Go Back   Forums @ The Digital Fix > Gadgets and Gizmos > Mobile Phone and Satellite Navigation Forum

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 16-10-2019, 10:35   #1
mburton2
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Just outside Ongar, Essex
Posts: 2,068
Thanks: 73
Thanked 23 Times in 21 Posts
Anybody on "Three" network use wifi-calling?

Hi,
I'm about to ditch o2 after MANY years of using them, & In a nut-shell, because the promised solution of "wifi-Calling", just doesnt work. (OK, It does, but its even less robust that the old "TuGo" App, & that was pretty dire.

Now, it seems if I want to use Wifi-calling I need to go to one of the bigger players, & not a Virtual-Net work (Although I seem to remember seeing somewhere that one of the piggy-back companies HAS started to offer wifi calling)....
Long & short of it is, I *THINK* I'm going to go to the Three network....but just want to ask the question, does THEIR wifi-calling work robustly?
__________________
<script type="text/javascript" src="http://widget.fring.com/fringme.php?id=3XGzUMCroc1W%2BFFxEEOdkA%3D%3D&skin=fatty"></script>
mburton2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-10-2019, 11:07   #2
Bravoman
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: W-S-M
Posts: 4,147
Thanks: 1,039
Thanked 255 Times in 158 Posts
Hi.

I’m probably not the best person to answer but I’ve been with 3 for a few years now. I haven’t deliberately opted for wi fi calling but I’ve noticed when I make and receive calls it says wi fi calling and I’ve never had a problem since I noticed.

Perhaps somebody with a more technical knowledge will be able to advise better.
Bravoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-10-2019, 11:35   #3
mburton2
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Just outside Ongar, Essex
Posts: 2,068
Thanks: 73
Thanked 23 Times in 21 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bravoman View Post
Hi.

I’m probably not the best person to answer but I’ve been with 3 for a few years now. I haven’t deliberately opted for wi fi calling but I’ve noticed when I make and receive calls it says wi fi calling and I’ve never had a problem since I noticed.

Perhaps somebody with a more technical knowledge will be able to advise better.
Well, If it works without you noticing, then its doing its job well!
I'm often at home, wanting to make a call with no (GSM) Signal, Good Wifi connection & unable to make/receive a call (Except using WhatsAp/Skype/other VoiP). Rebooting the Phone, Turning wifi-calling on/off doesnt make any difference....then all of a sudden it will start to work.

ANOTHER reason to move away from o2, is Wifi-calling only works for calls....not text...& with the secondary-security becoming common place, being able to get text with confirmation codes when ordering stuff on-line, text by wifi calling is now a must (& apparently text come through via wifi, on Three?)
__________________
<script type="text/javascript" src="http://widget.fring.com/fringme.php?id=3XGzUMCroc1W%2BFFxEEOdkA%3D%3D&skin=fatty"></script>

Last edited by mburton2; 16-10-2019 at 11:50. Reason: Added a bit
mburton2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-10-2019, 11:56   #4
aliman5000
Clown X
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Northants
Posts: 1,668
Thanks: 21
Thanked 47 Times in 35 Posts
I am on Three and ergo use wifi calling on the iphone...which works fine most of the time. The only issues I have is sometimes wifi calling just disappears for a bit and then comes back even if I haven't dropped off the wifi network. But never enough of an issue to consider leaving.

That said...the best solution I ever had was a Three home signal booster. A small box that plugged into your router via ethernet and essentially used a portion of your broadband to boost your phone signal. The beauty of this was that the phone treated it as signal rather than a wifi connection, and so as you describe it was perfect for functions outside of calling, like text messages etc.

I don't know if Three still supply these in the advent of wifi calling but they might. And you can probably find one on ebay. They sent me mine free of charge after a few calls to them moaning about signal.
__________________
This place looks terrible in widescreen...
aliman5000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-10-2019, 06:09   #5
mburton2
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Just outside Ongar, Essex
Posts: 2,068
Thanks: 73
Thanked 23 Times in 21 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by aliman5000 View Post
The only issues I have is sometimes wifi calling just disappears for a bit and then comes back even if I haven't dropped off the wifi network. But never enough of an issue to consider leaving.
Thats the bit that concerns me....but with o2, it the other way around...SOMETIMES it'll work, but most of the time not.

Quote:
Originally Posted by aliman5000 View Post
That said...the best solution I ever had was a Three home signal booster.
a femtocell? (Or whatever its called) I dont *THINK* they do them anymore....but google/ebay is your (my) friend....


Thanks to all for your input thus far.
__________________
<script type="text/javascript" src="http://widget.fring.com/fringme.php?id=3XGzUMCroc1W%2BFFxEEOdkA%3D%3D&skin=fatty"></script>
mburton2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-10-2019, 07:08   #6
scoobyood
Tony Danza
 
scoobyood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Zagreb
Posts: 8,682
Thanks: 802
Thanked 1,053 Times in 525 Posts
What phone do you have? Any internet chatter about that particular model having issues?

