Go Back   Forums @ The Digital Fix > Entertainment Discussion Forums > Books and Comics Discussion

Notices

Old 07-04-2009, 16:10   #1
luffk
Trusted User

Ruby on rails books

Started to learn ruby on rails (my background is php but I want to do something different now). Can anyone recommend some good ruby on rails books?

I have the following at the moment:

Ruby: Visual QuickStart Guide
Foundation Rails 2
Build you own ruby on rails web applications

The last one is a bit dated as it was before Rails 2.0 however it is still proving useful. Together with the other books I'm getting my head around it.

Can anyone recommend any others with more topics or advanced stuff them which give me another step up after these? Don't think I have enough knowledge yet to go it alone but really starting to get into it now.
Old 07-04-2009, 16:20   #2
Guest 541
Trusted User

The Rails Way and Agile Web Development with Rails (3rd edition has just been released).

Last edited by AWaite; 07-04-2009 at 16:22.
Guest 541 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2009, 23:12   #3
luffk
Trusted User

Cheers mate. Just had a look at the Agile Web Development with Rails contents list and it looks quite good so may plump for that one.
Old 08-04-2009, 07:43   #4
Guest 58450
Poke Us White Face

I have the Agile Web Development book and it's good but awful at the same time. The awful is an issue I have with Ruby on Rails which is the lack of examples and explanations out there when you go 'off course'.

What I mean is that the Agile Web Development book is set up to teach how to do an Amazon like shopping website and it does that well. However, when I was trying to do my (actually quite simple) website a page like this http://www.londonprogressivejournal.com/user/letter/410 proved to be a complete git to make because it's a form that runs on two separate models and the book has no good information about that.