Go Back   Forums @ The Digital Fix > Gadgets and Gizmos > Computing Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-10-2018, 16:13   #2681
Chris Locke
Making a 1% improvement
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Essex, UK
Posts: 7,161
Thanks: 453
Thanked 1,576 Times in 514 Posts
"Earlier this week, at Microsoft’s hardware event in NYC, the company announced that the latest update to Windows 10,1809, is now available for everyone. While the company did test several candidates before releasing this particular build, a handful of users are reporting serious issues.

What started as a thread on Reddit, has spread to Microsoft’s support forums and Twitter, the primary issue is that after installing the update, users are reporting that content inside of documents, pictures, music, and videos are gone. Others are reporting that they are unable to access partitions as well following the update."

https://www.petri.com/windows-10-oct...t-users-beware

Got a backup of your data? Good....!
Chris Locke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2018, 08:09   #2682
shteve
[o]EvilTwinkle
 
shteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Cov
Posts: 5,861
Thanks: 457
Thanked 703 Times in 510 Posts
Yeah I backed up my documents and pictures before applying the update. All good, installed without a hiccup.
__________________
I've got a signature and an avatar :p
shteve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2018, 08:18   #2683
Tempest
Trusted User
 
Tempest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Horley (Gatwick)
Posts: 26,596
Thanks: 943
Thanked 752 Times in 457 Posts
Glad to hear about the warnings.
From all I've seen the update is available if you go get it, but it was not being pushed out till next week, so it's probably obvious Msoft are going to halt this, till they work out what's going on.
Till them, it's just been advised don't click on the check for updates button till it's been resolved.

Good and I guess obvious news the update has been pulled:
https://www.engadget.com/2018/10/06/...delete-pulled/

Last edited by Tempest; 06-10-2018 at 09:29.
Tempest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2018, 10:13   #2684
Wooglie
Rurouni
 
Wooglie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Farnborough
Posts: 5,863
Thanks: 1,289
Thanked 934 Times in 406 Posts
My server updated fine the other day, except the CPU shows at 0% in task manager
Wooglie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2018, 12:05   #2685
bumfrog
bum of the highest order
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: In a Shoebox, In A Hole In the Road
Posts: 12,801
Thanks: 165
Thanked 832 Times in 520 Posts
jesus microsoft, it's almost as if you sacked your QA department.... oh wait, you did.

would like to think they are going to learn from this, but it's just getting worse.
bumfrog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2018, 18:59   #2686
farmroad38
Ho hum...
 
farmroad38's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Between the mountains and the sea
Posts: 4,093
Thanks: 180
Thanked 247 Times in 162 Posts
My stepson updated his laptop this week - lost a whole load of files and documents. I've tried a deleted file recovery tool, looking for shadow copies etc, but not been able to recover anything.

I updated my tablet yesterday, and I've not lost anything obvious, but now none of my apps work - it's pretty much useless now.

Thanks Bill.

Sent from my EVA-L09 using Tapatalk
farmroad38 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2018, 07:36   #2687
AdamBrunt
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: UK
Posts: 24,773
Thanks: 136
Thanked 283 Times in 197 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by farmroad38 View Post
My stepson updated his laptop this week - lost a whole load of files and documents. I've tried a deleted file recovery tool, looking for shadow copies etc, but not been able to recover anything.

I updated my tablet yesterday, and I've not lost anything obvious, but now none of my apps work - it's pretty much useless now.

Thanks Bill.

Sent from my EVA-L09 using Tapatalk
Did you not see the update from Microsoft ( can't remember where I read it ... possibly on the BBC site ) saying to contact them if documents have been lost as they have a tool to get them back ?
AdamBrunt is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanked once by:
farmroad38 (09-10-2018)
Old 09-10-2018, 08:28   #2688
farmroad38
Ho hum...
 
farmroad38's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Between the mountains and the sea
Posts: 4,093
Thanks: 180
Thanked 247 Times in 162 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by AdamBrunt View Post
Did you not see the update from Microsoft ( can't remember where I read it ... possibly on the BBC site ) saying to contact them if documents have been lost as they have a tool to get them back ?
I did, but it went on to say: "...or technical users can use a data recovery tool" (or something similar), which is what I did.
farmroad38 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2018, 09:39   #2689
AdamBrunt
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: UK
Posts: 24,773
Thanks: 136
Thanked 283 Times in 197 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by farmroad38 View Post
I did, but it went on to say: "...or technical users can use a data recovery tool" (or something similar), which is what I did.
Ah, OK.

Not good.
AdamBrunt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2018, 09:45   #2690
zantarous
Xbox Live tag: wargame
 
zantarous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London
Posts: 10,218
Thanks: 111
Thanked 149 Times in 124 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by farmroad38 View Post
I did, but it went on to say: "...or technical users can use a data recovery tool" (or something similar), which is what I did.
I would phone back in that case and speak to them, the claim on Engadget seemed incredibly bullish something like we promise to restore all lost files. I can only assume it's hiding them in Windows.old or something and not actually deleted.