Have been on EE for last decade and have had wifi calling turned on for the last couple of phones, Nexus 6P, Samsung S8... no problems. Some corporate guest and other public wifi will block any unusual traffic.. so it fails there.. but at home it's fine. Now on BT (which is EE) and it's no different to regular EE.
scoobyood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-10-2019, 07:28   #7
aliman5000
Clown X
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Northants
Posts: 1,668
Thanks: 21
Thanked 47 Times in 35 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by mburton2 View Post
Thats the bit that concerns me....but with o2, it the other way around...SOMETIMES it'll work, but most of the time not.





a femtocell? (Or whatever its called) I dont *THINK* they do them anymore....but google/ebay is your (my) friend....





Thanks to all for your input thus far.


Had a quick check, apparently Three do still offer them and they’re about Ł20 on eBay
__________________
This place looks terrible in widescreen...
aliman5000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-10-2019, 08:09   #8
mburton2
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Just outside Ongar, Essex
Posts: 2,068
Thanks: 73
Thanked 23 Times in 21 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by aliman5000 View Post
Had a quick check, apparently Three do still offer them and they’re about Ł20 on eBay


I have 4 weeks left on o2....then over to Three (I think) ...
If their wifi-calling works well, Great.....if Not, eBay here I come.....

EDIT

Great timing!...
https://www.bbc.com/news/technology-50080876
__________________
<script type="text/javascript" src="http://widget.fring.com/fringme.php?id=3XGzUMCroc1W%2BFFxEEOdkA%3D%3D&skin=fatty"></script>

Last edited by mburton2; 17-10-2019 at 08:26. Reason: See "EDIT"
mburton2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-10-2019, 12:17   #9
Bravoman
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: W-S-M
Posts: 4,147
Thanks: 1,039
Thanked 255 Times in 158 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by mburton2 View Post


I have 4 weeks left on o2....then over to Three (I think) ...
If their wifi-calling works well, Great.....if Not, eBay here I come.....

EDIT

Great timing!...
https://www.bbc.com/news/technology-50080876
Mines still working perfectly. Don’t think it’s a national issue.
Bravoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-10-2019, 12:30   #10
mburton2
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Just outside Ongar, Essex
Posts: 2,068
Thanks: 73
Thanked 23 Times in 21 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by scoobyood View Post
What phone do you have? Any internet chatter about that particular model having issues?

Have been on EE for last decade and have had wifi calling turned on for the last couple of phones, Nexus 6P, Samsung S8... no problems. Some corporate guest and other public wifi will block any unusual traffic.. so it fails there.. but at home it's fine. Now on BT (which is EE) and it's no different to regular EE.
Galaxy S7....no particular issue that I've stumbled upon....
__________________
<script type="text/javascript" src="http://widget.fring.com/fringme.php?id=3XGzUMCroc1W%2BFFxEEOdkA%3D%3D&skin=fatty"></script>
mburton2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-11-2019, 14:56   #11
Roy
XBL Tag: Coldbobtee
 
Roy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Bodypoppers paradise
Posts: 7,071
Thanks: 99
Thanked 74 Times in 51 Posts
Im on Three, have one of their signal booster boxes, but still have issues calling the signal is pretty poor and the WiFi calling doesn't seem to be reliable...
__________________
To me, my basement!

Roy@Flickr
Roy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-11-2019, 08:45   #12
hxbro
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: At a computer
Posts: 1,347
Thanks: 4
Thanked 44 Times in 41 Posts
Can't say I've ever noticed any issues with wifi calling on 3 (using a S8)
hxbro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-11-2019, 08:48   #13
mburton2
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Just outside Ongar, Essex
Posts: 2,068
Thanks: 73
Thanked 23 Times in 21 Posts
Thanks Guys....ITs given me a little Hope....I'm sure it cant be any worse than the wifi-calling from o2...
Can you confirm that you can get text's via wifi too?....as required for alot of internet purchases now (onr-time confirmation code)....Thats a MAJOR oversight from o2...
__________________
<script type="text/javascript" src="http://widget.fring.com/fringme.php?id=3XGzUMCroc1W%2BFFxEEOdkA%3D%3D&skin=fatty"></script>
mburton2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Calling Iron Maiden fans. Question about audio quality on "Fear of the Dark". chris21 Music Discussion 5 28-11-2009 22:02
Wireless - "limited connectivity"/"network logon"? Flip Martian Computing Forum 4 17-10-2007 18:45

All times are GMT. The time now is 14:12.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018 Poisonous Monkey Ltd. Part of The Digital Fix Network