Go Back   Forums @ The Digital Fix > Gadgets and Gizmos > Home Entertainment Hardware forum > Home Media Streaming Forum

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-10-2015, 09:41   #341
jroadley
Trusted User
 
jroadley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Aylsham, Norfolk
Posts: 5,399
Thanks: 85
Thanked 133 Times in 69 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by oldskool View Post
I Just bought the Amazone Fire 4k box after buying the lg set that was in the bargain forum.

Then finding out it literally had no smart features whatsoever when it arrived.

I couldn't believe that you could buy a 4k tv with no smart features in it. I googled it before I bought it and read a review that said it had...considering the only 4k content available at the moment is from streaming sources....it was completely illogical.

So yeah, bought the amazon fire to get the smart features back
There's an argument there that the "smart" apps on a TV don't get a lot of love from the developers - so in fact buying a separate device which has an active eco system is better in the long run.
__________________
Jonathan Roadley
jroadley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2015, 09:54   #342
oldskool
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1,583
Thanks: 99
Thanked 246 Times in 133 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by jroadley View Post
There's an argument there that the "smart" apps on a TV don't get a lot of love from the developers - so in fact buying a separate device which has an active eco system is better in the long run.
it's probably better in the long run, I essentially just have a blank 4k panel. Weirdly, the samsung netflix app on my 32" in the bedroom has literally just been updated

and of course I can install kodi on the amazon fire which I wouldn't have been able to do on the tv to erm....watch my home movies on from my local drive which I created and own copyright on

I did have a cheap android box laying around that I never actually managed to get working properly. Hopefully this will be a better experience
oldskool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2015, 10:12   #343
Stevie G
Dazed and confused
 
Stevie G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: By the seaside
Posts: 12,097
Thanks: 730
Thanked 361 Times in 265 Posts
Yeah, the apps in my 'Smart' Samsung TV are pretty ropey, slow and clunky, rarely bother using them because of it, you're better off with a better equipped separate box anyway IMO
__________________
PSN Gamertag: NoMrMoreNiceGuy
It's all about the scrobbling...
Stevie G is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2015, 10:45   #344
dataloss
Cyberspace Addict
 
dataloss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Ealing, London UK
Posts: 5,256
Thanks: 1,230
Thanked 400 Times in 263 Posts
Smart TV's are a bit of technological dead end as after 2 or 3 years the internals are ancient and least with a external device you can replace it at will.
dataloss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2015, 12:41   #345
Dxfatass
Now with reduced fat
 
Dxfatass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: On Cloud 20
Posts: 2,369
Thanks: 303
Thanked 18 Times in 14 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by zulm View Post
Have you tried siding loading the speedtest apk from here?

http://www.apkmirror.com/apk/ookla/s...-apk-download/
Well I've got it loaded on there, but can't get the test started. The remote just seems to let me scroll along the bottom menu rather than select the start button. Is there any guidance anywhere to get around this? There don't appear to be instructions at that link and I know basically nothing about this anyway
__________________
20
Dxfatass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2015, 13:38   #346
zantarous
Xbox Live tag: wargame
 
zantarous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London
Posts: 10,187
Thanks: 111
Thanked 148 Times in 123 Posts
The app will be designed for a phone so will not work properly with a remote, temporarily plug in a mouse if you can.
zantarous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2015, 14:14   #347
mjb1975
Blandiblub
 
mjb1975's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Kent
Posts: 12,227
Thanks: 27
Thanked 127 Times in 96 Posts
That said, while we only use our Samsung Smart TV apps for Netflix, BBC Iplayer and All4, they all work faster than our set top box/Fire sticks and are that much more 'direct' - just one button to the smart hub and off you go.

