Go Back   Forums @ The Digital Fix > Gadgets and Gizmos > Computing Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 22-03-2004, 21:22   #1
Guest 34480
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Shropshire
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Avast antivirus

I'm running AVG at the moment but as its recently missed two virus which I found after running Trend's online scanner so I have been thinking of dumping AVG in favour of Avast.

So is anyone using Avast and if so what do you think of it?
Guest 34480 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-03-2004, 21:27   #2
Guest 27932
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Scotland
Posts: 341
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Can I ask what Trend's online scanner is? Is it free?
Guest 27932 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-03-2004, 21:29   #3
Guest 34480
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Shropshire
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
You can find it here Online scanner
Guest 34480 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-03-2004, 23:17   #4
Guest 14549
Ramirez you fat Haggis
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Bonnie Banks O' Loch Etive
Posts: 1,060
Thanks: 12
Thanked 7 Times in 2 Posts
i have Avast and its nice mate far better than AVG
Guest 14549 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-03-2004, 06:14   #5
Guest 16198
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: West Yorkshire
Posts: 41
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thumbs up

I ran AVG, and like you it missed some viruses even though it was up to date, and my machine got screwed. I searched the net to find programs which woud get rid of the viruses I had, and found that only Avast would do it. Even PC-cillin failed me.
Go for Avast, it's free and it's brilliant, unless someone knows better!!!!!
Guest 16198 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-03-2004, 07:16   #6
Guest 1311
It's who we are
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Forest of Dean, England
Posts: 641
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I'll give a to Avast. When I build PC's for friends I always use it. Fair play to them, you get a good FREE product and regular updates !
Guest 1311 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-03-2004, 08:35   #7
Guest 34480
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Shropshire
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thanks all, I will give it a go.
Guest 34480 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-03-2004, 08:55   #8
Guest 12595
Gamertag: Bleeders
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Essex
Posts: 1,093
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
It's not free though is it? I got asked for a registration code and looking on their website, it kicks in after 60-days or something?
Guest 12595 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-03-2004, 11:47   #9
Rip Curl
XBL - GalcoTaliv
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Liverpool, Eton St
Posts: 5,879
Thanks: 216
Thanked 70 Times in 39 Posts
Can anyone confirm if it is truly free? I am looking for some top notch ANti virus software, I am hoping to get it free
Rip Curl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-03-2004, 11:59   #10
Rip Curl
XBL - GalcoTaliv
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Liverpool, Eton St
Posts: 5,879
Thanks: 216
Thanked 70 Times in 39 Posts
Quote:
ALWIL Software, the producer of avast! has decided that since 1. June 2001 avast! will be free of charge for home users which do not use their computer for profit. The only thing you have to do is to register online. The whole process is very simple: you have to download the program from our web page avast! 4 Home Download - select the right language. Then you need to install it - you'll install the trial version which is fully functional for the period of sixty days. During this period, you can register yourself on avast! 4 Home Free Registration and you will receive your license key by E-mail in about 30 minutes. Insert this key into the avast! 4 Home and you will receive the non-restricted version of avast! 4 Home Edition including the access to the update service (incremental update of virus database) for one year. After this period you can reregister to obtain the new free license key.
Ah just read this on their website
Rip Curl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-03-2004, 12:16   #11
Guest 12595
Gamertag: Bleeders
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Essex
Posts: 1,093
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Great stuff, cheers
Guest 12595 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-03-2004, 13:02   #12
Guest 16591
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Northants
Posts: 176
Thanks: 5
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
After reading this thread I uninstalled AVG and installed Avast. It does seem far superior. It found two virus that AVG had missed. It easily deleted them as well including one that was in system restore which is something AVG seems to struggle with.
So far I am very impressed.
Guest 16591 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2004, 20:18   #13
Matt KB
Meow meow meow
 
Matt KB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 13,628
Thanks: 4
Thanked 34 Times in 9 Posts
I just got Avast. Gonna do a scan in a minute, but I go to Start Antivirus, it wants to do a memory check and keeps asking for Registration. I downloaded the Free Home edition yet I have a time limited demo licence. What's up with that?
Matt KB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2004, 20:26   #14
stunno
Trusted User
 
stunno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: By the Sea
Posts: 2,568
Thanks: 20
Thanked 14 Times in 10 Posts
You need to register the program and get a key off them. IIRC you need to press the Register button and fill tour details in. The key is valid for 14 months, then you need to register again for the next 14 months
stunno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2004, 20:35   #15
Matt KB
Meow meow meow
 
Matt KB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 13,628
Thanks: 4
Thanked 34 Times in 9 Posts
Oh right. That was a bit obvious lol thanks
Matt KB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2004, 20:47   #16
dvdric
WARRIC ON XBOX LIVE/PSN
 
dvdric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: RUTLAND
Posts: 1,100
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Ive heard people with sygate firewall have had problems with it is there a solution to the problem?
dvdric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2004, 20:58   #17
stunno
Trusted User
 
stunno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: By the Sea
Posts: 2,568
Thanks: 20
Thanked 14 Times in 10 Posts
Yes the solution is on here somewhere

EDIT this might be it! Although I use Sygate and have had no problems

Last edited by stunno; 01-05-2004 at 21:00.
stunno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2004, 21:14   #18
KeyserSoze
Trusted User
 
KeyserSoze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: London
Posts: 12,795
Thanks: 827
Thanked 464 Times in 249 Posts
does Avast slow your comp down at all ? i find AVG doesnt at all, but AVG is pants. Norton just stops my PC.
KeyserSoze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2004, 21:18   #19
Matt KB
Meow meow meow
 
Matt KB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 13,628
Thanks: 4
Thanked 34 Times in 9 Posts
Early to say at the mo.

Is it ok to delete the AvBatEx.bav file on my desktop that Avast has put there?
Matt KB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2004, 21:19   #20
stunno
Trusted User
 
stunno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: By the Sea
Posts: 2,568
Thanks: 20
Thanked 14 Times in 10 Posts
:searchme: I never got that one!
stunno is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 08:17.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.qq
Copyright ©2000 - 2021 Network N Ltd.