seemed to be tied to the fact that my save was on a memory card and I was playing it on a different 360. The level would load, then I'd get a corrupted display with the text reading something like "failed to spawn, area not safe".
LooneyJetman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-09-2007, 01:15   #18
anephric
Kidney Thief
 
anephric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Derby, UK
Posts: 22,698
Thanks: 33
Thanked 120 Times in 76 Posts
Hmmmph. It worked for a bit without the HDD and now it's back to not even being able to load the first level. Tried clearing the HDD cache, did nothing. Tried formatting my HDD (pain in the ass): did nothing.

Won't work at all in Campaign. Can still play MP no probs. I. Am. Seriously. Annoyed. Now.
__________________
www.khaaan.com
anephric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-09-2007, 08:24   #19
Out for Justice
XBL: ShookusDaBookus
 
Out for Justice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 8,761
Thanks: 761
Thanked 194 Times in 109 Posts
.

Last edited by Out for Justice; 28-09-2007 at 08:24.
Out for Justice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-06-2009, 00:27   #20
Guest 69876
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by yaman View Post
Hello there people,

Just got my Legendary edition home, poped the game disc into my 360, Halo 3 loaded up fine, but when I try to start a solo campaign after a interlude with the loading screen I am presented with "Game Failed to Start". When I ok the message I am given the Campaign Lobby screen.

DOes anyone know what I am doing wrong? Or is this a bug that is going to make me regret coffing the 69.99 for the legendary edition?

All comments welcome!
Hey man,
had the same thing,
bought halo 3
loved it.
but, i couldn't do campaign.
so last night, my and 2 mates did online co-op campain.
And surprisingly it worked.
so i went to start a solo campaign and it worked!
after trying it 1000 times, cleaning it and all.


Resolved by- playing online co-op campaign.

hope it works for you.
it may have just been lucky

good luck :P
Guest 69876 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
Halo 3

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"nvuclockInit failed" after latest update Guest 337 Computing Forum 4 20-06-2005 18:33
Recurring "could not start because the following file is missing or corrupt" error Guest 22808 Computing Forum 0 03-08-2004 13:20
Halo 2 - NO online charges, all free baby. It was a "joke" Matt KB Video Games Forum 40 19-05-2004 15:47
CDWOW to start "downmarking" packages to avoid customs? Guest 20853 Suppliers and Shopping Forum 10 22-12-2002 14:14

All times are GMT. The time now is 20:46.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018 Poisonous Monkey Ltd. Part of The Digital Fix Network