Go Back   Forums @ The Digital Fix > Gadgets and Gizmos > Computing Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 21-08-2007, 08:45   #1
Jacko371
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: N/A
Posts: 526
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Trying to install Vista - unable to find system volume to install on.

Hello
I've been trying to install Vista on my Xp machine, when I get to the final stage before it actually installs and where I pick which drive to install to. No matter what drive I pick it comes up with the error:-

"Windows is unable to find a system volume that meets its criteria for installation"

I've formatted 2 seperate partitions - still came up with same error message. Deleted the partitions and created new partitions - same error message again! I've tried on both a primary & logical patition & they both give the same error.

So (stupidly) I've deleted Windows Xp & can't install Vista to replace it.

My system is:-

P4 3.4GHz HT
1.5G RAM
2x250GB SATA Hard Drives

Anyone got any ideas?

Cheers

Last edited by Jacko371; 21-08-2007 at 09:05.
Jacko371 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-08-2007, 09:05   #2
Guest 19646
Beagletastic
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Winchester(ish)
Posts: 1,452
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
There's a KB article here with some suggestions...

Most likely out of those is that you're trying to install onto FAT32 partitions instead of NTFS partitions, or you need to give Vista the correct mass storage drivers for your SATA controller. Assuming the controller is on your motherboard (i.e. the SATA drives plug directly into the motherboard) it might be worth checking the manufacturer's site for any details, or doing a search for people with the same motherboard model having similar problems...
Guest 19646 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-08-2007, 12:14   #3
zantarous
Xbox Live tag: wargame
 
zantarous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London
Posts: 10,946
Thanks: 153
Thanked 305 Times in 221 Posts
Did you manage to solve this? I am reinstalling my new PC and have the same problem. I guess it is to do with the SATA drivers which don't seem to be on the resource DVD.

Its a Dimension 9200, if anyone has any idea please post.
zantarous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-08-2007, 12:28   #4
Jim2k
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: South Wales
Posts: 885
Thanks: 0
Thanked 7 Times in 4 Posts
If its a Dell I think I had to change the Raid config from Auto to something else in the BIOS to get my E501 to pick up the drives? Perhaps its similar.
__________________
tallyho with a bing and a bong and a buzz buzz buzz.
Jim2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-08-2007, 12:46   #5
zantarous
Xbox Live tag: wargame
 
zantarous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London
Posts: 10,946
Thanks: 153
Thanked 305 Times in 221 Posts
The only option in the BIOS is Raid Autodect or RAID On which is the defualt, I have just tried both and neither makes a difference.

I have had a look on the dell site and they have two SATA drivers but neither seem to be the right one.
zantarous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-08-2007, 13:36   #6
Guest 5985
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: London
Posts: 2,858
Thanks: 22
Thanked 51 Times in 33 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by zantarous View Post
The only option in the BIOS is Raid Autodect or RAID On which is the defualt, I have just tried both and neither makes a difference.

I have had a look on the dell site and they have two SATA drivers but neither seem to be the right one.
Did you try temporarily disconnecting the second of the two SATA drives during installation? Make sure the BIOS configuration correctly reflects this; set RAID in the the BIOS settings to autodetect. The reason I suggest disconnecting the other drive is that it sounds like Vista is still looking for the RAID setup as otherwise the standard disk controller drivers on the Dell Vista DVD ought to work. You can reconnect the other drive after installation which should then be autodetected; from there it can be partitioned and formatted from within Vista.

Robert

Last edited by rwniel; 21-08-2007 at 13:47.
Guest 5985 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-08-2007, 14:59   #7
Guest 58780
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,259
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
To solve this I re-partioned the drive on another Windows machine (using an external cable/enclosure) by going into Computer Management. Partition it to its fullest size only then you can go back in later if you want to once you get Vista recognising it.

I don't know why this happens (I think I've described it as "Vista gets lost" in the past) but it's easily solved doing the above.

The thing you have to watch is make sure you have a good backup in case you drop another drive in (then changing your mind) and going back to a Vista setup on the original HDD which was previously there. I don't know why Vista can't find the volume it knew was there but it happened and it left my head spinning for hours.
Guest 58780 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-08-2007, 15:02   #8
Guest 58780
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,259
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by zantarous
Its a Dimension 9200
Same here. I repartioned and all was fine. If you can't repartition (no external enlosure/USB on another Windows platform) then shove XP on there and Vista over the top of it (as a clean install). That works too.
Guest 58780 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-08-2007, 15:19   #9
zantarous
Xbox Live tag: wargame
 
zantarous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London
Posts: 10,946
Thanks: 153
Thanked 305 Times in 221 Posts
Thanks rnwniel I removed the second drive and Vista could now no longer find any drive, before it was finding drive 1 and not Drive 0 even though it was listed in the Bios.