Sent from my SM-G955F using Tapatalk
zantarous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2018, 14:21   #2691
GalaxyBlue
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 529
Thanks: 80
Thanked 66 Times in 51 Posts
Some guy says he lost 23 years worth of files (220GB) - surely he kept a backup of them?

At any point the hard drive in a laptop/desktop can die, it's a hell of a risk not backing them up elsewhere.

I've updated about 6 devices so far, no idea if they suffered this problem as I don't store anything on individual PCs.

When Office 365 is available for £5.42 a month for 6 users including 1TB each and the ability to install the full version of office it's a no brainer for me.
GalaxyBlue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2018, 14:39   #2692
Q
Yee Ol Forum Pirate Ahhhh
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: LONDON
Posts: 10,196
Thanks: 19
Thanked 429 Times in 380 Posts
Always back up what you cant afford to loose.Ive had a O/S Disk back since XP days and a data HDD and now SSD so there isnt any on the HDD to loose other than the OS.

Sent from my ZTE B2017G using Tapatalk
Q is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2018, 14:40   #2693
allan
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: England
Posts: 13,640
Thanks: 272
Thanked 289 Times in 228 Posts
Lose...

I can't believe in this day and age that people don't backup. If move it to another place and that is their backup, ie. their sole copy still.
allan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2018, 08:14   #2694
driver8
eviscerate your memory
 
driver8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Malé, Maldives
Posts: 10,759
Thanks: 1,903
Thanked 2,139 Times in 914 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by GalaxyBlue View Post
When Office 365 is available for £5.42 a month for 6 users including 1TB each and the ability to install the full version of office it's a no brainer for me.
How do you manage your OneDrive backups, GalaxyBlue ?
driver8 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2018, 08:21   #2695
GalaxyBlue
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 529
Thanks: 80
Thanked 66 Times in 51 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by driver8 View Post
How do you manage your OneDrive backups, GalaxyBlue ?
The onedrive itself is synced on three different PCs, including one at my parents. I then have external USB drives connected to an old PC and run AllwaySync every few days to backup everything I've got.

I've then got 3 x 6TB drives that are kept at my parents house which they bring every week and again I use AllwaySync.

I encrypt everything on the cloud OneDrive with Boxcrypter and the backup drives are encrypted with Bitlocker.
GalaxyBlue is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanked once by:
driver8 (15-10-2018)
Old 12-10-2018, 18:50   #2696
brainwaster
Divided by zero
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Preston
Posts: 1,362
Thanks: 29
Thanked 16 Times in 11 Posts
Hi,

got a problem I'm hoping one of you can solve, I've been trying all day and following solution after solution but none have worked.

I built myself a new media pc from some stuff I had lying around, I installed win10 on it and it's using an old Radeon 4550 HD and it works fine except that theres a black border around the desktop, it doesnt fill the screen on my tv.

I want to expand the screen and I know you can do it with Catalyst Control Center but when I run it I get an error "AMD Catalyst Control Center cannot be started, There are currently no settings that can be configured using AMD Catalyst Control Center"

I'm using the latest legacy drivers, they are Win 8 x64 ones, there are no windows 10 ones

has anyone got any ideas
__________________
I reject your reality, and substitute my own.
brainwaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2018, 19:10   #2697
allan
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: England
Posts: 13,640
Thanks: 272
Thanked 289 Times in 228 Posts
I think it probably relied on some c++ runtimes maybe that are missing in win10?
allan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2018, 19:26   #2698
brainwaster
Divided by zero
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Preston
Posts: 1,362
Thanks: 29
Thanked 16 Times in 11 Posts
I'll onstall the visual c runtimes tomorrow and see if it helps it's still a ptetty bare install at the moment
__________________
I reject your reality, and substitute my own.
brainwaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-10-2018, 06:52   #2699
bumfrog
bum of the highest order
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: In a Shoebox, In A Hole In the Road
Posts: 12,801
Thanks: 165
Thanked 832 Times in 520 Posts
sometimes with older gpu's it's best just to give in and either go back to windows 7 or just get a new gpu if you want it work with windows 10.
bumfrog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-10-2018, 07:12   #2700
brainwaster
Divided by zero
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Preston
Posts: 1,362
Thanks: 29
Thanked 16 Times in 11 Posts
I couldnt find a solution so I ditched windows and went to Libreelec. Works fine now. I was originally using Kodibuntu but that didnt.like the gfx card either
__________________
I reject your reality, and substitute my own.
brainwaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrading Windows Vista to Windows 7... Decided on Windows 8 - RESOLVED Psycho Computing Forum 26 03-11-2012 17:53
Simple video editor like Windows Live Movie Maker for Windows? King Mustard Computing Forum 1 05-03-2012 08:39
MS Technet: Windows 7 and Windows Server 2008 R2 Service Pack 1 (SP1) Beta driver8 Computing Forum 31 28-02-2011 10:44
Windows Home Server / Windows 7 - temporary loss of access to random shared folders? ColinP Computing Forum 5 25-01-2010 21:49
Windows developers : Displaying MDI child windows in a multiple monitor environment pkr Computing Forum 4 04-08-2005 23:08

All times are GMT. The time now is 18:52.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018 Poisonous Monkey Ltd. Part of The Digital Fix Network