Go Back   Forums @ The Digital Fix > Gadgets and Gizmos > Home Entertainment Hardware forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 28-07-2020, 08:29   #1801
Stevie G
Dazed and confused
 
Stevie G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: By the seaside
Posts: 12,234
Thanks: 754
Thanked 360 Times in 267 Posts
I got rid of sky q a month or so ago and got a nowtv 4k box (for a non 4k tv - future proofing) and got sky sports and paid £3 a month for the boost add-on to give me 1080p sports and am really impressed with the picture quality, a big improvement over 720 and I can't see any difference between the picture on the nowtv box and the sky q one I had.

I'm sticking with now tv, I only really want sky for sports and I can drop in and out with now tv, plus the box has any sports app (pq not as good as sky sports but better than the cast picture on my shield tv).

Sent from my SM-T860 using Tapatalk
__________________
PSN Gamertag: NoMrMoreNiceGuy
It's all about the scrobbling...
Stevie G is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-07-2020, 16:32   #1802
AdamBrunt
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: UK
Posts: 25,982
Thanks: 182
Thanked 340 Times in 236 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stevie G View Post
I got rid of sky q a month or so ago and got a nowtv 4k box (for a non 4k tv - future proofing) and got sky sports and paid £3 a month for the boost add-on to give me 1080p sports and am really impressed with the picture quality, a big improvement over 720 and I can't see any difference between the picture on the nowtv box and the sky q one I had.

I'm sticking with now tv, I only really want sky for sports and I can drop in and out with now tv, plus the box has any sports app (pq not as good as sky sports but better than the cast picture on my shield tv).

Sent from my SM-T860 using Tapatalk
So how much are you paying NowTV a month ? And is that just for the Entertainment pass ?

Was looking into swapping basic SkyHD Entertainment package for BT but BT seems to have a lot less channels ( though is substantially cheaper )
AdamBrunt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-07-2020, 18:50   #1803
The Bear
Old-gold and black member
 
The Bear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Molineux
Posts: 17,050
Thanks: 497
Thanked 1,708 Times in 588 Posts
The new bloody SkyQ update is quite buggy judging by their forums.

Mine has had a couple. The box had defaulted to 1080i without me knowing until I tried to watch a UHD programme. Then when I turned it on today it told me it had defaulted back to 1080i again.

And that was after I had to turn my TV off and back on because it couldn't recognise the Sky signal and showed no input.

The occasional screen flicker when the picture comes on too.

First issues I've ever had with it. I wonder if it's a HDMI issue. I might try a spare new cable I have lying around instead of Sky's supplied cable.
The Bear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-07-2020, 18:52   #1804
basegreen
neergesab
 
basegreen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Too far south..
Posts: 16,562
Thanks: 763
Thanked 971 Times in 703 Posts
It’s just awful.

In every way.

Of particular frustration is the removal of the mini tv whilst browsing.
basegreen is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2020, 19:47   #1805
Stevie G
Dazed and confused
 
Stevie G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: By the seaside
Posts: 12,234
Thanks: 754
Thanked 360 Times in 267 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by AdamBrunt View Post
So how much are you paying NowTV a month ? And is that just for the Entertainment pass ?

Was looking into swapping basic SkyHD Entertainment package for BT but BT seems to have a lot less channels ( though is substantially cheaper )
I got Sky Sports for £20 a month for 3 months, plus paying £3 a month for the Boost addon to get 1080p. Once that expires I'll look around and do it monthly based on what I can get sports for. I don't bother with any other passes really, although may try the kids one for our 3 year old, although she seems happy enough with what's on iPlayer and Ch5.
__________________
PSN Gamertag: NoMrMoreNiceGuy
It's all about the scrobbling...
Stevie G is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-09-2020, 11:16   #1806
AdamBrunt
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: UK
Posts: 25,982
Thanks: 182
Thanked 340 Times in 236 Posts
I see Sky Q boxes are now available for 'free' if you are upgrading from Sky HD.

