Go Back   Forums @ The Digital Fix > Gadgets and Gizmos > Home Entertainment Hardware forum

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-08-2017, 21:24   #161
dannywonderful
Bon Viveur
 
dannywonderful's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Coventry,England
Posts: 4,064
Thanks: 0
Thanked 56 Times in 47 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by T4V View Post
I see Sky Q is now advertising as being able to record 6 channels and watching a 7th, I don't suppose they've got twin planners yet? Has the rest of the s/w improved?
If you enable that then you lose the mini screen on the EPG.
dannywonderful is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2017, 21:54   #162
T4V
PSN=The4thViewer XBL=t4v
 
T4V's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Lave
Posts: 18,392
Thanks: 245
Thanked 495 Times in 243 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by dannywonderful View Post
If you enable that then you lose the mini screen on the EPG.


Not a deal breaker but why? Even if you are recording 6 channels you still have the 7th.
__________________
BATRacer F1/LMES/A1GP/V8/IRL Play 'em all!
T4V is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2017, 22:30   #163
GregB
Stagger Lee
 
GregB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Leeds
Posts: 16,267
Thanks: 312
Thanked 667 Times in 373 Posts
Why would anyone ever need to record 6 channels at once?
GregB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2017, 06:55   #164
Roy
XBL Tag: Coldbobtee
 
Roy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Bodypoppers paradise
Posts: 7,060
Thanks: 99
Thanked 74 Times in 51 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by T4V View Post
I see Sky Q is now advertising as being able to record 6 channels and watching a 7th, I don't suppose they've got twin planners yet? Has the rest of the s/w improved?
What's a twin planner?

Quote:
Originally Posted by GregB View Post
Why would anyone ever need to record 6 channels at once?
You've not met my wife, she records more crap than you can possibly imagine
__________________
To me, my basement!

Roy@Flickr
Roy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2017, 07:12   #165
The Bear
Old-gold and black member
 
The Bear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Molineux
Posts: 16,332
Thanks: 326
Thanked 1,507 Times in 475 Posts
All the SkyQ boxes on the same multi-room network share a planner. I guess he's asking if each box has its own yet.

The answer is no, or I'd have upgraded by now.
The Bear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2017, 07:29   #166
Roy
XBL Tag: Coldbobtee
 
Roy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Bodypoppers paradise
Posts: 7,060
Thanks: 99
Thanked 74 Times in 51 Posts
I'm wondering why I'd want that? Is it to allow even more recordings?
__________________
To me, my basement!

Roy@Flickr
Roy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2017, 08:04   #167
T4V
PSN=The4thViewer XBL=t4v
 
T4V's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Lave
Posts: 18,392
Thanks: 245
Thanked 495 Times in 243 Posts
Its not a per-box but a per-user planner I want. I want my shows in my planner and my mother in hers.

As for 6 at once its the clashes and overruns that they're needed for, eg 2 shows I'm recording, 2 shes recording, the 10pm switch over, BBC2 over runs and suddenly you need 3 recordings at once for 3 mins.
__________________
BATRacer F1/LMES/A1GP/V8/IRL Play 'em all!
T4V is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2017, 08:06   #168
The Bear
Old-gold and black member
 
The Bear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Molineux
Posts: 16,332
Thanks: 326
Thanked 1,507 Times in 475 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roy View Post
I'm wondering why I'd want that? Is it to allow even more recordings?
Why would you want to see other people in the house's recordings, and they see all of yours? They need to be separate IMO.
The Bear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2017, 08:15   #169
Roy
XBL Tag: Coldbobtee
 
Roy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Bodypoppers paradise
Posts: 7,060
Thanks: 99
Thanked 74 Times in 51 Posts
Ah separate recordings, I thought we were talking about the EPG
__________________
To me, my basement!

Roy@Flickr
Roy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2017, 08:30   #170
The Bear
Old-gold and black member
 
The Bear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Molineux
Posts: 16,332
Thanks: 326
Thanked 1,507 Times in 475 Posts
Planner = Recordings
TV Guide = EPG

Or at least on my old SkyHD box it is anyway.
The Bear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2017, 09:01   #171
Roy
XBL Tag: Coldbobtee
 
Roy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Bodypoppers paradise
Posts: 7,060
Thanks: 99
Thanked 74 Times in 51 Posts
I forgot

Recordings is now recordings and EPG is TV Guide.

Probably
__________________
To me, my basement!

Roy@Flickr
Roy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2017, 09:18   #172
basegreen
neergesab
 
basegreen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Too far south..
Posts: 12,913
Thanks: 389
Thanked 541 Times in 402 Posts
It still crashes once or twice per week for me.