Pretty much never use any other smart TV app.
__________________
'Haven't you ever practiced on one of your girlfriends?'
mjb1975 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2015, 17:49   #348
Dxfatass
Now with reduced fat
 
Dxfatass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: On Cloud 20
Posts: 2,369
Thanks: 303
Thanked 18 Times in 14 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by zantarous View Post
The app will be designed for a phone so will not work properly with a remote, temporarily plug in a mouse if you can.
I'm not sure if I can - I think there's only one USB port on the stick which is for power, so I don't think I can plug a mouse into that, can I? Would a wireless mouse be a possibility?
__________________
20
Dxfatass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2015, 19:32   #349
zantarous
Xbox Live tag: wargame
 
zantarous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London
Posts: 10,187
Thanks: 111
Thanked 148 Times in 123 Posts
Oh right you must have the stick, yep a bluetooth one would do the job.
zantarous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2015, 21:13   #350
Dxfatass
Now with reduced fat
 
Dxfatass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: On Cloud 20
Posts: 2,369
Thanks: 303
Thanked 18 Times in 14 Posts
Yeah it's the stick version, which is now limiting my options rather badly
__________________
20
Dxfatass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2015, 23:32   #351
Dxfatass
Now with reduced fat
 
Dxfatass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: On Cloud 20
Posts: 2,369
Thanks: 303
Thanked 18 Times in 14 Posts
Problem solved - a remote mouse app allowed me to start the test, and the speed of 30Mbs should be fine to function without buffering - that's still about 50Mbs below the capability of the line, but should be more than workable.

Thanks for the help
__________________
20
Dxfatass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2015, 10:24   #352
oldskool
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1,583
Thanks: 99
Thanked 246 Times in 133 Posts
you know...I didn't even check, any problems using unblock-us on these?
oldskool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2015, 10:48   #353
jockosjungle
formerly rbullivant
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Warrington
Posts: 23,040
Thanks: 285
Thanked 1,220 Times in 863 Posts
I think you can't over wifi but it works if it is connected via wire to the internet
jockosjungle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2015, 11:14   #354
Stevie G
Dazed and confused
 
Stevie G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: By the seaside
Posts: 12,097
Thanks: 730
Thanked 361 Times in 265 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by oldskool View Post
you know...I didn't even check, any problems using unblock-us on these?
I've been able to use it with Unlocator fine (and I'm in a country that actively tries to block these things!) so I'm sure Unblockus and Unotelly, etc will all be fine.

I do change my DNS settings in my router though (selective), not the device.
__________________
PSN Gamertag: NoMrMoreNiceGuy
It's all about the scrobbling...
Stevie G is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2015, 11:33   #355
oldskool
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1,583
Thanks: 99
Thanked 246 Times in 133 Posts
Unfortunately I need to do it at device level as Virgin media lock up the dns on their routers


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
oldskool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2015, 12:24   #356
Stevie G
Dazed and confused
 
Stevie G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: By the seaside
Posts: 12,097
Thanks: 730
Thanked 361 Times in 265 Posts
Looking on here you can change the DNS settings in the stick itself;

https://support.unlocator.com/custom...amazon-fire-tv
__________________
PSN Gamertag: NoMrMoreNiceGuy
It's all about the scrobbling...
Stevie G is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2015, 13:55   #357
mjb1975
Blandiblub
 
mjb1975's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Kent
Posts: 12,227
Thanks: 27
Thanked 127 Times in 96 Posts
Yep, there's an 'advanced' button when entering your wifi password - you can adjust the usual settings, including DNS, via that.

Can verify as I've done the exact same thing on both Fire Sticks I have.
__________________
'Haven't you ever practiced on one of your girlfriends?'
mjb1975 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2015, 13:59   #358
oldskool
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1,583
Thanks: 99
Thanked 246 Times in 133 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by mjb1975 View Post
Yep, there's an 'advanced' button when entering your wifi password - you can adjust the usual settings, including DNS, via that.

Can verify as I've done the exact same thing on both Fire Sticks I have.
Awesome.....thanks or the responses everyone
oldskool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2015, 20:39   #359
Bigsby
Trusted User
 
Bigsby's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Workin' on a Sex Farm
Posts: 2,574
Thanks: 13
Thanked 11 Times in 9 Posts
Yeah, unblock us works fine on the stick, via wifi.
Bigsby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2015, 07:43   #360
jockosjungle
formerly rbullivant
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Warrington
Posts: 23,040
Thanks: 285
Thanked 1,220 Times in 863 Posts
Does it also work on the larger box as well:?
jockosjungle is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ł25 off all Kindle Fire tablets at Amazon KeyserSoze Bargain Forum 0 17-01-2014 18:30

All times are GMT. The time now is 04:08.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018 Poisonous Monkey Ltd. Part of The Digital Fix Network