Go Back   Forums @ The Digital Fix > Gadgets and Gizmos > Computing Forum

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 18-05-2018, 17:24   #2601
AdamBrunt
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: UK
Posts: 23,441
Thanks: 101
Thanked 178 Times in 113 Posts
How bloody big is the latest Win10 update ? It seems to want either 3GB more on my primary HDD and additional space on an external drive OR nearly 7GB of space on my primary HDD.

I don't meet either of the primary HDD requirements ( partly I believe to previously failed and uncleaned update attempts ) so how do I stop my PC from trying to apply the update?
AdamBrunt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-05-2018, 04:25   #2602
scoobyood
Tony Danza
 
scoobyood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Zagreb
Posts: 8,386
Thanks: 694
Thanked 851 Times in 446 Posts
The update will need 3GB ish for the update. Double that because it unpacks it and places it next to the current windows install. Then it will leave a complete copy of your current 'C:\Windows' directory as backup... so double the inital download size plus some extra is about right.

After it's all done, those backup and temp files can be removed again.
scoobyood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-05-2018, 06:51   #2603
Tempest
Trusted User
 
Tempest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Horley (Gatwick)
Posts: 26,052
Thanks: 851
Thanked 661 Times in 403 Posts
I have a Windows Tablet, had it a few years now.
Amazing for the price, Windows 10 and all that.

But I don't think it has enough storage to actually upgrade itself.
I tried the last upgrade a few times and it failed at the end, I deleted most of what I could, short of wiping it clean, and still would not do it.

So this time around I guess I have no chance.
Unless there is some other way?

If I'm honest, I don't use it. It's one of those, nice to have around if something went wrong, or I REALLY needed a windows computer to take somewhere kinda things.
Tempest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-05-2018, 06:58   #2604
target
Trusted User
 
target's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Loughborough
Posts: 18,462
Thanks: 269
Thanked 4,051 Times in 1,833 Posts
Seen the feature list for the next Windows?
"very interesting updates to features like copy-paste"
Bing search integrated into Notepad

Who is setting these priorities?? The clipboard just works. I fear a new improved version.

And why on earth does notepad, the simplest program in the world, need Bing in it??
There are many more advanced text editors out there. I'm not sure any of them added internet searches as their first feature. It's original at least. I guess.
target is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-05-2018, 07:10   #2605
Tempest
Trusted User
 
Tempest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Horley (Gatwick)
Posts: 26,052
Thanks: 851
Thanked 661 Times in 403 Posts
Something I think i saw, which for me, sounds like a major change/improvement, if it's what I think it is, is your phone (Android phone?) being duplicated on your PC screen.

Having your phone in the room or home, and you are sitting on your PC for perhaps a few hours.
Things happening on your phone, nowadays, so you need to reach for your phone, deal with those things or look at them, than put the phone down and back to your PC screen.

If you can link those, so you never have to pick your phone up again as you have a kind of "Virtual Phone" on your desktop screen would be superb. (If done well)

Oh, and I'm still waiting for my idea from years ago, to be implemented.
3D Windows, where you don't have to minimize a program to the task-bar and it vanishes. You Simply click on the title-bar, press a button on the mouse, move the mouse away from you, and it live scales the program window, back, into the screen as if you are just moving it away from you, as you would in real life,
move something away to the back of your desk to clear some space, but it's still there in view.
Tempest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-05-2018, 07:20   #2606
target
Trusted User
 
target's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Loughborough
Posts: 18,462
Thanks: 269
Thanked 4,051 Times in 1,833 Posts
I have to admit, what I've always found lacking in Windows is a Surgeon Simulator style UI.
target is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanked once by:
Tempest (19-05-2018)
Old 19-05-2018, 07:59   #2607
Tempest
Trusted User
 
Tempest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Horley (Gatwick)
Posts: 26,052
Thanks: 851
Thanked 661 Times in 403 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by target View Post
I have to admit, what I've always found lacking in Windows is a Surgeon Simulator style UI.
It would need to be done well of course (which is the key) and it was not possible in days or old, as you'd need some GPU involvement I guess to make it a realistic possibility.

But, I can tell you 100%
After I've spend hours upon hours on my PC in a 3D environment, be in in my 3D modelling software or the 3D world I have build various models for.

And using my 3DConnexion controller for hours, to spin/zoom around in total 3D freedom on both programs.
Coming back to hard 2D windows has sometimes been a bit of a jolt.

