Go Back   Forums @ The Digital Fix > Gadgets and Gizmos > Computing Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 30-05-2013, 21:40   #81
AdamBrunt
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: UK
Posts: 25,984
Thanks: 182
Thanked 341 Times in 237 Posts
The weird thing is that cPanel says "PHP version 5.2.14" which is more than 5.2.4
AdamBrunt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-05-2013, 21:43   #82
Psycho
Trusted User
 
Psycho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Croydon, London
Posts: 10,228
Thanks: 856
Thanked 171 Times in 102 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by AdamBrunt View Post
The weird thing is that cPanel says "PHP version 5.2.14" which is more than 5.2.4
What I was trying earlier said that is needed PHP version 5.2.17... if my memory serves me correctly.

At the moment I'd just be happy to not be locked out of my own websites!

Psycho
__________________
Graphic Design Website: www.ph-design.co.uk
Twitter: @pHdesign2011
eBay Auctions: Nothing at the moment
Trader Feedback: Trader Feedback Thread
Psycho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-05-2013, 07:49   #83
Psycho
Trusted User
 
Psycho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Croydon, London
Posts: 10,228
Thanks: 856
Thanked 171 Times in 102 Posts
I was hoping things might be better this morning but I'm still locked out of viewing or accesses all of my websites hosted with Vidahost!

Even ones that I've not touched for months and don't have the WP Better Security plugin.

I've tried recovering to an older database backup but I'm getting the same problem.

Looks like another day of no work and headaches!

Psycho
__________________
Graphic Design Website: www.ph-design.co.uk
Twitter: @pHdesign2011
eBay Auctions: Nothing at the moment
Trader Feedback: Trader Feedback Thread
Psycho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-05-2013, 08:34   #84
Psycho
Trusted User
 
Psycho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Croydon, London
Posts: 10,228
Thanks: 856
Thanked 171 Times in 102 Posts
I think I've sorted it now!

I used Spotflux to access the Internet and that tricked whatever was locking me out... I assume my IP address was logged somewhere?

Anyway, once I was logged into WordPress I changed some of the WP Better Security settings, updated all the plugins, and created a second "backup" user with different login details.

I had a look at the Ban Host list on the WP Better Security plugin but my IP address didn't feature?!

What settings do others use for WP Better Security under the Login tab?

Thanks for the help!

Psycho
__________________
Graphic Design Website: www.ph-design.co.uk
Twitter: @pHdesign2011
eBay Auctions: Nothing at the moment
Trader Feedback: Trader Feedback Thread
Psycho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-05-2013, 09:46   #85
KeyserSoze
Trusted User
 
KeyserSoze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: London
Posts: 12,794
Thanks: 827
Thanked 464 Times in 249 Posts
Glad you got it sorted
KeyserSoze is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanked once by:
Psycho (31-05-2013)
Old 01-06-2013, 07:42   #86
KeyserSoze
Trusted User
 
KeyserSoze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: London
Posts: 12,794
Thanks: 827
Thanked 464 Times in 249 Posts
Wordpress - build your own website - howto, tips & links - beginners to advanced

Thought this might be useful given Psycho's recent issues

http://wpbeg.in/7C0fQz
KeyserSoze is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanked once by:
Psycho (03-06-2013)
Old 01-06-2013, 08:29   #87
AdamBrunt
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: UK
Posts: 25,984
Thanks: 182
Thanked 341 Times in 237 Posts
Re: Wordpress - build your own website - howto, tips & links - beginners to advanced

Quote:
Originally Posted by AdamBrunt View Post
The weird thing is that cPanel says "PHP version5.2.14" which is more than 5.2.4
Vidahost had to move my site to another server to fix my issue. The one I was on had an old version of mySQL which was the actual issue (not PHP)
AdamBrunt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2013, 15:14   #88
KeyserSoze
Trusted User
 
