Go Back   Forums @ The Digital Fix > Gadgets and Gizmos > Computing Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-12-2019, 17:01   #1
Arthur Fowler
Trusted User
 
Arthur Fowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Bedfordshire
Posts: 10,945
Thanks: 587
Thanked 282 Times in 194 Posts
Disc usage 100% - problem?

My Win10 PC runs very slowly frequently, especially for some minutes after startup.

When I look at task manager, the thing that sticks out is that disc is usually at 100% even with just Chrome open.

Could this be an issue and potentially causing the slow running?

Thanks
Arthur Fowler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2019, 17:13   #2
T4V
PSN=The4thViewer XBL=t4v
 
T4V's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Lave
Posts: 18,591
Thanks: 250
Thanked 497 Times in 245 Posts
Would also like to know what this issue could be as my old Dell has a similar issue, with and without Chrome running
T4V is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2019, 17:24   #3
target
Trusted User
 
target's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Loughborough
Posts: 18,997
Thanks: 278
Thanked 4,406 Times in 1,982 Posts
What process is using the disk at 100%? You both mention Chrome. If it's the Chrome cleanup tool then use this instead: https://forums.thedigitalfix.com/for...d.php?t=654768

See my first point (post 5)
target is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2019, 18:49   #4
Arthur Fowler
Trusted User
 
Arthur Fowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Bedfordshire
Posts: 10,945
Thanks: 587
Thanked 282 Times in 194 Posts
Foolishly I hadn't sorted by disc usage so not sure. Will check next time it is being a dick!
Arthur Fowler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2019, 22:58   #5
Wooglie
Rurouni
 
Wooglie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Farnborough
Posts: 5,868
Thanks: 1,294
Thanked 935 Times in 407 Posts
Do you have an SSD or a hard disk?
Wooglie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2019, 23:00   #6
Arthur Fowler
Trusted User
 
Arthur Fowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Bedfordshire
Posts: 10,945
Thanks: 587
Thanked 282 Times in 194 Posts
Hard disc
Arthur Fowler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2019, 23:25   #7
scoobyood
Tony Danza
 
scoobyood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Zagreb
Posts: 8,724
Thanks: 811
Thanked 1,079 Times in 537 Posts
Do you only turn on your computer for a few minutes to do whatever you need to and then turn it off again?

That is an entirely reasonable way to use your computer, however windows and anti-virus software will likely have weekly maintenance tasks and scans. If your computer is off when these are scheduled to run, then it will just do them all 'at the next opportunity'... which is probably when you next turn it on!

If so, just fire it up once or a week or so and let it sit for a while (logged first), it will finish it's backlog, do any updates and such...
scoobyood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2019, 19:18   #8
Arthur Fowler
Trusted User
 
Arthur Fowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Bedfordshire
Posts: 10,945
Thanks: 587
Thanked 282 Times in 194 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by scoobyood View Post
Do you only turn on your computer for a few minutes to do whatever you need to and then turn it off again?

That is an entirely reasonable way to use your computer, however windows and anti-virus software will likely have weekly maintenance tasks and scans. If your computer is off when these are scheduled to run, then it will just do them all 'at the next opportunity'... which is probably when you next turn it on!

If so, just fire it up once or a week or so and let it sit for a while (logged first), it will finish it's backlog, do any updates and such...
It could be that, although I do use it most days, only for around 30 minutes.
Arthur Fowler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2019, 07:14   #9
bumfrog
bum of the highest order
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: In a Shoebox, In A Hole In the Road
Posts: 12,805
Thanks: 165
Thanked 832 Times in 520 Posts
also windows search can hammer your disk whilst it indexes.

Get an SSD
bumfrog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2019, 19:11   #10
Arthur Fowler
Trusted User
 
Arthur Fowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Bedfordshire
Posts: 10,945
Thanks: 587
Thanked 282 Times in 194 Posts
Microsoft OneDrive looks like it is doing a lot for some minutes after startup even though there have been no changes.
Arthur Fowler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2019, 20:40   #11
scoobyood
Tony Danza
 
scoobyood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Zagreb
Posts: 8,724
Thanks: 811
Thanked 1,079 Times in 537 Posts
It checks everything to see if there are any changes. Have you got a lot of files in OneDrive. It's more the number of files than their size.

