Go Back   Forums @ The Digital Fix > Gadgets and Gizmos > Computing Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 25-04-2013, 17:39   #21
Spooky_uk
XBL/PSN : SPOOKYVILLE
 
Spooky_uk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: West Yorkshire
Posts: 15,962
Thanks: 0
Thanked 80 Times in 46 Posts
Need to spring clean mine with a new theme. Something clean but flashy. Like the look of Catalyst, might go for that.

Last edited by Spooky_uk; 25-04-2013 at 18:44.
Spooky_uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-04-2013, 16:25   #22
Spooky_uk
XBL/PSN : SPOOKYVILLE
 
Spooky_uk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: West Yorkshire
Posts: 15,962
Thanks: 0
Thanked 80 Times in 46 Posts
Anyone come across a plugin that allows to cross post to different tumblr blogs (as opposed to just a single tumblr blog) based on whichever category a WP post was created in?
Spooky_uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-04-2013, 21:28   #23
RobDickinson
Trusted User
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Christchurch, NZ
Posts: 11,334
Thanks: 5
Thanked 17 Times in 16 Posts
I need a ecommerce shopping cart kind of plugin for www.zarphag.com

Currently have ecwid and I dont think it will work with the number of products restrictions and costs.

I basically want to offer an image gallery with print options ( with different sizes and paper/canvas).

Whats the best thing to look at? I dont mind a 1 off cost if the thing is comprehensive and works.
__________________
X360 tag : RobJD
RobDickinson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-04-2013, 21:32   #24
ljp
learned 2 ape the motions
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 6,403
Thanks: 97
Thanked 136 Times in 111 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by RobDickinson View Post
I need a ecommerce shopping cart kind of plugin for www.zarphag.com

Currently have ecwid and I dont think it will work with the number of products restrictions and costs.

I basically want to offer an image gallery with print options ( with different sizes and paper/canvas).

Whats the best thing to look at? I dont mind a 1 off cost if the thing is comprehensive and works.
Why not just install OpenCart. It's free, easy to install and does everything that CubeCart does but without knocking a hole in the wallet. You could just install it at zarphag/shop , you could have it up and running in an hour.
ljp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-04-2013, 22:06   #25
RobDickinson
Trusted User
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Christchurch, NZ
Posts: 11,334
Thanks: 5
Thanked 17 Times in 16 Posts
As a totally separate module? I was hoping to keep the theme/template the same ?

Edit OK looks like an option is to install opencart stand alone in a subdir of the wp site and then skin it using the same css etc. time to invesigrate.
__________________
X360 tag : RobJD

Last edited by RobDickinson; 27-04-2013 at 22:13.
RobDickinson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-04-2013, 07:28   #26
ljp
learned 2 ape the motions
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 6,403
Thanks: 97
Thanked 136 Times in 111 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by RobDickinson View Post
As a totally separate module? I was hoping to keep the theme/template the same ?

Edit OK looks like an option is to install opencart stand alone in a subdir of the wp site and then skin it using the same css etc. time to invesigrate.
Just use the same CSS as you have on the rest of your site
ljp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-04-2013, 08:56   #27
RobDickinson
Trusted User
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Christchurch, NZ
Posts: 11,334
Thanks: 5
Thanked 17 Times in 16 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ljp View Post
Just use the same CSS as you have on the rest of your site
Not quite that straight forward but getting there, plenty more to do.

http://zarphag.com/wordpress/store/index.php
__________________
X360 tag : RobJD
RobDickinson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-04-2013, 11:41   #28
ljp
learned 2 ape the motions
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 6,403
Thanks: 97
Thanked 136 Times in 111 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by RobDickinson View Post
Not quite that straight forward but getting there, plenty more to do.

http://zarphag.com/wordpress/store/index.php
Congrats.

If you want the settings for things like PayPal just yell I can copy them from any of mine and put them in here to save you the hassle of trying to work them out.
ljp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 09:20   #29
Ste7en
Goin' Home to Satan
 
Ste7en's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Stranded in Chihuahua
Posts: 15,238
Thanks: 1,875
Thanked 333 Times in 247 Posts
Is it possible to add child pages to a home page? I know technically all pages are children of the home page but I need to add some sub pages to a home page.
__________________
My DVD Collection / My Feedback
Ste7en is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 11:28   #30
driver8
M0D2.0 (trainee)
 
driver8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Malé, Maldives
Posts: 11,841
Thanks: 2,649
Thanked 2,793 Times in 1,222 Posts
Not sure what you mean, Ste7en, or what you're trying to do.

Using the menu it's very easy, so you can have COLOURS as the parent, with RED and BLUE underneath as links (to a page to a category).