So disconnected Drive 0 and Vista then installed but once it tried to start Vista it said could not find drive 0, so connected it back up but this resulted in the error message "Missing Operating system"

So I have now disabled Drive 0 in Bios and will enable it again once the install is complete but I have a feeling I will run into some issues here. What if I just physically swap the drives?
zantarous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-08-2007, 15:26   #10
zantarous
Xbox Live tag: wargame
 
zantarous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London
Posts: 10,946
Thanks: 153
Thanked 305 Times in 221 Posts
Just noticed all the other replies glad it was not only me, was such a breeze to install. Now to get the driver CD to play ball.
zantarous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-08-2007, 16:00   #11
bumfrog
bum of the highest order
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: In a Shoebox, In A Hole In the Road
Posts: 13,069
Thanks: 122
Thanked 717 Times in 486 Posts
usually the bios will try to boot from the drives with the lowest number. If for some reason drive 0 has a mbr for vista on it, it will keep trying to boot from it if it's enabled. If you swap the drives over, then (if it's anything like other forms of nt) it may have a different drive specified in the boot.ini, so you may have to change that if you wanted to physically swap the drives over.
bumfrog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-08-2007, 16:28   #12
Guest 5985
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: London
Posts: 2,858
Thanks: 22
Thanked 51 Times in 33 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by zantarous View Post
Thanks rnwniel I removed the second drive and Vista could now no longer find any drive, before it was finding drive 1 and not Drive 0 even though it was listed in the Bios.

So disconnected Drive 0 and Vista then installed but once it tried to start Vista it said could not find drive 0, so connected it back up but this resulted in the error message "Missing Operating system"

So I have now disabled Drive 0 in Bios and will enable it again once the install is complete but I have a feeling I will run into some issues here. What if I just physically swap the drives?
If you are talking about using the original drive 1 as the boot drive, then yes you should be able to do that - they're the same size/specification so it shouldn't matter which one you use. Make sure the BIOS is set to "Autodetect / ATA". In terms of the numerical boot order, put the dvd drive above the SATA hard drive within the BIOS settings and then look out for the message which asks whether you want to boot from the DVD drive once you've restarted.

Robert

Last edited by rwniel; 21-08-2007 at 17:07.
Guest 5985 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-08-2007, 16:47   #13
Guest 58780
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,259
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Little word of warning (really for the people coming here via Google), fix this the simplest way from above and don't **** about. I was messing about last week with a XP to Vista 2x250 non-RAID (ie dual drive setup) setup and got the dreaded "NTLDR is missing" message.

I've not seen that since Windows98 and funnily enough the only way I could get Vista to load was install errr... Windows98 I kid you not, W98 on a QuadCore 6600 2.4GHz 1066MHz. 38 minutes it took and then Vista went over it perfectly with a clean install. I dare say I could of used a floppy disk or something but I don't own any

Moral of the story? Keep a Windows98 CD at the ready with Vista Wow™ technology
Guest 58780 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-08-2007, 15:24   #14
zantarous
Xbox Live tag: wargame
 
zantarous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London
Posts: 10,946
Thanks: 153
Thanked 305 Times in 221 Posts
Thanks for the help everyone swapping the disks round has done the trick, it now boots straight of the drive that has the OS and see's the other drive drive E.

Now to start partitioning the drives which I seem to be having problems with. Drive C is a total of 250GB but will only let me shrink the drive by 98GB even though there is 208GB free. Vista certainly doesn’t make it easy.
zantarous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-08-2007, 08:21   #15
Guest 19646
Beagletastic
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Winchester(ish)
Posts: 1,452
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by zantarous View Post
Now to start partitioning the drives which I seem to be having problems with. Drive C is a total of 250GB but will only let me shrink the drive by 98GB even though there is 208GB free. Vista certainly doesn’t make it easy.
This might help...
Guest 19646 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-08-2007, 08:34   #16
bumfrog
bum of the highest order
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: In a Shoebox, In A Hole In the Road
Posts: 13,069
Thanks: 122
Thanked 717 Times in 486 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bobo Justus View Post
..... and got the dreaded "NTLDR is missing" message.

I've not seen that since Windows98 ....


wow, an NT related error on a non nt system! Sorry, just being


You can't get a NTLDR missing error on windows 98, because it doesn't use it. Unless you are dual booting with a windows nt based os.
bumfrog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-08-2007, 09:34   #17
zantarous
Xbox Live tag: wargame
 
zantarous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London
Posts: 10,946
Thanks: 153
Thanked 305 Times in 221 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by snoopstah View Post
This might help...
Thanks but it looks like a ;pt of messing around for such a simple job. I notice that it says Partition Magic works, I have a copy that is about 3 years old, I guess I would need the latest version for Vista?
zantarous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-08-2007, 05:35   #18
Guest 58780
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,259
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by bumfrog View Post
wow, an NT related error on a non nt system! Sorry, just being
NT? What's that?
Guest 58780 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Vista install Guest 31733 Computing Forum 3 04-06-2007 07:58
HP deskjet wont install on my new vista pc?? Guest 21907 Computing Forum 2 09-05-2007 08:24
Pre-Install Vista Checklist Guest 24656 Computing Forum 5 26-02-2007 19:39
vista wont install Guest 31733 Computing Forum 5 17-02-2007 21:59
Big PC problem - unable to install anything or return to factory condition Guest 7163 Computing Forum 5 22-03-2005 16:58

All times are GMT. The time now is 08:06.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.qq
Copyright ©2000 - 2021 Network N Ltd.