Both versions require a £99 installation fee but not sure why you would pick the 1TB box now over the 2TB one ?
AdamBrunt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-09-2020, 19:12   #1807
jockosjungle
Alone in the Atlantic
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Falkland Islands
Posts: 24,005
Thanks: 290
Thanked 1,294 Times in 913 Posts
I've ditched mine, my box is so old now and we barely watch it anyway as we have NOW TV. Might sign up at some point but probably won't and stick with my streaming services.
jockosjungle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2020, 22:20   #1808
pigpicker
Too Orangey for Crows!
 
pigpicker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: South Holland
Posts: 1,661
Thanks: 73
Thanked 29 Times in 18 Posts
We’re moving house in 2 weeks to a house that doesn’t have Sky.

Seeing as it takes a good couple of weeks to get an installation - can I get the ball rolling now and order the installation with Sky before we officially move in? Or will they only take an order for installation after we’ve moved in?
pigpicker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2020, 23:04   #1809
Stevie G
Dazed and confused
 
Stevie G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: By the seaside
Posts: 12,234
Thanks: 754
Thanked 360 Times in 267 Posts
Pretty sure you can book ahead of you know when you'll be in
__________________
PSN Gamertag: NoMrMoreNiceGuy
It's all about the scrobbling...
Stevie G is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2020, 08:18   #1810
AdamBrunt
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: UK
Posts: 25,982
Thanks: 182
Thanked 340 Times in 236 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by lentini View Post
Yeah but you can only watch on the main box and one Mini box at the same time with a 1TB box and 2 Mini’s with a 2TB box

Thanks - didn't know there was that difference between the 2 main box types.

Sky's site is currently offering a 2TB Q box ( for £25 installation ) and 2 FREE Mini boxes which is quite tempting


Quote:
Originally Posted by basegreen View Post

Quite why Sky won’t offer a proper IPTV service I don’t know.
Because, no matter how good your internet connection is the IPTV picture quality will never beat the quality of a satellite signal

Last edited by AdamBrunt; 12-10-2020 at 08:21.
AdamBrunt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2020, 09:40   #1811
aliman5000
Clown X
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Northants
Posts: 1,707
Thanks: 24
Thanked 55 Times in 42 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by AdamBrunt View Post
Because, no matter how good your internet connection is the IPTV picture quality will never beat the quality of a satellite signal
I disagree with this, I consider the picture quality of BT Sport 4K to be FAR superior to that offered by Sky - regardless of HDR.
__________________
This place looks terrible in widescreen...
aliman5000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-10-2020, 18:53   #1812
AdamBrunt
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: UK
Posts: 25,982
Thanks: 182
Thanked 340 Times in 236 Posts
@lentini is that 2 Mini box 'at the same time' limit regarding LIVE TV only ? Or does it include recordings as well ?
AdamBrunt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2020, 14:01   #1813
Jez
Ellis Retire!
 
Jez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Tim Buck Too
Posts: 8,470
Thanks: 43
Thanked 290 Times in 185 Posts
Anyone encountered this?

Had normal Netflix account and by a happy accident could get U.S Netflix just by running the Warp 1.1.1.1 DNS on my phone.

However, recently updated our SkyQ and imported out Netflix account over to Sky this no longer works.

Are Netflix locking me into UK Netflix via being with Sky somehow or its just stopped working on its own?

Not seen anything about this, but assume if i got Nord or another VPN it wouldn't work either?
__________________
Up the Villa!
Jez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-12-2020, 12:21   #1814
AdamBrunt
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: UK
Posts: 25,982
Thanks: 182
Thanked 340 Times in 236 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jez View Post
Anyone encountered this?

Had normal Netflix account and by a happy accident could get U.S Netflix just by running the Warp 1.1.1.1 DNS on my phone.

However, recently updated our SkyQ and imported out Netflix account over to Sky this no longer works.

Are Netflix locking me into UK Netflix via being with Sky somehow or its just stopped working on its own?

Not seen anything about this, but assume if i got Nord or another VPN it wouldn't work either?
So you we getting US Netflix on your phone by changing its DNS settings ? Have you tried changing the DNS settings on the Sky Q (if it even possible) ? Or are you saying after importing your account to Sky, what was working on your phone no longer works ?

