Go Back   Forums @ The Digital Fix > Gadgets and Gizmos > Photography and Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-09-2006, 21:01   #1
Professor Abronsius
Fearless Vampire Killer
 
Professor Abronsius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Konigsberg
Posts: 13,046
Thanks: 183
Thanked 491 Times in 207 Posts
Blackpool Illuminations

Hi folks,

Took this Photo tonight...



My first real attempt at night time with lights.

Again, like before am still not too sure about what settings i should change to get this better.

Any tips/advice... ?

Thanks in advance.

Cheers.
Professor Abronsius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2006, 21:39   #2
Guest 45709
That Bloke
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Manchesterford, England.
Posts: 2,271
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Might help if you posted the shutter speed etc

It looks a bit blurry to me - did you have the camera tripod mounted? It's a must for these sort of shots, unless you're shooting at high ISO.
Guest 45709 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2006, 21:48   #3
Guest 43988
Had a Senior Moment
 
Guest 43988's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Cape Town South Africa
Posts: 522
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I agree with John C. Need to know your camera settings before we can comment.
Guest 43988 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2006, 21:59   #4
Guest 20268
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Leeds
Posts: 431
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
A tripod should help to get a crisper image. Either that or find something steady to plonk the camera down on, fire off a shot with the timer then don't touch the camera until the picture is taken.

What camera settings did you use?
Guest 20268 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2006, 22:18   #5
Professor Abronsius
Fearless Vampire Killer
 
Professor Abronsius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Konigsberg
Posts: 13,046
Thanks: 183
Thanked 491 Times in 207 Posts
Right, am sure it was on AV Setting and had scrolled the wheel right down as far as it would go... think it was on 5.6 and at iso 800.

Was thinking it should have been a Tripod shot.

I will try and find something to rest the Camera on tomorrow, or maybe buy ones of those small Tripods as i have left my full size one at home.

Cheers.

Last edited by Professor Abronsius; 08-09-2006 at 22:20.
Professor Abronsius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2006, 22:22   #6
Professor Abronsius
Fearless Vampire Killer
 
Professor Abronsius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Konigsberg
Posts: 13,046
Thanks: 183
Thanked 491 Times in 207 Posts
Oh and a big for the Wireless Internet in the Hotel here...
Professor Abronsius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2006, 22:27   #7
Ono
I LIEK JEON JI-HYUN!!!111
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: London(ish)
Posts: 25,500
Thanks: 642
Thanked 326 Times in 180 Posts
Bit blurred to be honest Prof.
Ono is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2006, 22:30   #8
Professor Abronsius
Fearless Vampire Killer
 
Professor Abronsius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Konigsberg
Posts: 13,046
Thanks: 183
Thanked 491 Times in 207 Posts
Yeah will definately get a small Tripod and go back and take the very same shot tomorrow.

What settings should i be using then... ?

Cheers.
Professor Abronsius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2006, 23:18   #9
Guest 49794
XBL: kerzo84
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Norn Iron
Posts: 4,124
Thanks: 2
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
If you are using a tripod then lowest ISO, F8ish and just whatever shutter speed that will be!
Guest 49794 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2006, 10:06   #10
simion_levi
Hail Xenu!
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Basingstoke
Posts: 2,639
Thanks: 10
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Why is it that so many people cut out the EXIF before posting now? I don't imagine it's intentional, perhaps you are all using one particular piece of processing software or an image host that strips it by default?

I use RSP-->CS2 and all my JPEGs display EXIF once posted, usually hosted by photobucket.

Noticed this over the last few months. Weekly comp I can understand (i.e. deliberate removal due to the 'so-and-so shoots with that camera' concerns some had) but my right clicks have recently come up empty on so many more photos in other threads
simion_levi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2006, 10:28   #11
Guest 882
▓▓▓▓▓▓
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,745
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Photoshop "save for the web" strips out exif data from mine when I convert to jpg...
Guest 882 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2006, 10:36   #12
simion_levi
Hail Xenu!
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Basingstoke
Posts: 2,639
Thanks: 10
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by skenaja
Photoshop "save for the web" strips out exif data from mine when I convert to jpg...

Ah, that may explain it. Never use that option myself, always resize and save to JPEG myself manually.
simion_levi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2006, 10:43   #13
Guest 45709
That Bloke
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Manchesterford, England.
Posts: 2,271
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Save for the web gives more control over final filesize - I use it quite a bit to eke every last bit of quality out of a jpeg for things with a size limit. Otherwise I use the "Save as..." slider and it's rather coarser adjustment.

One other thing is that some image hosts seem to strip the exif from photos.
Guest 45709 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2006, 12:29   #14
Guest 49515
Account on hold
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,080
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I was in blackpool last night. Sorry, just had to post that.
Guest 49515 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2006, 12:53   #15
Guest 49794
XBL: kerzo84
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Norn Iron
Posts: 4,124
Thanks: 2
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by John C
Save for the web gives more control over final filesize - I use it quite a bit to eke every last bit of quality out of a jpeg for things with a size limit. Otherwise I use the "Save as..." slider and it's rather coarser adjustment.

One other thing is that some image hosts seem to strip the exif from photos.

Ah I never knew that save for the web gives it higher detail as recently when I resize just using 800 along the longest edge, it really kills the quality, I must try this later!
Guest 49794 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2006, 23:48   #16
Professor Abronsius
Fearless Vampire Killer
 
Professor Abronsius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Konigsberg
Posts: 13,046
Thanks: 183
Thanked 491 Times in 207 Posts
Hi folks,

Got a small Tripod from Jessops (they are on sale at Half Price!) and went back to the Pier tonight to re-take the Photo.

Had to go further out onto the Pier to get something flat for the Tripod to sit on and the Boardwalk on the Pier was very bouncy when someone walked past, which was ALL THE TIME!!!

Gave up in the end, but here are some Photos i took during the Day...











Cheers.

Last edited by Professor Abronsius; 09-09-2006 at 23:51.
Professor Abronsius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2006, 07:39   #17
Boink!
2021 is the new 2020
 
Boink!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Part of Europe
Posts: 24,205
Thanks: 1,538
Thanked 4,196 Times in 1,386 Posts
Is that dust on your sensor?
Boink! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2006, 14:56   #18
Professor Abronsius
Fearless Vampire Killer
 
Professor Abronsius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Konigsberg
Posts: 13,046
Thanks: 183
Thanked 491 Times in 207 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boink!
Is that dust on your sensor?


How on earth do i clean that... ?
Professor Abronsius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2006, 16:40   #19
Guest 53
A girl who loves football
 
Guest 53's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Beacons on the doorstep.
Posts: 14,519
Thanks: 332
Thanked 142 Times in 80 Posts
Have a search for sensor clean. There's been loads of threads and various methods and techniques discussed! The downside of owning a DSLR (but hopefully changing withe the 400D and new Sony both having dust reduction built in) I'm afraid and the bane of my life. I went out yesterday and when I got back found that my sensor needs cleaning yet again - I did it before the wedding I shot bank holiday weekend and haven't used the camera since!
Guest 53 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 23:56.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.qq
Copyright ©2000 - 2021 Network N Ltd.