Go Back   Forums @ The Digital Fix > Gadgets and Gizmos > Computing Forum

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-12-2006, 21:05   #1
Guest 30504
Watching for Bin Laden!
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 309
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question Plagued with slow speeds

I've been having problems for ages since upgrading to MAXADSL basically when I was first on the service I was getting speeds of between 500 - 800k /sec and that was fantastic but that was short lived and then came the reality. I was one of the first to get maxadsl so was all good in my part.

Now here's the problems I am experiencing, slow speeds, I assume (and I will post all my configs etc etc from my router at the bottom of this post) I am doing everything correctly and should be getting faster speeds as I connect at usually 4032 Kbps down and 832 up. Now I know its not the ISP as it happened when I was with ace-internet and even now with ukfsn.

Up until last week I tolerated it as I was getting 350 KB/sec and that was me but I know for 100% I should be getting faster than that but now all I am getting is max 175, never ever goes past that as if its a limit.

Now I'll stop boring you with all the groans and moans and post what I need to post for some intelligent person to say I am a tit and that I am infact doing something totally wrong which is making my line go so slow, so here goes:

DSL Status : Up
DSL Modulation Mode : GDMT
DSL Path Mode : INTERLEAVED
Downstream Rate : 4032 Kbps
Upstream Rate : 832 Kbps
Downstream Margin : 2147483647 db
Upstream Margin : 9 db
Downstream Line Attenuation : 55
Upstream Line Attenuation : 29
Downstream Transmit Power : 0
Upstream Transmit Power : 0


PVC Connection

Encapsulation : RFC 2364 PPPoA
Multiplexing : VC
QoS : UBR
Pcr Rate : 0
Scr Rate : 0
Autodetect : Disable
VPI : 0
VCI: 38
Enable : Yes
PVC Status : Applied

Internet Connection


Login Type: PPPoA
Interface : Up
IP Address : 87.127.37.129
Subnet Mask : 255.255.255.255
Default Gateway : 87.127.229.6
DNS 1 : 195.74.113.58
DNS 2 : 195.74.113.62
DNS 3 : 0.0.0.0
WINS : 0.0.0.0

Encapsulation: PPPOA

VC Settings
Multiplexing: LLC VC (vc is selected here)


Qos Type: UBR


Pcr Rate: cps


Scr Rate: cps


Autodetect: Enable Disable


Virtual Circuit: 38
VPI (Range 0~255) 0


I just reset the router to make sure that it wasn't something on the line and when I conncted it up again I got the same speeds which majorly ****** me off...

So can anyone figure out whats wrong/what I am doing wrong.

Cheers,

Tam.
Guest 30504 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2006, 21:09   #2
Guest 541
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: London
Posts: 3,715
Thanks: 0
Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts
Quote:
Downstream Margin : 2147483647 db
That looks bit odd!!
Guest 541 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2006, 21:14   #3
Guest 30504
Watching for Bin Laden!
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 309
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
if it wants to it will go down to roughly 10db, but only when it wants to.

I forgot to add, sometimes when the phone goes the internet cuts off. We did query BT about this but they blamed the equipment so I upgraded ALL the wires and checked the router and the problem still persisted.
Guest 30504 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 01:28.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018 Poisonous Monkey Ltd. Part of The Digital Fix Network