It is the DNS settings and/or VPN service that usually allows UK residents to access US Netflix.

On a similar streaming theme - I see Amazon Prime Video is now available via a Sky Q box
AdamBrunt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-12-2020, 15:37   #1815
Jez
Ellis Retire!
 
Jez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Tim Buck Too
Posts: 8,470
Thanks: 43
Thanked 290 Times in 185 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by AdamBrunt View Post
So you we getting US Netflix on your phone by changing its DNS settings ? Have you tried changing the DNS settings on the Sky Q (if it even possible) ? Or are you saying after importing your account to Sky, what was working on your phone no longer works ?

It is the DNS settings and/or VPN service that usually allows UK residents to access US Netflix.

On a similar streaming theme - I see Amazon Prime Video is now available via a Sky Q box
Its basically this on your phone https://blog.cloudflare.com/1111-warp-better-vpn/

It however, by accident let me have U.S Netlix just on my phone, once my Netflix account was ported over to Sky this stopped annoyingly.
__________________
Up the Villa!
Jez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-12-2020, 09:50   #1816
AdamBrunt
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: UK
Posts: 25,982
Thanks: 182
Thanked 340 Times in 236 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jez View Post
Its basically this on your phone https://blog.cloudflare.com/1111-warp-better-vpn/

It however, by accident let me have U.S Netlix just on my phone, once my Netflix account was ported over to Sky this stopped annoyingly.
Ah, OK. That does seem very odd then.

Incidently - which version of Netflix is the basic Sky offering ? There are three official Netflix plans; basic (480p), standard (1080p) and Premium (4k). Judging by the descriptions on the Sky site, their default offering is the "standard" plan. Is that correct ?
AdamBrunt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-12-2020, 10:16   #1817
Jez
Ellis Retire!
 
Jez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Tim Buck Too
Posts: 8,470
Thanks: 43
Thanked 290 Times in 185 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by AdamBrunt View Post
Ah, OK. That does seem very odd then.

Incidently - which version of Netflix is the basic Sky offering ? There are three official Netflix plans; basic (480p), standard (1080p) and Premium (4k). Judging by the descriptions on the Sky site, their default offering is the "standard" plan. Is that correct ?
I think so yes, which was the same i had on my own Netflix, 2 devices not Ultra HD.
__________________
Up the Villa!
Jez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-12-2020, 11:07   #1818
AdamBrunt
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: UK
Posts: 25,982
Thanks: 182
Thanked 340 Times in 236 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jez View Post
I think so yes, which was the same i had on my own Netflix, 2 devices not Ultra HD.
Thanks, that's what I thought. I don't need the UHD version ( the extra devices would be useful but I don't have any 4k screens ).

Good to see the Sky 'standard' version is nearly half the price of the Netflix 'standard' version ... or at least it is in my account page
AdamBrunt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-12-2020, 19:43   #1819
AndyWilson
--------old-geek
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 11,983
Thanks: 124
Thanked 420 Times in 195 Posts
Prime is now available on Sky Q boxes.
AndyWilson is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanked 2 times by:
Bish (15-12-2020), nutter45 (15-12-2020)
Old 16-12-2020, 10:39   #1820
AdamBrunt
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: UK
Posts: 25,982
Thanks: 182
Thanked 340 Times in 236 Posts
Another stupid question before I click on checkout .... does the Sky Q remote work via IR or Bluetooth ?
AdamBrunt is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
EPG, sky, sky hd, SkyHD

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Official SPL 2009/10 thread - "The Establishment's" Favourite Thread on the Forums!! boonspoon Sports Forum 440 09-05-2010 17:34
The 'Official' MMA Thread Guest 522 Sports Forum 1001 05-03-2007 18:05
*The Official PS3 Thread* TimJBart Video Games Forum 1029 08-09-2006 16:27
Official Liverpool 06 - 07 Thread - The Official Pedant thread! Guest 816 Sports Forum 1013 06-09-2006 10:09
The one and only official "official"Tru calling thread... Lorne.t Television Discussion 79 23-03-2005 19:37

All times are GMT. The time now is 21:48.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.qq
Copyright ©2000 - 2021 Network N Ltd.