Go Back   Forums @ The Digital Fix > Gadgets and Gizmos > Computing Forum

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-01-2019, 11:14   #1
scooobydont
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 307
Thanks: 86
Thanked 34 Times in 19 Posts
Memory help

I am looking to upgrade from 8gb to 16gb of ram, I currently have 2 x 4 gb sticks of this:



I cannot find more of this anywhere. I have tried the crucial scanner for something compatible and it has come up with nothing.

This is the motherboard:



and this is the current ram:



Can anyone advise what ram would be compatible?
scooobydont is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2019, 11:34   #2
Wooglie
Rurouni
 
Wooglie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Farnborough
Posts: 5,815
Thanks: 1,230
Thanked 903 Times in 396 Posts
This should be the manufacture page for your motherboard, there should be a manual and a list of compatible memory.
http://www.sapphiretech.com/productd...nload&lang=eng
Wooglie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2019, 14:04   #3
shteve
[o]EvilTwinkle
 
shteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Cov
Posts: 5,751
Thanks: 424
Thanked 660 Times in 485 Posts
I'd assume this would work:

Affiliated Link

Might find the timings need to loosen up a bit with all four slots populated, and that RAM is rated for CL 9 (you're running at CL 8, but your memory is actually CL 10 anyway!).
__________________
I've got a signature and an avatar :p
shteve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2019, 20:00   #4
ian turner
Trusted User
 
ian turner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: the pits
Posts: 12,343
Thanks: 15
Thanked 314 Times in 302 Posts
Looking at the wiki page for DDR3 and comparing the timing settings according to that utility you have 2133mhz memory being severely underclocked to 1333 for some perverse reason
__________________
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
All important data is backed up. If you didn't back it up it wasn't important
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
ian turner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2019, 22:30   #5
scooobydont
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 307
Thanks: 86
Thanked 34 Times in 19 Posts
Thanks chaps, no idea on 'timings', all settings are bone stock (I tend not to tinker).

If I get the memory from Amazon that is linked, do I need to change any settings or will the timings adjust themselves?
scooobydont is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2019, 08:56   #6
shteve
[o]EvilTwinkle
 
shteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Cov
Posts: 5,751
Thanks: 424
Thanked 660 Times in 485 Posts
Don't know much about AMD chipsets. I'd be inclined to stick the RAM in and then look in the BIOS to see what it's done. If they're showing different speeds, go with it. If the new RAM is trying to run at the same speed as the old, lower it.
__________________
I've got a signature and an avatar :p
shteve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2019, 17:50   #7
scooobydont
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 307
Thanks: 86
Thanked 34 Times in 19 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by shteve View Post
Don't know much about AMD chipsets. I'd be inclined to stick the RAM in and then look in the BIOS to see what it's done. If they're showing different speeds, go with it. If the new RAM is trying to run at the same speed as the old, lower it.
Thanks Shteve

I will get them ordered tonight.
scooobydont is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2019, 16:31   #8
scooobydont
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 307
Thanks: 86
Thanked 34 Times in 19 Posts
Just to follow up, RAM arrived yesterday, installed and all fine with 16GB, CL went up to 9.

Many thanks for the help chaps, I wish I had asked earlier, I was stumped for ages!
scooobydont is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanked once by:
shteve (09-01-2019)
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
3 PAYG 4G Trio Data SIM Pack Preloaded with 12GB of Data - £22 @ My Memory (plus free 16GB memory stick!) larrymarr Bargain Forum 0 25-11-2016 12:47
Samsung Memory 64 GB EVO MicroSDXC Class 10 Memory Card with SD Adapter - £12.99 @ Amazon larrymarr Bargain Forum 2 25-08-2016 19:57
Adding more memory reduces the amount of memory? Tempest Computing Forum 12 10-07-2007 10:37

All times are GMT. The time now is 01:29.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018 Poisonous Monkey Ltd. Part of The Digital Fix Network