Go Back   Forums @ The Digital Fix > Gadgets and Gizmos > Home Entertainment Hardware forum > Home Media Streaming Forum

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-01-2012, 09:52   #1
platty
XBL Gamertag: PlattyStu
 
platty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Leigh,Lancs
Posts: 7,211
Thanks: 69
Thanked 71 Times in 47 Posts
AppleTV and Netflix

Just bought Apple tv recently and i am well pleased with it , and i am now even more chuffed that netflix is available on there , its in the menu bar but its says its currently unavailable , can anyone else with apple tv please check for me
__________________
Hasa Diga Eebowai
platty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2012, 12:29   #2
capricorn1
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,112
Thanks: 13
Thanked 7 Times in 5 Posts
I want to know the same thing, this thread on the Apple Forum seems to suggest it does work so I'll give it a go tonight - https://discussions.apple.com/thread/3638544?tstart=0
capricorn1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanked once by:
platty (09-01-2012)
Old 09-01-2012, 13:55   #3
platty
XBL Gamertag: PlattyStu
 
platty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Leigh,Lancs
Posts: 7,211
Thanks: 69
Thanked 71 Times in 47 Posts
I've just unplugged my apple tv , plugged it back in and now its asking for my Netflix id , now to sign up
__________________
Hasa Diga Eebowai
platty is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanked once by:
capricorn1 (09-01-2012)
Old 09-01-2012, 16:59   #4
ColinD
________________________
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Middlewich, Cheshire
Posts: 1,001
Thanks: 233
Thanked 73 Times in 34 Posts
A lot of movies don't have DD5.1. I thought my AppleTV2 and amp were at fault but on closer inspection some modern action movies like expendables and sin city only have stereo audio.

Breaking Bad the TV show is in 5.1 so its a mixed bag on the audio front.
__________________
If you really wanted to screw me up. You should have got to me earlier.
ColinD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2012, 17:02   #5
platty
XBL Gamertag: PlattyStu
 
platty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Leigh,Lancs
Posts: 7,211
Thanks: 69
Thanked 71 Times in 47 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ColinD View Post
A lot of movies don't have DD5.1. I thought my AppleTV2 and amp were at fault but on closer inspection some modern action movies like expendables and sin city only have stereo audio.

Breaking Bad the TV show is in 5.1 so its a mixed bag on the audio front.
yeah i noticed that too , shame really .... noticed that the film Buried is on there wanted to watch that for a while
__________________
Hasa Diga Eebowai
platty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2012, 18:45   #6
stu_69
prohibido
 
stu_69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: California for now
Posts: 13,116
Thanks: 33
Thanked 232 Times in 126 Posts
I have just signed up and its working fine on the ATV2.
stu_69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2012, 18:58   #7
platty
XBL Gamertag: PlattyStu
 
platty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Leigh,Lancs
Posts: 7,211
Thanks: 69
Thanked 71 Times in 47 Posts
I've just watched a little bit of reservoir dogs and the quality is fantastic, hd and 5.1 , it puts that complete mess on ch5 last night to shame , very impressed
__________________
Hasa Diga Eebowai
platty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2012, 20:44   #8
Jazzatola
Orange Member
 
Jazzatola's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Rickmansworth, UK
Posts: 1,827
Thanks: 5
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by ColinD View Post
Breaking Bad the TV show is in 5.1 so its a mixed bag on the audio front.
Still doesn't look like they have season 3 though.
__________________
...everything under the sun is in tune, but the sun is eclipsed by the moon...
Jazzatola is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2012, 16:50   #9
MARKMAN
**** pretentious ****
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Gone but not errr......
Posts: 1,650
Thanks: 117
Thanked 109 Times in 69 Posts
It's awesome ain't it!!!

Really glad the ATV is growing bigger.

BTW you don't have to unplug it, just hold down the play and menu buttons on the remote and that resets it.
__________________
commercial advertising is the Devil's Spawn. May you burn in hell for your crimes.
MARKMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2012, 17:01   #10
Guest 9359
Gamertag: Kiruji
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Telford
Posts: 3,956
Thanks: 36
Thanked 15 Times in 9 Posts
Out of interest, is Lovefilm available on AppleTV?
Guest 9359 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2012, 20:09   #11
Guest 17814
fosterphotography.co.uk
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Brighton
Posts: 3,505
Thanks: 12
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Particularly like the way the remote app mentions what you are watching. Very neat. Easier to use than PS3 version I find.
Guest 17814 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2012, 21:34   #12
platty
XBL Gamertag: PlattyStu
 
platty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Leigh,Lancs
Posts: 7,211
Thanks: 69
Thanked 71 Times in 47 Posts
Just watched the very first episode of 24 , never watched it first time round , and I was going to buy the boxset , by the time I get through the first 3 series the rest will hopefully be on there , bargain at £5.99
__________________
Hasa Diga Eebowai
platty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2012, 11:32   #13
Guest 17814
fosterphotography.co.uk
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Brighton
Posts: 3,505
Thanks: 12
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Agreed, e.g. The Inbetweeners S1-3 is £5 per series on iTunes, £5.99 allows access on NetFlix

Watched Dexter and Couple of episodes of numbers last night.
Guest 17814 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2012, 11:50   #14
Steve39
Steam: Steve39
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: West Midlands
Posts: 1,442
Thanks: 183
Thanked 345 Times in 114 Posts
Now Netflix is available, I've just gone and ordered me an ATV2. Can't wait to try it out.
Steve39 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2012, 12:37   #15
ColinD
________________________
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Middlewich, Cheshire
Posts: 1,001
Thanks: 233
Thanked 73 Times in 34 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheFatBoy View Post
Out of interest, is Lovefilm available on AppleTV?
No.
__________________
If you really wanted to screw me up. You should have got to me earlier.
ColinD is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanked once by:
Guest 9359 (11-01-2012)
Old 12-01-2012, 11:31   #16
Geoggy
Gamertag : Geoggy
 
Geoggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: In that number.
Posts: 4,975
Thanks: 75
Thanked 39 Times in 21 Posts
signed up for this last night and watched an episode of the inbetweeners.

had a strange problem in that it seemed like the aspect ratio was switching a small amount all during the program. it was very annoying. Never noticed it on any ATV stuff before - anyone else using Netflix had this?

Might be that my TV is set to "just scan" but not been a problem before with ATV.
Geoggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2012, 12:21   #17
ColinD
________________________
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Middlewich, Cheshire
Posts: 1,001
Thanks: 233
Thanked 73 Times in 34 Posts
No problem here you will soon find out by watching other content.
__________________
If you really wanted to screw me up. You should have got to me earlier.
ColinD is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anyone watching Netflix? rebeccajones Television Discussion 14 16-01-2012 17:40
AppleTV Guide Guest 10135 Home Entertainment Hardware forum 0 26-03-2008 18:06
Netflix drops HD DVD Guest 2241 DVD and Blu-ray Discussion 1 11-02-2008 22:34
Netflix HD figures Sprout Crumble Film Discussion 3 08-10-2007 06:52

All times are GMT. The time now is 12:41.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018 Poisonous Monkey Ltd. Part of The Digital Fix Network