Go Back   Forums @ The Digital Fix > Gadgets and Gizmos > Computing Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-06-2017, 08:57   #1121
kanedaa
XBL: kanedaa
 
kanedaa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Hampshire, England
Posts: 13,008
Thanks: 56
Thanked 1,139 Times in 735 Posts
I'll just quote myself from a few months ago:

Quote:
Originally Posted by kanedaa View Post
Plusnet don't throttle anything, but they do have traffic prioritisation.

https://www.plus.net/help/legal/key-...rioritisation/

I've been with them for years and have never seen any slowdown. My line peaks at 9MB/s and I get that on usenet/p2p etc at all times.
And just to be clear, when I said "never seen any slowdown" I meant in relation to traffic management. I've had issues with my line that I've spoken about before, but those weren't due to any traffic management/prioritisation/shaping.
kanedaa is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanked once by:
Shingster (11-06-2017)
Old 09-06-2017, 08:45   #1122
avid fan
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: uk
Posts: 2,054
Thanks: 54
Thanked 25 Times in 18 Posts
I've had a bizarre past couple of months sorting out a switch to BT from Sky.

Was going to go for full package and placed an order so I could get all the quidco cashback and reward card...only for BT to cancel order in error (wrongly indicating no capacity in my area).

Placed another order, which was cancelled due to some screwup on the system due to the first order!

I had to wait a month, reinstall my Sky BB, and then place a new order with BT once everything from the first 2 screwups were addressed. Got BT all set up and running at 70mbps even though it's supposed to be just Infinity1!

The strange bit is that, despite cancellations, I've not also got an extra BT tv box and BB router delivered out of the blue and last week I've just had Ł90, then Ł130 quidco cachback paid up for the two cancelled orders! (still got Ł90 tracking for the order I actually got!)
avid fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanked 2 times by:
clockity (13-06-2017), Shingster (11-06-2017)
Old 11-06-2017, 02:43   #1123
Shingster
Trusted User
 
Shingster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 8,121
Thanks: 427
Thanked 256 Times in 165 Posts
Thanks guys, will look at the BT deals if I re-sign using cashback, but ideally I'd want to leave them IF I can get a similar service for cheaper.
Shingster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-09-2017, 17:15   #1124
DuncanSWardle
Trusted User
 
DuncanSWardle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 9,765
Thanks: 759
Thanked 149 Times in 107 Posts
I’m still with BT and infinity 2 and more than happy

With the odd / rare exception had no problems and certainly no more problems than with previous isps over the years.

However as the family grows and number of devices, specifically wireless, grows I’m wandering if the home hub is my best option still and even can it be replaced with a third party router ?

Where possible every device that can be physically wired to the hub is wired and just in process of replacing cables with cat 6 cables

Can the home hub be replaced ?
Is it easy to do ?
As far as I’m aware I have fibre to the door
DuncanSWardle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-09-2017, 17:28   #1125
rbullivant
Finger Lickin Good
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Preston, Lancashire, England
Posts: 20,054
Thanks: 256
Thanked 958 Times in 670 Posts
I just signed with Plusnet, seems fine so far been about 6 weeks. BT didn't seem interested in keeping me as a customer and I'll wait a year and sign with BT to get the whole thing for practically free
rbullivant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-09-2017, 19:22   #1126
scooobydont
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 283
Thanks: 73
Thanked 27 Times in 14 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by DuncanSWardle View Post
I’m still with BT and infinity 2 and more than happy

With the odd / rare exception had no problems and certainly no more problems than with previous isps over the years.

However as the family grows and number of devices, specifically wireless, grows I’m wandering if the home hub is my best option still and even can it be replaced with a third party router ?

Where possible every device that can be physically wired to the hub is wired and just in process of replacing cables with cat 6 cables

Can the home hub be replaced ?
Is it easy to do ?
As far as I’m aware I have fibre to the door
We use vigor 2760's, they act just the same as an adsl router but also do fibre. All you need is the username and password of the fftc (just like adsl), no config changes needed out of the box other than that.

I did look around a while ago and if I remember correctly all fibre from BT used the same username and password but this may have changed:

https://community.bt.com/t5/Connecte...d/td-p/1494395
scooobydont is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanked once by:
DuncanSWardle (13-09-2017)
Old 13-09-2017, 21:09   #1127
Dave h-j
Suitable for vegetarians
 
Dave h-j's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Strangely Northern
Posts: 3,895
Thanks: 29
Thanked 34 Times in 29 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by malcy View Post
You are probably aware Plusnet are part of BT. So I presume all the same kit.

Replying a bit late, but the Plusnet network and the BT network are separate, insofar as they are selling the standard BT wholesale products. So traffic goes a different way to BT until it leaves Plusnet and heads out to the Internet.

