Go Back   Forums @ The Digital Fix > Gadgets and Gizmos > Home Entertainment Hardware forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 21-09-2011, 08:46   #841
powder
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 3,316
Thanks: 14
Thanked 16 Times in 14 Posts
Right, after much jumping through hoops have just started the game of chicken with Sky and instigated a cancellation.

No offers of retention at all, and ended up being refused cancellation, but after ringing the directors office complaints direct line i have from our last fiasco (or five) am now awaiting a confirmation email that any charges regarding the 1tb box will be waived should they appear.


With any luck at some point we'll be contacted and a retentions offer made. I'll just be damn sure to get the package details, monthly charge and all the dates confirmed in writing so i have less chance of going through all this again.

You never know, one of those 50% discount offers may appear. I guess that they'll want £400+ a year from us rather than £0
powder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-09-2011, 14:34   #842
mattymoo
Gamertag: stevie40
 
mattymoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Lincolnshire, UK
Posts: 2,863
Thanks: 41
Thanked 14 Times in 11 Posts
oops - wrong thread

Last edited by mattymoo; 21-09-2011 at 14:39.
mattymoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-10-2011, 15:31   #843
Conor
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: N Ireland
Posts: 832
Thanks: 38
Thanked 25 Times in 7 Posts
2 Quick questions. Am moving home again in the middle of November

(a) Will I need a phone line?
(b) Will the programmes that I have saved on my Sky HD Planner still be there when I'm settled in the new house? Am not changing any subscription except cancelling the multiroom option.

Cheers.
Conor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-10-2011, 16:27   #844
Andy Meredith
Trusted User
 
Andy Meredith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Stafford
Posts: 1,285
Thanks: 47
Thanked 61 Times in 40 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Conor View Post
2 Quick questions. Am moving home again in the middle of November

(a) Will I need a phone line?
(b) Will the programmes that I have saved on my Sky HD Planner still be there when I'm settled in the new house? Am not changing any subscription except cancelling the multiroom option.

Cheers.
when I moved 2 years ago, I had a main and two multirooms installed, none of the positions had a phone line,the installer had a phone extension on a reel,he plugged each box in to do the callback setup,and said that would be ok.
Ive been with sky since it launched and have never had a phone line connected.

Hope this helps with one of your questions.
Andy Meredith is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanked once by:
Conor (02-11-2011)
Old 31-10-2011, 17:28   #845
Alan b
Administrator
 
Alan b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 35,049
Thanks: 171
Thanked 1,285 Times in 581 Posts
If you are not taking multiroom then I don't think you need your box connected to a phone line.

Anything you have recorded into your planner will still be there when you plug it in again.
Alan b is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanked once by:
Conor (02-11-2011)
Old 02-11-2011, 15:42   #846
Conor
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: N Ireland
Posts: 832
Thanks: 38
Thanked 25 Times in 7 Posts
Thanks Andy and Alan for the advice and info. Its much appreciated!!
Conor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2012, 14:31   #847
ascender
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Schottland
Posts: 5,355
Thanks: 306
Thanked 125 Times in 101 Posts
Got a letter about the fact my second box isn't plugged in to the same phone line as our main box. Its only been like this for about 7 years, but if I don't get it sorted i'll start getting charged the full amount for both boxes. Looks like this is because they're concerned people could be subscribing to multiroom on the cheap and giving the card to their friends at a different address.

Last edited by ascender; 08-01-2012 at 14:31.
ascender is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2012, 18:32   #848
Alan b
Administrator
 
Alan b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 35,049
Thanks: 171
Thanked 1,285 Times in 581 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ascender View Post
Looks like this is because they're concerned people could be subscribing to multiroom on the cheap and giving the card to their friends at a different address.
That is the reason why they have in their T&Cs that they have to be connected to the same phone line. I guess you were lucky to get away with it for 7 years !
Alan b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-01-2012, 10:33   #849
vsehijpal
Trusted User
 
vsehijpal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Telford
Posts: 1,215
Thanks: 18
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
I realised the other day the majority of tv I watch I can get for free with freesat so no longer need my sky connection. What I would miss is the PVR functionality of my Sky HD box. Am I right to think that for a one off fee, on termination of the sky contract, I can keep the pvr capability?

Also I wonder if the Sky+ app on my phone would still work... I'd guess not as I'm cancelling the account also (?)

Cheers

Vin
__________________
===========================
My Feedback Thread
vsehijpal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-01-2012, 12:06   #850
powder
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 3,316
Thanks: 14
Thanked 16 Times in 14 Posts
No active subscription = no PVR, no SkyGo, no access to content already on the PVR
powder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-01-2012, 13:27   #851
mjb1975
Blandiblub
 
mjb1975's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Kent
Posts: 12,332
Thanks: 30
Thanked 166 Times in 113 Posts
I *think* you can pay them £10 a month for the PVR service though can't you? Might defeat the object of getting rid of the sub though!
__________________
'Haven't you ever practiced on one of your girlfriends?'
mjb1975 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-01-2012, 16:31   #852
Alan b
Administrator
 
Alan b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 35,049
Thanks: 171
Thanked 1,285 Times in 581 Posts
I think you are right, for £10.25 a month they will enable the recording facility on the box.
Alan b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-01-2012, 22:30   #853
dharle
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 613
Thanks: 17
Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
Sorry if this is a bit of a newbie question but I have a skyhd box that I don't use (I used to have a subscription but was happy enough with freesat).