I'd even for a moment, thought I'd just spin around in windows to look at something only to thing, what am I doing!

It's a BIG jump and you need the right controller and implementation, but being about do things in a environment larger than your 2D screen, once you get use to it, gives you a weird sense of freedom.

None of that will happen, but I do think, being able to "Push" a running program/window back into-the-screen, so you can still see it, could be a nice idea if done well.

A bit like just scaling down a video window so you can see the video running smaller, but it would just be the norm for any program.

Don't see it happening really, but hey
Tempest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-05-2018, 08:42   #2608
AdamBrunt
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: UK
Posts: 23,441
Thanks: 101
Thanked 178 Times in 113 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by scoobyood View Post
The update will need 3GB ish for the update. Double that because it unpacks it and places it next to the current windows install. Then it will leave a complete copy of your current 'C:\Windows' directory as backup... so double the inital download size plus some extra is about right.

After it's all done, those backup and temp files can be removed again.
Thanks.

I need to do some partition reshaping shenanigans in that case
AdamBrunt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-05-2018, 13:33   #2609
dataloss
Cyberspace Addict
 
dataloss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Ealing, London UK
Posts: 4,999
Thanks: 1,174
Thanked 371 Times in 243 Posts
They've now rolled out a patch to fix the store refreshing and not loading issue, however you need to be able to load the store to access it I managed to do that and my start menu now works properly and and I can sign out and shut down etc.

However I still have the endless scrolling bug in all metro apps and panels.

The scroll bar smashes into the bottom of the window and bounces up and down on it's own even when all Mice and Keyboard hardware and drivers are uninstalled.
dataloss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-05-2018, 21:56   #2610
KeyserSoze
Trusted User
 
KeyserSoze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: London
Posts: 12,605
Thanks: 699
Thanked 427 Times in 221 Posts
So its safe to simply move Windows.old folder to trash after the update?
KeyserSoze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-05-2018, 05:16   #2611
target
Trusted User
 
target's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Loughborough
Posts: 18,462
Thanks: 269
Thanked 4,051 Times in 1,833 Posts
Yes, but the correct method is Disk cleanup in clean system files mode.

Last edited by target; 22-05-2018 at 05:17.
target is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanked once by:
KeyserSoze (22-05-2018)
Old 22-05-2018, 06:49   #2612
AdamBrunt
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: UK
Posts: 23,441
Thanks: 101
Thanked 178 Times in 113 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by target View Post
Yes, but the correct method is Disk cleanup in clean system files mode.
And how do you into that mode exactly?
AdamBrunt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-05-2018, 06:55   #2613
driver8
eviscerate your memory
 
driver8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Malé, Maldives
Posts: 10,161
Thanks: 1,629
Thanked 1,833 Times in 761 Posts
If you're keen to clear up HDD space, there's also this app - PatchCleaner - which I've used previously to clear up 500mb that the usual methods missed.

Quote:
PatchCleaner identifies redundant/orphaned files and allows you to either:
  • (Recommended) Move them to another location. If you want to play it safe, just move them to another location, and you can always copy them back.
  • Delete them.
EDIT to add the Windows builtin tool:


Last edited by driver8; 22-05-2018 at 06:57.
driver8 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 01:14   #2614
dataloss
Cyberspace Addict
 
dataloss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Ealing, London UK
Posts: 4,999
Thanks: 1,174
Thanked 371 Times in 243 Posts
I've finally tracked down what was causing the refresh and scrolling bug in metro apps on 1803, turns out it's a bug with the default Game Controller Drivers (Xinput)

Last edited by dataloss; Yesterday at 01:29.
dataloss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 11:49   #2615
Psycho
Trusted User
 
Psycho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Croydon, London
Posts: 10,110
Thanks: 778
Thanked 152 Times in 89 Posts
I was just wondering if anyone here can help with a problem my parents are having with their HP laptop (just over a year old).

It is running Windows 10 but has recently (last 3-4 months) been unexpectedly shutting down with no warning (no blue screen).

The battery is not low on power or anything obvious, so I'm not really sure why this is happening.

I'm not a PC/Windows user, so I'm struggling to help them.

