Go Back   Forums @ The Digital Fix > Gadgets and Gizmos > Photography and Video

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-09-2017, 12:44   #1
DuncanSWardle
Trusted User
 
DuncanSWardle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 9,814
Thanks: 780
Thanked 152 Times in 109 Posts
Nikon D3100 no longer auto focusing

I have myself a Nikon D3100 which I hardly use. Probably every few months for parties and pictures of daughter at birthday and Christmas.

I do use a prime lease (I believe that’s correct term) as it’s only really used for close up face pictures

Anyway, come to use it today for her first day at nursery and found it no longer auto focuses. I tried it with the original lens that came with it but still same

Would this be a common problem ? Easy to fix ?
DuncanSWardle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2017, 07:38   #2
ArthurDent
Mostly Harmless
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 3,145
Thanks: 293
Thanked 456 Times in 171 Posts
You do have the mode dial set to auto don't you? It's not on "M" by any chance?
ArthurDent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2017, 09:06   #3
Arthur Fowler
Trusted User
 
Arthur Fowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Bedfordshire
Posts: 10,731
Thanks: 434
Thanked 217 Times in 155 Posts
Have you tried both focusing types (traditional and liveview)?
Arthur Fowler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2017, 09:17   #4
Harold1066
Trusted User
 
Harold1066's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: At Home
Posts: 1,946
Thanks: 271
Thanked 238 Times in 56 Posts
Sounds like it maybe the contact between camera and lens. Take the lens off and look in, at the top on body. You should see the contacts, are they clean, not bent.

As it's two different lens this probably is the most likely cause, other than mode dial or lens set to M.

You could also try a reset to default setting in the camera, this may cure the problem.
__________________
Picasa | Twitter

Last edited by Harold1066; 09-09-2017 at 09:19.
Harold1066 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2017, 10:47   #5
DuncanSWardle
Trusted User
 
DuncanSWardle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 9,814
Thanks: 780
Thanked 152 Times in 109 Posts
Certainly auto and yes in both view modes, will try the contacts and report back
DuncanSWardle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2017, 16:37   #6
ian turner
Trusted User
 
ian turner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: the pits
Posts: 12,331
Thanks: 15
Thanked 314 Times in 302 Posts
er it auto focuses if mode dial sets to m, only if you flip the switch on the lens to manual or possibly change the setting in menus (wouldn't know as have never set to purely manual focus just m,anual on the dial)
__________________
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
All important data is backed up. If you didn't back it up it wasn't important
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
ian turner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2017, 18:18   #7
Harold1066
Trusted User
 
Harold1066's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: At Home
Posts: 1,946
Thanks: 271
Thanked 238 Times in 56 Posts
One other thing is that it could have been set to back button focus (don't know if d3100 has this) but that would mean changes in the menu settings.
__________________
Picasa | Twitter
Harold1066 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2017, 18:35   #8
scoobyood
Tony Danza
 
scoobyood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Zagreb
Posts: 8,391
Thanks: 695
Thanked 853 Times in 447 Posts
Is the AF lock button stuck..?

This one...

https://cdn.photographylife.com/wp-c...-AE-L-AF-L.jpg

Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk
scoobyood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2017, 19:08   #9
DuncanSWardle
Trusted User
 
DuncanSWardle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 9,814
Thanks: 780
Thanked 152 Times in 109 Posts
I shall check it all Sunday once finished my night shifts and report back

Thanks for the advice so far
DuncanSWardle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2017, 20:49   #10
Arthur Fowler
Trusted User
 
Arthur Fowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Bedfordshire
Posts: 10,731
Thanks: 434
Thanked 217 Times in 155 Posts
If the lens supports M/A (autofocus with manual override, MF

priority), manual focus can also be selected by setting the camera

focus mode to MF (manual focus; 0 55). Focus can then be adjusted

manually, regardless of the mode selected with the lens.
Arthur Fowler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2017, 11:02   #11
DuncanSWardle
Trusted User
 
DuncanSWardle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 9,814
Thanks: 780
Thanked 152 Times in 109 Posts
Cheers guys

