Sky Q & Powerline Adapters - Page 2 - Forums @ The Digital Fix
 
 
 

Go Back   Forums @ The Digital Fix > Gadgets and Gizmos > Home Entertainment Hardware forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 13-06-2020, 12:13   #21
AdamBrunt
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: UK
Posts: 25,516
Thanks: 155
Thanked 354 Times in 247 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by aliman5000 View Post
It’s worth a try at least, otherwise mini boxes can be connected via powerline too.
True.

But, technically, them all being connected by Powerlines ( or Cat6 cable ) should be no different to 1 of them being wired to a router and the others having a WiFi connection to that same router
AdamBrunt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-06-2020, 20:12   #22
AndyWilson
--------old-geek
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 11,794
Thanks: 107
Thanked 312 Times in 160 Posts
Yep, main box via power line, mini Wi-Fi to main box.

I think even when you connect the mini to the router Wi-Fi, it then ignores that and connects directly to the main box.

BT router btw.

Last edited by AndyWilson; 13-06-2020 at 20:14.
AndyWilson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-06-2020, 07:46   #23
Raigmore
Ambassador to Earth
 
Raigmore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: STILL David Vincent's neighbour
Posts: 7,968
Thanks: 368
Thanked 352 Times in 182 Posts
It has almost been a month since I switched to powerline adapters and it has worked very well thus far for 2 of the 3 mini-boxes.

Before that, the Wi-Fi signal kept dropping in all 3 mini-boxes so frequently that it was rare to be able to watch a 2-hour movie without an image freeze (the hardwired main box worked fine, of course). Several reboots, talked-through system scans and 2 engineer visits were in vain. They even gave me a free booster; both this and the main Sky Broadband Hub (my main router) kept showing 3 green lights all the time and yet the 'connectivity problem' errors kept happening.

So I fitted 3 Devolo 1200+ Powerline Adapters to all 3 ini-boxes and disabled their wifi function at the same time. This immediately resolved the connection issue in 2 of the 3 mini-boxes but in the third, the Devolo kept flashing a red light. I could not understand this till the electrician told me that the plugs on that room had to be routed through another mains because of the layout of cabling in the flat. So, it was working like an extension rather than mains/mains. I removed the Devolo and re-enabled the Wi-fi for that one room and this sorted the problem completely.

So, for the past 3 weeks I have had the Sky Main box hardwired to the router, 2 mini-boxes on powerline adapters with the wifi disabled and one mini-box on wifi. Everything has worked like a proverbial peach, even with the max 3 TVs on Sky.
Raigmore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-06-2020, 16:33   #24
The Bear
Old-gold and black member
 
The Bear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Molineux
Posts: 16,763
Thanks: 425
Thanked 1,639 Times in 546 Posts
Aye. Powerlines only work if the plug is on the same ring main as the router plug.
The Bear is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fastest homeplug/powerline adapters? SteveC Computing Forum 16 30-08-2011 17:48
85mb and 200 mb homeplugs/powerline adapters greshoff Computing Forum 2 29-11-2009 11:09

All times are GMT. The time now is 14:45.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018 Poisonous Monkey Ltd. Part of The Digital Fix Network