The plusnet router/modem is just a rebranded BT home hub though :-)
Dave h-j is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-09-2017, 23:34   #1128
Stevie G
Dazed and confused
 
Stevie G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: By the seaside
Posts: 11,771
Thanks: 672
Thanked 322 Times in 235 Posts
Hi guys, thought I'd all in this thread, is anyone able to open their bt master socket and take a couple of photos to upload to show the correct wiring please, as per my thread here?

Thanks!
__________________
PSN Gamertag: NoMrMoreNiceGuy
It's all about the scrobbling...
Stevie G is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2017, 10:00   #1129
lentini
now with added cymbals
 
lentini's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: in my special fanboy trousers
Posts: 15,530
Thanks: 78
Thanked 384 Times in 212 Posts
Got my free Infinity 1 'speed boost' to 80mb yesterday

Which is nice.
lentini is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2017, 10:23   #1130
ShakeyJake
Trusted User
 
ShakeyJake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Norwich
Posts: 20,889
Thanks: 394
Thanked 551 Times in 383 Posts
Does anyone what the next upgrade for for BT Broadband is? I'm looking at an area without cable and when I see a house and think "ooh that looks nice" then check the broadband and see something like 25mbit it's a bit of a kick in the teeth.
ShakeyJake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2017, 15:10   #1131
Anthony.S
XBL - AnthonyS UK
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Alton, Hants
Posts: 3,477
Thanks: 9
Thanked 179 Times in 171 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by lentini View Post
Got my free Infinity 1 'speed boost' to 80mb yesterday

Which is nice.
Ooh. Details please.
Anthony.S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2017, 15:11   #1132
lentini
now with added cymbals
 
lentini's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: in my special fanboy trousers
Posts: 15,530
Thanks: 78
Thanked 384 Times in 212 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anthony.S View Post
Ooh. Details please.
https://www.ispreview.co.uk/index.ph...st-76mbps.html
lentini is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2017, 17:01   #1133
Stevie G
Dazed and confused
 
Stevie G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: By the seaside
Posts: 11,771
Thanks: 672
Thanked 322 Times in 235 Posts
Hmm. So what about those already on Infinity 2? Will they able to increase our speeds or charge us the same as Infinity 1 customers?
__________________
PSN Gamertag: NoMrMoreNiceGuy
It's all about the scrobbling...
Stevie G is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanked once by:
Boink! (20-10-2017)
Old 04-10-2017, 17:11   #1134
lentini
now with added cymbals
 
lentini's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: in my special fanboy trousers
Posts: 15,530
Thanks: 78
Thanked 384 Times in 212 Posts
There's rumours of it rising to 100mb
lentini is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanked once by:
Anthony.S (04-10-2017)
Old 04-10-2017, 17:12   #1135
allan
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: England
Posts: 12,938
Thanks: 232
Thanked 227 Times in 178 Posts
How fast realistically will you get over copper though to the cabinet?
allan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2017, 17:26   #1136
Stevie G
Dazed and confused
 
Stevie G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: By the seaside
Posts: 11,771
Thanks: 672
Thanked 322 Times in 235 Posts
What's the most they're likely to be able to increase the upload speeds to? Can copper support symetrically similar up and down speeds? Presumably the reason most services are much higher down than up is because most people don't really need the same speed uploads? Or is there a technical limitation?
__________________
PSN Gamertag: NoMrMoreNiceGuy
It's all about the scrobbling...
Stevie G is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2017, 17:28   #1137
Anthony.S
XBL - AnthonyS UK
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Alton, Hants
Posts: 3,477
Thanks: 9
Thanked 179 Times in 171 Posts
Just checked and I already have been upgraded.
Anthony.S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2017, 17:39   #1138
larrymarr
Cant get there from here
 
larrymarr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Toomebridge, N.Ireland
Posts: 6,293
Thanks: 889
Thanked 993 Times in 574 Posts
Hmm, in the past few days I've went from a steady 50-52 meg to 44.

Fingers crossed it starts to go the other way soon
__________________
My Feedback
larrymarr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2017, 18:09   #1139
AdamBrunt
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: UK
Posts: 23,482
Thanks: 91
Thanked 174 Times in 110 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stevie G View Post
Hmm. So what about those already on Infinity 2? Will they able to increase our speeds or charge us the same as Infinity 1 customers?
Was thinking the same thing.
AdamBrunt is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanked once by:
Boink! (20-10-2017)
Old 04-10-2017, 18:16   #1140
allan
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: England
Posts: 12,938
Thanks: 232
Thanked 227 Times in 178 Posts
While a speed increase would be nice, I think I'd just rather pay less.
allan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BT Infinity - Installation steven07968 Computing Forum 31 27-04-2011 13:28
BT Infinity - opinions? thetope Computing Forum 1 05-09-2010 14:03
To Infinity (Ward) and Beyond! Harsin Video Games Forum 46 16-04-2010 10:51

All times are GMT. The time now is 04:57.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ©2000 - 2017 Poisonous Monkey Ltd. Part of The Digital Fix Network