I removed the lens and ran a qtip over the contacts, putting the lens back on, it seems better, but does not seem as quick / smooth as I remember when focusing, but maybe thats just me

I know next to nothing about using DSLR, but the camera and lens combo was recommended as a way of being able take good pics of my little girl as she grew up, and that was certainly true

The lens is a Nikon AF-S NIKKOR 35mm 1:1.8G
Has the M/A and M switch

The AE-L AF-L button does not seem to do anything that I can tell
Im not even 100% certain what the best settings are in the menus
DuncanSWardle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2017, 18:19   #12
Arthur Fowler
Trusted User
 
Arthur Fowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Bedfordshire
Posts: 10,731
Thanks: 434
Thanked 217 Times in 155 Posts
Doesn't sound very healthy. The 35mm lens is a beauty and should focus very quickly. It should be set to M/A on the lens.

My apparently garbled post above your last one was a copy and paste from the manual stating how you can change within the menu settings to MF which would stop the autofocus working but if it is working at all as seems to be the case then that's not your problem).
Arthur Fowler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2017, 09:00   #13
DuncanSWardle
Trusted User
 
DuncanSWardle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 9,814
Thanks: 780
Thanked 152 Times in 109 Posts
Cheers. Both lens seem to be the same, so maybe it’s just me thinking it was “better” before

Would there be a list for the optimum menu settings in case I do have problem there.
DuncanSWardle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2017, 09:55   #14
Q
Yee Ol Forum Pirate Ahhhh
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: LONDON
Posts: 10,164
Thanks: 19
Thanked 428 Times in 379 Posts
Ive got the D3200 and its had very little use. Isnt the Zoon motors in the Lenses themself?
When I was looking at 300mm Zoom lens then the Manual Zoom(as in no Zoom Motors on the Lens) were 50% cheaper than the Auto-Focus versions.

The fact that both lens dont work for you may point towards the bit in the camera that uses the Zoom Motors?

Maybe try ringing Nikon UK and see if you can speak to someone in the Service Dept?
Q is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2017, 10:26   #15
DuncanSWardle
Trusted User
 
DuncanSWardle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 9,814
Thanks: 780
Thanked 152 Times in 109 Posts
Is the zoom / Auto focus the same thing ?
The fixed lens does not even have option to zoom
DuncanSWardle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2017, 20:21   #16
Harold1066
Trusted User
 
Harold1066's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: At Home
Posts: 1,946
Thanks: 271
Thanked 238 Times in 56 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by DuncanSWardle View Post
Is the zoom / Auto focus the same thing ?
The fixed lens does not even have option to zoom
No, the Auto focus motors are built into the lens.

Zoom lens ( i guess you have the 18-55mm kit lens) is manual zoom but auto focus.

On both lens when you half press the shutter button the lens should move to focus and a green light should appear bottom left in the viewfinder, if its blinking the camera can't focus.

Quote:
Would there be a list for the optimum menu settings in case I do have problem there.
In the menu you can have AF-assist on, which will help with focus in dim lighting.

As you don't use the camera much, I would imagine that most of your settings are the default.
__________________
Picasa | Twitter
Harold1066 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-09-2017, 13:52   #17
DuncanSWardle
Trusted User
 
DuncanSWardle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 9,814
Thanks: 780
Thanked 152 Times in 109 Posts
Cheers, just spotted the little green light, it certainly was not there previously when having issues, but now both the stock "zoom" lens and more importantly the 35mm "prime" lens has the green light and seems to be focused perfectly

Now to experiment with the settings
DuncanSWardle is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Nikon D3100 DuncanSWardle Photography and Video 15 17-05-2013 18:23
Nikon D3100 Digital SLR Ł265 after cashback. Philc Bargain Forum 0 01-11-2012 07:12
Panasonic Lumix DMC-GF3 - anyone got one/opinions? also Canon 1100D or Nikon D3100? pompeyfan Photography and Video 8 26-04-2012 08:27

All times are GMT. The time now is 10:26.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ©2000 - 2017 Poisonous Monkey Ltd. Part of The Digital Fix Network