KeyserSoze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: London
Posts: 12,794
Thanks: 827
Thanked 464 Times in 249 Posts
Can anyone recommend a good plugin which adds social links to each post/page? Tweet post, facebook, Digg etc?
KeyserSoze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2013, 15:15   #89
res
DonkeyBiscuits
 
res's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Reading
Posts: 2,137
Thanks: 155
Thanked 12 Times in 8 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by KeyserSoze View Post
Can anyone recommend a good plugin which adds social links to each post/page? Tweet post, facebook, Digg etc?
The Wordpress Jetpack plugin does what you describe.
__________________
Surrender now, and I will destroy you peacefully.
@DonkeyBiscuits
res is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2013, 17:49   #90
Ste7en
Goin' Home to Satan
 
Ste7en's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Stranded in Chihuahua
Posts: 15,238
Thanks: 1,875
Thanked 333 Times in 247 Posts
Has anyone had any luck with .kml files? They are doing my head in at the moment
__________________
My DVD Collection / My Feedback
Ste7en is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2013, 10:48   #91
driver8
M0D2.0 (trainee)
 
driver8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Malé, Maldives
Posts: 11,841
Thanks: 2,649
Thanked 2,793 Times in 1,222 Posts
Looking to add some extra/unusual functionality to your site ? This is a good read, and might give you some new ideas -

20 Great Free Plugins You Have Never Heard Of

3 of these I use already (Search Meter, Advanced Code Editor, What The File) but others look well worth checking out, including 'Plugins Garbage Collector' which will clear out old plugin data.

And a bonus mention for new plugin Brute Protect - install & spread the word - a cloud-powered Brute Force attack prevention plugin - tracks failed login attempts across all installed users of the plugin. If any single IP has too many failed attempts in a short period of time, they are blocked from logging in to any site with this plugin installed.
driver8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanked 2 times by:
gravesend46 (24-01-2014), Psycho (10-06-2013)
Old 09-06-2013, 19:14   #92
zharrt
PSN: zharrt1
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 899
Thanks: 4
Thanked 54 Times in 21 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by KeyserSoze View Post
Can anyone recommend a good plugin which adds social links to each post/page? Tweet post, facebook, Digg etc?
I use shareaholic sexybookmarks

http://wordpress.org/plugins/sexybookmarks/

Last edited by zharrt; 09-06-2013 at 19:16.
zharrt is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanked once by:
KeyserSoze (10-06-2013)
Old 10-06-2013, 16:04   #93
KeyserSoze
Trusted User
 
KeyserSoze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: London
Posts: 12,794
Thanks: 827
Thanked 464 Times in 249 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by zharrt View Post
I use shareaholic sexybookmarks

http://wordpress.org/plugins/sexybookmarks/
Brilliant, exactly what I need. Will give it a go.
KeyserSoze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-06-2013, 22:34   #94
driver8
M0D2.0 (trainee)
 
driver8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Malé, Maldives
Posts: 11,841
Thanks: 2,649
Thanked 2,793 Times in 1,222 Posts
Well, this has been driving me nuts for quite a while, and I've inadvertently stumbled across a fix - thought I'd share for future reference.

My WP-dashboard plugins page kept giving me a "page not found" error - but not all the time. I could install 1 plugin, but not a second one; I could search for a couple of new plugins, then it would stop working; and so on. I would open up a new browser tab or use a different browser althogether, and again I could get a few goes before I saw the "page not found" again. Weird.

Disabling all my plugins and changing to a default WP theme didn't help at all.

Anyway, whilst googling for what might have caused this, I came across this code to ignore a directory in mod_rewrite to put in my .HTACCESS file (in the wordpress install root) which seems to have fixed the problem -

Code:
RewriteRule ^wp-admin - [L,NC]
I can only think this was caused by some upgrades my host did a couple of months back, but no idea what this might have been.

Anyone seen anything like this before, or know what the cause might be ? (And if anyone sees something similar to this themselves in the future, this might help to ring a bell).
driver8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-06-2013, 15:46   #95
owenjt
Trusted User
 
owenjt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Hertfordshire
Posts: 1,176
Thanks: 6
Thanked 7 Times in 5 Posts
Wondering if anyone can help me with a website i'm working on and specifically setting up galleries for use with a light box. Purchased a template and it has a light box feature but I can't see how it's working.