You never said what happens if you just leave the computer running. Does it settle down?
scoobyood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2019, 20:42   #12
Arthur Fowler
Trusted User
 
Arthur Fowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Bedfordshire
Posts: 10,945
Thanks: 587
Thanked 282 Times in 194 Posts
Yes it settles down.

I will check how many files but it will be in the thousands.
Arthur Fowler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2019, 22:43   #13
Arthur Fowler
Trusted User
 
Arthur Fowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Bedfordshire
Posts: 10,945
Thanks: 587
Thanked 282 Times in 194 Posts
According to looking at Properties against the OneDrive folder, there are 23,370 Files, 14,232 Folders.
But that makes no sense. I cant see anywhere near that number of folders.

Ah, just found the Photoshop folder has 15k files, 14k folders but only 10gb in size!
Arthur Fowler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-12-2019, 18:29   #14
Arthur Fowler
Trusted User
 
Arthur Fowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Bedfordshire
Posts: 10,945
Thanks: 587
Thanked 282 Times in 194 Posts
I've deleted a whole bunch of the lightroom folders (previews mostly) and it seems better but I fear that as soon as I open Lightroom again the previews will be re-created and I will back to the same problem.

LR needs the catalog and previews in the same location which is annoying. I need the catalog on OneDrive so that I can share across devices.
Arthur Fowler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-12-2019, 18:34   #15
T4V
PSN=The4thViewer XBL=t4v
 
T4V's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Lave
Posts: 18,591
Thanks: 250
Thanked 497 Times in 245 Posts
Reinstall on an external drive?
T4V is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-12-2019, 18:36   #16
Arthur Fowler
Trusted User
 
Arthur Fowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Bedfordshire
Posts: 10,945
Thanks: 587
Thanked 282 Times in 194 Posts
Reinstall what?
Arthur Fowler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-12-2019, 18:40   #17
T4V
PSN=The4thViewer XBL=t4v
 
T4V's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Lave
Posts: 18,591
Thanks: 250
Thanked 497 Times in 245 Posts
Lightroom, whatever it is
T4V is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-12-2019, 18:48   #18
Arthur Fowler
Trusted User
 
Arthur Fowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Bedfordshire
Posts: 10,945
Thanks: 587
Thanked 282 Times in 194 Posts
Its Adobe's photography editing and workflow package. Wherever it is installed, I would want its catalog (where it keeps the meta data about what edits have been applied) on OneDrive so that I get the same edits across the two devices I use.

Unfortuately LR also creates preview files in the thousands and they are in the same location as the catalog.

There seems to be a workaround to create symbolic links but I struggled with that.
Arthur Fowler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-12-2019, 08:19   #19
target
Trusted User
 
target's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Loughborough
Posts: 18,997
Thanks: 278
Thanked 4,406 Times in 1,982 Posts
If you're dealing with many files, you need an SSD. They're orders of magnitude faster at random access.
target is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-12-2019, 16:17   #20
Arthur Fowler
Trusted User
 
Arthur Fowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Bedfordshire
Posts: 10,945
Thanks: 587
Thanked 282 Times in 194 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by target View Post
If you're dealing with many files, you need an SSD. They're orders of magnitude faster at random access.
It's only the OneDrive scan that seems to be a problem. Lightroom itself is fine. But yes, SSD drive I'm sure would help.

Thanks
Arthur Fowler is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CPU usage very high on gigabit network usage! Guest 2276 Computing Forum 3 31-03-2006 12:41
ISP high usage problem Steve Jackson Computing Forum 2 08-02-2006 17:18
Disc problem maybe PaulaB Home Entertainment Hardware forum 0 24-05-2004 04:41
BTTF 3 R2 Replacement disc Dull picture look problem *Update new disc 3 has arrived* Guest 11253 Film Discussion 184 02-01-2004 09:41
No Disc problem Guest 13374 Home Entertainment Hardware forum 0 12-11-2001 18:32

All times are GMT. The time now is 23:16.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018 Poisonous Monkey Ltd. Part of The Digital Fix Network