Many thanks,

Psycho
__________________
Graphic Design Website: www.ph-design.co.uk
Twitter: @pHdesign2011
eBay Auctions: Nothing at the moment
Trader Feedback: Trader Feedback Thread
Psycho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 12:40   #2616
Chris Locke
Making a 1% improvement
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Essex, UK
Posts: 6,899
Thanks: 368
Thanked 1,349 Times in 428 Posts
The most common shutdown reason for laptops is overheating. If the fan has stopped or bunged up with goo, then it could be shutting down to prevent cooking. This should be logged in the event viewer though, or at least alerted to the user.
I assume you know about the event viewer, but going by the 'I'm not a PC user', apologies if I'm teaching you to suck off eggs, or whatever it is....
Click Start, type eventvwr and select 'eventvwr (Run command)' from the list to run the 'Event Viewer' application (weird its not an app yet.... )
The left tree has loads of logs. The ones you're interested in is 'Windows Logs' - expand that, and click on 'Application' and 'System'. Its all in time order, so you're looking for an entry around the last time it shut down.
Chris Locke is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanked once by:
Psycho (Yesterday)
Old Yesterday, 14:52   #2617
Psycho
Trusted User
 
Psycho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Croydon, London
Posts: 10,110
Thanks: 778
Thanked 152 Times in 89 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Locke View Post
The most common shutdown reason for laptops is overheating. If the fan has stopped or bunged up with goo, then it could be shutting down to prevent cooking. This should be logged in the event viewer though, or at least alerted to the user.
I assume you know about the event viewer, but going by the 'I'm not a PC user', apologies if I'm teaching you to suck off eggs, or whatever it is....
Click Start, type eventvwr and select 'eventvwr (Run command)' from the list to run the 'Event Viewer' application (weird its not an app yet.... )
The left tree has loads of logs. The ones you're interested in is 'Windows Logs' - expand that, and click on 'Application' and 'System'. Its all in time order, so you're looking for an entry around the last time it shut down.
Thanks for that!

Next time I'm at my parents I'll have a look at the event viewer (this is all new to me, so happy to be pointed in the right direction).

Next stop would be to take it to Currys PC World but hoping to avoid that.

Psycho
__________________
Graphic Design Website: www.ph-design.co.uk
Twitter: @pHdesign2011
eBay Auctions: Nothing at the moment
Trader Feedback: Trader Feedback Thread
Psycho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 15:49   #2618
Chris Locke
Making a 1% improvement
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Essex, UK
Posts: 6,899
Thanks: 368
Thanked 1,349 Times in 428 Posts
The obvious questions would be does it shutdown after a long period of time, or quite quickly after turning it on? (after a long period of time, it obviously gets hotter and hotter. If it shuts down 'from cold' quickly, then that rules out overheating.)
If it shuts down, does switching it back on 'solve it' ? (If it shuts down again, its obviously still hot, so shuts itself down. If it turns on OK after half hour, the processor has cooled down enough to be OK again)

I would still cast a suspicious eye over the battery. Again, 'sudden shutdowns' can occur when the user moves the laptop, the battery becomes slightly disconnected and thus no power. Do your parents have it plugged in all the time? How old is the battery? Leaving a battery plugged in all the time doesn't do it any good, and the life is approx 3 or 4 years. They are cheap though, so a 'throwaway consumable'... (!!!) Just ensure the seating of the battery is sound and 'clicks' in place, etc.

A loose hard drive or memory wouldn't make it just shut down, but again, as laptops get dropped and moved a lot, its worth just checking these are seated properly, etc.
Also, install TeamViewer - it saves a journey to your parents just to look at an event viewer! Its free (for personal use) plus works on Macs, Linux and mobile.

Last edited by Chris Locke; Yesterday at 15:52.
Chris Locke is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanked once by:
Psycho (Yesterday)
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrading Windows Vista to Windows 7... Decided on Windows 8 - RESOLVED Psycho Computing Forum 26 03-11-2012 16:53
Simple video editor like Windows Live Movie Maker for Windows? King Mustard Computing Forum 1 05-03-2012 07:39
MS Technet: Windows 7 and Windows Server 2008 R2 Service Pack 1 (SP1) Beta driver8 Computing Forum 31 28-02-2011 09:44
Windows Home Server / Windows 7 - temporary loss of access to random shared folders? ColinP Computing Forum 5 25-01-2010 20:49
Windows developers : Displaying MDI child windows in a multiple monitor environment pkr Computing Forum 4 04-08-2005 23:08

All times are GMT. The time now is 09:04.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ©2000 - 2017 Poisonous Monkey Ltd. Part of The Digital Fix Network