Or do you mean : colours.com/red and colours.com/blue ?
driver8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 11:31   #31
Ste7en
Goin' Home to Satan
 
Ste7en's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Stranded in Chihuahua
Posts: 15,238
Thanks: 1,875
Thanked 333 Times in 247 Posts
I have a static home page that I want to add child pages to so they will appear in a drop down in the navigation rather than alongside as when I assign the parent as the homepage the child pages appear as main pages.
__________________
My DVD Collection / My Feedback
Ste7en is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 11:36   #32
res
DonkeyBiscuits
 
res's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Reading
Posts: 2,137
Thanks: 155
Thanked 12 Times in 8 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ste7en View Post
I have a static home page that I want to add child pages to so they will appear in a drop down in the navigation rather than alongside as when I assign the parent as the homepage the child pages appear as main pages.
Then for each page you want to appear in the drop down menu, make the parent page your static homepage name rather than default 'Main Page'. Should do the trick.
__________________
Surrender now, and I will destroy you peacefully.
@DonkeyBiscuits
res is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 11:40   #33
Ste7en
Goin' Home to Satan
 
Ste7en's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Stranded in Chihuahua
Posts: 15,238
Thanks: 1,875
Thanked 333 Times in 247 Posts
Yep, that is what I done but it doesn't work (despite showing fine in the hierarchy).

Apparently all main pages are classed as children of the homepage.
__________________
My DVD Collection / My Feedback
Ste7en is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 11:41   #34
driver8
M0D2.0 (trainee)
 
driver8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Malé, Maldives
Posts: 11,841
Thanks: 2,649
Thanked 2,793 Times in 1,222 Posts
Wow - that was quick ! OK - I think I can see what you mean - it sounds like you have some sort of "automatically add new pages to the menu" option enabled.

The Wordpress menus are one of the best & easiest things about it, imo : go to Appearance - Menu and you can drag & drop however you wish.

So if you have COLOURS as a page on the menu already, just drag RED and BLUE to the correct positions (underneath, indented) then SAVE.

Make sense ?
driver8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanked once by:
Ste7en (01-05-2013)
Old 01-05-2013, 11:42   #35
driver8
M0D2.0 (trainee)
 
driver8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Malé, Maldives
Posts: 11,841
Thanks: 2,649
Thanked 2,793 Times in 1,222 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spooky_uk View Post
Anyone come across a plugin that allows to cross post to different tumblr blogs (as opposed to just a single tumblr blog) based on whichever category a WP post was created in?
Wordpress plugins for tumblr
driver8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 13:14   #36
Ste7en
Goin' Home to Satan
 
Ste7en's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Stranded in Chihuahua
Posts: 15,238
Thanks: 1,875
Thanked 333 Times in 247 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by driver8 View Post
Wow - that was quick ! OK - I think I can see what you mean - it sounds like you have some sort of "automatically add new pages to the menu" option enabled.

The Wordpress menus are one of the best & easiest things about it, imo : go to Appearance - Menu and you can drag & drop however you wish.

So if you have COLOURS as a page on the menu already, just drag RED and BLUE to the correct positions (underneath, indented) then SAVE.

Make sense ?
Yep, works a treat. I was just adding child pages and selecting parent page(s) as I went and discovered an anomaly when I tried to assign child pages to the home page.

Just spotted something

I've set up a custom menu which works well. But is there any way to ditch the URL bit of the parent?

For example:

COLOURS
-Red
-Blue

The URL displays colours/red and I'd like it to just display the /red (ditching the colours bit of the now parent)
__________________
My DVD Collection / My Feedback

Last edited by Ste7en; 01-05-2013 at 14:03.
Ste7en is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 16:10   #37
Spooky_uk
XBL/PSN : SPOOKYVILLE
 
Spooky_uk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: West Yorkshire
Posts: 15,962
Thanks: 0
Thanked 80 Times in 46 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by driver8 View Post
Cheers but already looked there and couldn't find anything suitable. The best it seems to get is with Publicize where you can link 1 tumblr account and then if we want to change you have to go into settings and go through the process again to link to a different one.

What I want is something that will allow you to say add 3 or 4 tumblr accounts and then when you are editing a post you can tick the box of whichever tumblr blog you want to cross post to.
Spooky_uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 17:16   #38
nigel_williams
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: South London
Posts: 4,933
Thanks: 8
Thanked 129 Times in 68 Posts
Have you tried editing the page and changing the permalink URL at the top?
nigel_williams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2013, 05:29   #39
RobDickinson
Trusted User
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Christchurch, NZ
Posts: 11,334
Thanks: 5
Thanked 17 Times in 16 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ljp View Post
Congrats.

If you want the settings for things like PayPal just yell I can copy them from any of mine and put them in here to save you the hassle of trying to work them out.

Cheers, will see if I have it sorted now, store is coming along nicely, just about all the functionality I want and layout, a few tweaks to go and lots of data...
__________________
X360 tag : RobJD
RobDickinson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2013, 10:07   #40
Guest 85311
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 21
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
How tech-savvy do you have to be to run a wordpress? Not the best with these things, so for me it has to be baby steps. I found http://website.1and1.co.uk/edit-website-content and was wondering if anyone's heard anything about it? Would it be better suited for a newbie?
Guest 85311 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
plugins, themes, Web Design, Wordpress

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Links not working in wordpress???? Guest 48579 Computing Forum 2 28-08-2006 04:41
How to build a website which allows others to build a site ? KeyserSoze Computing Forum 18 08-10-2005 23:14
Wanting to build a website Guest 16622 Computing Forum 8 13-07-2004 18:25

All times are GMT. The time now is 06:41.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.qq
Copyright ©2000 - 2021 Network N Ltd.