My parents currently have a sky subscription at their house (not multiroom but also a sky hd box). They sometimes come stay with me for a week at a time. Is it possible for them to bring their sky card and use it in my box to access their package (they only have a non-premium package)? Or do they have to also bring their box as well?
dharle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-01-2012, 08:06   #854
platty
XBL Gamertag: PlattyStu
 
platty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Leigh,Lancs
Posts: 7,211
Thanks: 69
Thanked 71 Times in 47 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by dharle View Post
Sorry if this is a bit of a newbie question but I have a skyhd box that I don't use (I used to have a subscription but was happy enough with freesat).

My parents currently have a sky subscription at their house (not multiroom but also a sky hd box). They sometimes come stay with me for a week at a time. Is it possible for them to bring their sky card and use it in my box to access their package (they only have a non-premium package)? Or do they have to also bring their box as well?
As far as i know the card has to be paired with the box , so i think they will have to bring their own box
__________________
Hasa Diga Eebowai
platty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-01-2012, 08:40   #855
LouBarlow
Retired Member
 
LouBarlow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 55,657
Thanks: 924
Thanked 979 Times in 620 Posts
Here's one. Does anyone know why signal quality in settings fluctuates so much between channels? Strength too? For example, on ITV HD both settings are 90% plus but switching to sky sports 1 strength stays high but quality drops to like 60%! We don't lose the image at all, but why would it fluctuate like that? Is the dish not properly aligned?
LouBarlow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-01-2012, 10:46   #856
T4V
PSN=The4thViewer XBL=t4v
 
T4V's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Lave
Posts: 19,244
Thanks: 275
Thanked 515 Times in 254 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by LouBarlow View Post
Here's one. Does anyone know why signal quality in settings fluctuates so much between channels? Strength too? For example, on ITV HD both settings are 90% plus but switching to sky sports 1 strength stays high but quality drops to like 60%! We don't lose the image at all, but why would it fluctuate like that? Is the dish not properly aligned?
Different transponders, (different satellites ?) different polarisations (V or H). Lots of reasons, its no different to terrestrial analogue channels being better/worse even if they come from the same transmitter.

Sometimes you'll lose all the BBC channels etc for a bit, while other packages Sky, C4 etc remain unaffected.

Last edited by T4V; 29-01-2012 at 10:49.
T4V is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-01-2012, 11:17   #857
LouBarlow
Retired Member
 
LouBarlow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 55,657
Thanks: 924
Thanked 979 Times in 620 Posts
Yeah I did think that. Should the dish be corrected so that I lose a little from the higher strength channels to even out the lower ones, or should I just not worry as long as I don't lose the image?
LouBarlow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-01-2012, 11:54   #858
deanos
You can call me Deano
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Lincolnshire
Posts: 4,867
Thanks: 2
Thanked 40 Times in 13 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by dharle View Post
Sorry if this is a bit of a newbie question but I have a skyhd box that I don't use (I used to have a subscription but was happy enough with freesat).

My parents currently have a sky subscription at their house (not multiroom but also a sky hd box). They sometimes come stay with me for a week at a time. Is it possible for them to bring their sky card and use it in my box to access their package (they only have a non-premium package)? Or do they have to also bring their box as well?
Should work, you get all the subscribed channels apart from the premium ones ie sport and movies

I can take my card downstairs and use it in the box upstairs and i get everything apart from sports and movies
__________________
> <
deanos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2012, 14:33   #859
T4V
PSN=The4thViewer XBL=t4v
 
T4V's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Lave
Posts: 19,244
Thanks: 275
Thanked 515 Times in 254 Posts
Just seen an ad for Sky Arts 1/2 moving to 129/130, does this mean there is a new channel resort coming? I've had a Google but I can't find anything....

Of course if they used my idea NONE ON THIS WOULD BE NECESSARY!!

edit - found this from November so they've clearly delayed it since then:

Quote:
From 24 January 2012, you’ll no longer have to scroll all the way down to Sky channel 243 to find Sky Arts 1 and Sky Arts 1HD. They’ll be moving up to channel 129. Similarly, Sky Arts 2 and Sky Arts 2HD will move from channel 245 to channel 130.

To make way for these changes, Sky 2 will move to Sky channel 121 and Sky Living Loves will close down.

Last edited by T4V; 05-02-2012 at 14:44.
T4V is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-02-2012, 20:06   #860
boonspoon
SILENCE!! I KEEEEL YOU!!
 
boonspoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Glasgow, Scotland
Posts: 4,688
Thanks: 11
Thanked 47 Times in 17 Posts
Wondering if anyone can help? I've recorded some stuff on SKY and because it's rated 18 (Insane Championship Wrestling on My Channel if you are wondering... ) it's not letting me watch it earlier in the day without putting in my pin number.

Now as far as I'm led to believe, the pin number is the last 4 digits on your SKY card. Well I've tried this and it doesn't work. Is there any way to force it?? Can you do anything via the engineers menu??
__________________
What happens if you pour Dettol into a Yakult???
I'm on the Twitters... - Bah Gawd, he must be broken in half!!
boonspoon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
EPG, sky, sky hd, SkyHD

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Official SPL 2009/10 thread - "The Establishment's" Favourite Thread on the Forums!! boonspoon Sports Forum 440 09-05-2010 17:34
The 'Official' MMA Thread Guest 522 Sports Forum 1001 05-03-2007 18:05
*The Official PS3 Thread* TimJBart Video Games Forum 1029 08-09-2006 16:27
Official Liverpool 06 - 07 Thread - The Official Pedant thread! Guest 816 Sports Forum 1013 06-09-2006 10:09
The one and only official "official"Tru calling thread... Lorne.t Television Discussion 79 23-03-2005 19:37

All times are GMT. The time now is 00:57.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.qq
Copyright ©2000 - 2021 Network N Ltd.