Go Back   Forums @ The Digital Fix > Gadgets and Gizmos > Computing Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-02-2010, 00:20   #1
JamesK
James-K
 
JamesK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Reigate
Posts: 6,984
Thanks: 15
Thanked 36 Times in 27 Posts
How to acccess as dynamic IP address remotely from my phone?

I'd like to be able to access files on my PC from my phone remotely when I'm in the office etc, but I am with Sky and i have a dynamic IP address so it can change if my brother reboots the router for example, or it disconnects for some reason.

is there a service that? (translates your dynamic IP to static) For some reason, it's what I though "DynDNS" did, but I don't see that option on their site

A free option would be preferable

Thanks,

James
JamesK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2010, 00:28   #2
JamesK
James-K
 
JamesK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Reigate
Posts: 6,984
Thanks: 15
Thanked 36 Times in 27 Posts
Um... well, ignore me. This appears to be exactly what it does!
JamesK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2010, 12:53   #3
DJBenson
Android Defector
 
DJBenson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Burnley - Eagerly awaiting Bolton and Blackburn's demotion...
Posts: 5,694
Thanks: 93
Thanked 149 Times in 117 Posts
Check your router's admin page as it will probably have a built in DYNDNS client (Sky use Netgear don't they? There's deffo one in the Netgear routers). My Fritz!Box router updates my No-Ip.co.uk DNS address every time the broadband IP changes.
DJBenson is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
acccess, address, dynamic, phone?, remotely

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 20:55.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.qq
Copyright ©2000 - 2021 Network N Ltd.