The software is slowly improving otherwise, mind you.
basegreen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2017, 09:44   #173
Roy
XBL Tag: Coldbobtee
 
Roy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Bodypoppers paradise
Posts: 7,060
Thanks: 99
Thanked 74 Times in 51 Posts
Oh yeah it's flaky as... our mini boxes are always dropping off the main box.
__________________
To me, my basement!

Roy@Flickr
Roy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2017, 09:45   #174
T4V
PSN=The4thViewer XBL=t4v
 
T4V's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Lave
Posts: 18,392
Thanks: 245
Thanked 495 Times in 243 Posts
Doesn't sound like its up to it yet then.
__________________
BATRacer F1/LMES/A1GP/V8/IRL Play 'em all!
T4V is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2017, 10:14   #175
Roy
XBL Tag: Coldbobtee
 
Roy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Bodypoppers paradise
Posts: 7,060
Thanks: 99
Thanked 74 Times in 51 Posts
It's fine generally, but you just get glitches probably weekly/fortnightly. The benefits outweigh the glitches to me, but I do wish it was more stable.
__________________
To me, my basement!

Roy@Flickr
Roy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2017, 10:30   #176
The Bear
Old-gold and black member
 
The Bear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Molineux
Posts: 16,332
Thanks: 326
Thanked 1,507 Times in 475 Posts
Having seen my mate's Q box I really don't like the GUI or the remote. I'm so used to my HD box and all the remote key shortcuts to the different sections, that the Q seems very fiddly in comparison.
The Bear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2017, 10:36   #177
mjr
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: UK
Posts: 2,375
Thanks: 418
Thanked 120 Times in 91 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Bear View Post
Having seen my mate's Q box I really don't like the GUI or the remote. I'm so used to my HD box and all the remote key shortcuts to the different sections, that the Q seems very fiddly in comparison.
From the pictures I've seen I'm not surprised you've said this. The Sky+ HD remote is basically perfect, and the Sky Q ones look nowhere near as ergonomic. e.g. the playback controls are way too near the top. They do actually have a Sky+ style remote for the Q but only if you're disabled:

https://www.sky.com/help/articles/se...ibility-remote

However I don't know how comfortable it would be to hold, as it's clearly designed for people with limited dexterity.
mjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2017, 10:43   #178
Roy
XBL Tag: Coldbobtee
 
Roy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Bodypoppers paradise
Posts: 7,060
Thanks: 99
Thanked 74 Times in 51 Posts
Yep, new remote is pony, there was nothing wrong with the old one...
__________________
To me, my basement!

Roy@Flickr
Roy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2017, 11:49   #179
dannywonderful
Bon Viveur
 
dannywonderful's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Coventry,England
Posts: 4,064
Thanks: 0
Thanked 56 Times in 47 Posts
I mapped all buttons to my Harmony remote, so that issue doesn't bother me.

My box is flaky as anything though. I have to reboot it once, or twice a week and often have to restart due to sound drop outs. Even when it's working I'm constantly having to fiddle with sound delay settings due to the widely reported lip sync issues.
dannywonderful is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2017, 19:09   #180
scoobyood
Tony Danza
 
scoobyood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Zagreb
Posts: 8,605
Thanks: 784
Thanked 1,002 Times in 502 Posts
My Q 1TB was that level of flakey, crashing or locking up a few times a week when I got it in March. Then it went to locking up once a day... then a month or so ago it went to dieing after a couple of hours. It would lock up like an overclocked computer if it happened to die when I was watching something.... Or it would just fail to turn on if it had died when I wasn't using it.

So I messaged them and got someone out a few Sunday's ago. Bloke swapped it out for a replacement one. He said that a very high percentage of Q boxes came out of the Chinese factories which were shutdown 'mid firmware update'... New one had the same issue, when he powered it on for the very first time, it was displaying 'doing update'... So his fix was to power it up and then yank the power cable out... over and over.. until it gave up it's update process and decided to just boot. It took over 20 cable yanks! He had a handful to do that day. Last place only took 18 cable yanks...

Since he left, this one has been running solid for two weeks straight and hasn't wobbled. Though if it starts playing up again... I'd suggest they need a better process of dealing with these dodgy machines! Also I'm not sure if this one is going to do a system update properly when there is one to do!

Last edited by scoobyood; 05-08-2017 at 19:15.
scoobyood is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 01:28.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018 Poisonous Monkey Ltd. Part of The Digital Fix Network