Go Back   Forums @ The Digital Fix > Gadgets and Gizmos > Home Entertainment Hardware forum

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 17-12-2003, 23:18   #1
Guest 195
Harvester of the sea
 
Guest 195's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: London
Posts: 7,616
Thanks: 7
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
How do you stand/mount/etc your projector?

Was going to ceiling mount but I think I'll be moving soon-ish so maybe not. Wondering what solutions people use other than that?

My back wall is too far away to rest it on a TV bracket, so it has to stand on the floor really.

Ideally I'd like a collapsable stool/table/tripod type thing a bit higher than back of sofa/floorstander speaker height. Anyone have one or suggest something, even if it's a collapsable kitchen stool from Ikea or Argos?!
Guest 195 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-12-2003, 00:24   #2
Woz
Viva indifference
 
Woz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Beneath The archways of aerodynamics
Posts: 12,553
Thanks: 572
Thanked 257 Times in 179 Posts
What make of PJ is it?
If it's a Z2, you have the lens shift function, which might mean you can shelf mount it on a side wall.
Woz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-12-2003, 12:06   #3
Guest 195
Harvester of the sea
 
Guest 195's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: London
Posts: 7,616
Thanks: 7
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Nah, it's a Panasonic 200. Only has vertical keystone but I'm not keen to even use that because you're effectively reducing the resolution.
Guest 195 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-12-2003, 13:05   #4
Guest 243
XBL: Wolfgang Winkle
 
Guest 243's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: ... of the dead
Posts: 10,124
Thanks: 102
Thanked 91 Times in 73 Posts
Mine's on a coffee table at the moment. Will be ceiling mounting it after Christmas. www.audiovisual.co.uk do collapsible stands ... but you've got to think that you're going to have to fiddle with the PJ every time you set it up. That'd drive me nuts.
Guest 243 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-12-2003, 13:58   #5
Brad123
Well endowed
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: At a party in your pants.
Posts: 14,830
Thanks: 21
Thanked 25 Times in 15 Posts
On a wall on a shelf at the back of the room.
__________________
Brad123
Brad123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-12-2003, 12:40   #6
ferris57
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 825
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
www.audiovisual.co.uk
Their having a laugh with their prices are they not?

How about a small library step ladder behind the sofa if it's a temp solution your after?
ferris57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-12-2003, 12:46   #7
Guest 195
Harvester of the sea
 
Guest 195's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: London
Posts: 7,616
Thanks: 7
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
YEah, that's a good idea Ferris. That or a folding card table.

I don't mind having to have a quick fiddle around before watching a film - that's all the projector gets used for - cos even if I had it ceiling mounted it's a rented house... I can't put the wires in the ceiling so I'd have to climb up and plug it in anyway
Guest 195 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-12-2003, 14:20   #8
Guest 243
XBL: Wolfgang Winkle
 
Guest 243's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: ... of the dead
Posts: 10,124
Thanks: 102
Thanked 91 Times in 73 Posts
Sure, the prices for specific AV stands are expensive. But we know that already, that's how the likes of Apollo, Soundstyle etc make their megabucks. But if a coffee table, card table, folding stool will suffice, then that's great. You'd just have to make sure it wasn't in your line of sight when watching something, or likely to topple over if you catch the inevitable trailing wires.
Guest 243 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-12-2003, 14:22   #9
Guest 243
XBL: Wolfgang Winkle
 
Guest 243's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: ... of the dead
Posts: 10,124
Thanks: 102
Thanked 91 Times in 73 Posts
It's worth noting that you're likely to need to use vertical keystoning if you fit your projector the right way up behind the sofa. That is unless you're projecting a long way up the wall, or your sofa's exceptionally low.
Guest 243 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-12-2003, 14:32   #10
Guest 195
Harvester of the sea
 
Guest 195's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: London
Posts: 7,616
Thanks: 7
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Well, it currently sits behind the sofa on a very low table and then on two boxes to get to the right height. The image goes from the top of my floorstander speakers right up the ceiling without need for any vertical keystoning...

Projecting on to this wall...


Where there is no longer a TV and will soon be a white roller blind screen jobbie.
Guest 195 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-12-2003, 14:44   #11
Guest 243
XBL: Wolfgang Winkle
 
Guest 243's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: ... of the dead
Posts: 10,124
Thanks: 102
Thanked 91 Times in 73 Posts
Well, that's good news. I was just going on the height of my projector from the ground. But going on the height of your floorstanders and TV, my screen is definitely lower than yours. So, bang goes that theory.

Perhaps you could go all handy andy and make something out of wood. Should be a doddle, after all it's only like a painter's ladder or summat.

Last edited by sideshowbob; 19-12-2003 at 14:45.
Guest 243 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-12-2003, 15:13   #12
wozwebs
Villa Youth!!
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 3,557
Thanks: 12
Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
I use a £6 folding TV Dinner table from IKEA to rest my AE100 on. Works a treat and folds away into a cupboard when not in use
wozwebs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-12-2003, 15:23   #13
Guest 195
Harvester of the sea
 
Guest 195's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: London
Posts: 7,616
Thanks: 7
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Any idea of the height and/or name of that?

Might consider shifting the speakers sideways when I watch something to enable a lower picture.
Guest 195 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-12-2003, 19:39   #14
Guest 2051
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Clevedon , Somerset , UK
Posts: 493
Thanks: 7
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
My Panny 100 lays upside down on a Tv bracket screwed to the wall
ie well up the wall so too high for my little 'un to grab at
and projects nicely overhead to a screen on the other wall
£10 odd from Argos

Panny 200 not flat on top so may not be able to rest on its back
Guest 2051 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-12-2003, 21:02   #15
Guest 195
Harvester of the sea
 
Guest 195's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: London
Posts: 7,616
Thanks: 7
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
My 200 is flat on top I'm sure but the controls are on the top too. Would hang it under one of those TV and Video wall brackets but the back wall is too far away
Guest 195 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-12-2003, 19:45   #16
Guest 2051
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Clevedon , Somerset , UK
Posts: 493
Thanks: 7
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
If its flat then just use the remote
all sorted
Cheers
Guest 2051 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-12-2003, 00:11   #17
Guest 195
Harvester of the sea
 
Guest 195's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: London
Posts: 7,616
Thanks: 7
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Still too far away... and for some reason you can't select RGB Scart input via the remote, only Scart.
Guest 195 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-12-2003, 00:23   #18
Baz
Trusted User
 
Baz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Market Weighton
Posts: 3,513
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
There is no rgb scart input on the ae200, well as far as Im aware, if there is then it would solve my sky hook up problems straight off.

Last edited by Baz; 21-12-2003 at 00:26.
Baz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-12-2003, 00:33   #19
Guest 195
Harvester of the sea
 
Guest 195's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: London
Posts: 7,616
Thanks: 7
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Eh? Got nothing plugged into mine so can't tell for sure but I'm sure when I switch the RGB on or off on my 3 to 1 SCART selection box the picture quality changes drastically.

Have you tried using the Input button on the projector, not the remote, whilst feeding it an RGB source? I think that's what I have to do. Or am I going mad?

In the manual, under AV1, it clearly states different voltage/ohms levels for Video, Audio and RGB. Page 60.
Guest 195 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-12-2003, 11:37   #20
ABC*
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Andover
Posts: 358
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I'm using a camera tripod for my AE200 at the moment which is ideal until I sort out where I'm going to mount it permanently.

The scart input is definately RGB.
ABC* is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 14:38.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018 Poisonous Monkey Ltd. Part of The Digital Fix Network