You can see at www.mygreatescape.co.uk that when you click on the top image it opens up a light box displaying two images. The first image is defined by using a url in custom field 'lightbox-url' in the post and I have no idea how or where the second image is defined.

Driving me crazy as I thought it would be a simple case of creating individual galleries in the media library and linking to them.

Anyone know how this works? Any help appreciated!
owenjt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-06-2013, 20:49   #96
AdamBrunt
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: UK
Posts: 25,984
Thanks: 182
Thanked 341 Times in 237 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by zharrt View Post
I use shareaholic sexybookmarks

http://wordpress.org/plugins/sexybookmarks/
Bit off topic but ... does anyone have any recommendations for a plugin/script to do this outside of Wordpress ? I have used addThis in the past but not been overly impressed.
AdamBrunt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-07-2013, 16:12   #97
Psycho
Trusted User
 
Psycho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Croydon, London
Posts: 10,228
Thanks: 856
Thanked 171 Times in 102 Posts
A few months ago I had to update my Twitter widget plugin and since then it hasn't worked!

Can anyone recommend something similar to Rimons Twitter Widget?

It originally looked like this on my website:



But following the update it has gone all screwy, even with the same settings:

http://www.ph-design.co.uk/

Thanks,

Psycho
__________________
Graphic Design Website: www.ph-design.co.uk
Twitter: @pHdesign2011
eBay Auctions: Nothing at the moment
Trader Feedback: Trader Feedback Thread
Psycho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-07-2013, 17:37   #98
KeyserSoze
Trusted User
 
KeyserSoze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: London
Posts: 12,794
Thanks: 827
Thanked 464 Times in 249 Posts
I used the same one (I think it may have been yourself who suggested it) and yes have the same problem! This is due to the new Twitter API update where they removed older versions.

I ended up creating a Twitter widget from https://twitter.com/settings/widgets and putting the code into the html/php widget (this may be another plugin or built in, can't remember) within Wordpress. Its pretty minimal so allows me to style it the way I want.
KeyserSoze is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanked once by:
Psycho (15-07-2013)
Old 15-07-2013, 18:08   #99
Psycho
Trusted User
 
Psycho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Croydon, London
Posts: 10,228
Thanks: 856
Thanked 171 Times in 102 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by KeyserSoze View Post
I used the same one (I think it may have been yourself who suggested it) and yes have the same problem! This is due to the new Twitter API update where they removed older versions.

I ended up creating a Twitter widget from https://twitter.com/settings/widgets and putting the code into the html/php widget (this may be another plugin or built in, can't remember) within Wordpress. Its pretty minimal so allows me to style it the way I want.
Yeah, I had to download the new version and then went through the process of getting the codes for API... not sure what that is.

Finally got it work but it looks messed up!

I really hate it when people fiddle with things and screw them up.

I'll have a hunt about to see if I can find another easy to use Twitter feed widget.

Cheers,

Psycho
__________________
Graphic Design Website: www.ph-design.co.uk
Twitter: @pHdesign2011
eBay Auctions: Nothing at the moment
Trader Feedback: Trader Feedback Thread
Psycho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-07-2013, 19:37   #100
nigel_williams
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: South London
Posts: 4,933
Thanks: 8
Thanked 129 Times in 68 Posts
I use the one in Jetpack, works nicely.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk HD
nigel_williams is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanked once by:
Psycho (15-07-2013)
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
plugins, themes, Web Design, Wordpress

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Links not working in wordpress???? Guest 48579 Computing Forum 2 28-08-2006 04:41
How to build a website which allows others to build a site ? KeyserSoze Computing Forum 18 08-10-2005 23:14
Wanting to build a website Guest 16622 Computing Forum 8 13-07-2004 18:25

All times are GMT. The time now is 06:46.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.qq
Copyright ©2000 - 2021 Network N Ltd.