Go Back   Forums @ The Digital Fix > Gadgets and Gizmos > Computing Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 26-05-2011, 11:42   #1
SteveC
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Rayleigh, Essex
Posts: 5,047
Thanks: 45
Thanked 76 Times in 50 Posts
Fastest homeplug/powerline adapters?

Hi all,

I'm after a pair of powerline/homeplug adapters but I feel the need for speed I see there are el cheapo 1000mbps ones around for like 50 quid a pair but feel they will let me down, the Belkin 1gbps ones review very badly. I see Netgear do 500mbps ones for a bit more money - they the best ones around?

Cheers,
Steve
SteveC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-05-2011, 11:48   #2
dysfunction
SA's are eminently wise
 
dysfunction's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Somewhere where I dont know where I am
Posts: 1,403
Thanks: 3
Thanked 23 Times in 23 Posts
If it were me I would go for a set of these:

I think Devolo are the best option really...
http://www.broadbandbuyer.co.uk/Shop...roductID=10750

Last edited by dysfunction; 26-05-2011 at 11:48.
dysfunction is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-05-2011, 12:53   #3
AdamBrunt
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: UK
Posts: 25,788
Thanks: 151
Thanked 306 Times in 213 Posts
Maybe I am missing something but isn't 500Mbps a bit OTT ?

Especially as eBay is full of 200Mbps for less than half the price of that pair of 500Mbps.
AdamBrunt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-05-2011, 13:12   #4
SteveC
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Rayleigh, Essex
Posts: 5,047
Thanks: 45
Thanked 76 Times in 50 Posts
I want gig speeds - i have run cat6 along the skirting boards and was about to buy gig switches to replace the 100mb I have now, but if the homeplugs were good enough I'd remove it all for them.
SteveC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-05-2011, 13:29   #5
nutski
XBL: Nutski282
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Norwich
Posts: 588
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
I got mailed about these the other day:
http://www.ebuyer.com/product/251719
nutski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-05-2011, 13:30   #6
SteveC
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Rayleigh, Essex
Posts: 5,047
Thanks: 45
Thanked 76 Times in 50 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by nutski View Post
I got mailed about these the other day:
http://www.ebuyer.com/product/251719
Yeah, the 'extra value' puts me right off
SteveC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-05-2011, 13:32   #7
nutski
XBL: Nutski282
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Norwich
Posts: 588
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
I'll give them a go one day, i setup a pair of 7dayshop value 200meg ones a few weeks ago for a friend and they were flawless
nutski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-05-2011, 15:09   #8
SteveC
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Rayleigh, Essex
Posts: 5,047
Thanks: 45
Thanked 76 Times in 50 Posts
Ended up getting a couple gig switches - 8 port tplink for just over £20 on amazon and a 4 port cisco/linksys with 300mbps wireless N for £32 on ebay
SteveC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-05-2011, 19:15   #9
emeyedeejay
Trusted User
 
emeyedeejay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: South Africa
Posts: 4,618
Thanks: 142
Thanked 40 Times in 32 Posts
Good choice - you would bot get gig speeds out of gig homeplugs... wired is
emeyedeejay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-08-2011, 12:50   #10
AndyHall
Former DVD Times reviewer
 
AndyHall's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Richmond, Surrey, UK
Posts: 239
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I'm looking to put something in like this to route network from the Virgin hub in the lounge to devices in the bedroom. I need to get the pass-through type as I can't afford to lose the sockets. I was going to go for the Devolo ones but I think I have a silly show-stopper on those: the pass-through ones are quite tall and as you have to plug it straight into the wall socket I don't think they are going to fit because they go downwards from the plug with the cable socket at the bottom and my power sockets are very low to the floor. I don't think it's possible to turn the plug around on them? The Netgear ones will work as they go upwards with the cable connector on the top, but does anyone have experience with their quality / reliability?

The final question is, at the remote end socket, can you plug in a switch to get multiple connections, or are you restricted to a single device?
AndyHall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-08-2011, 12:57   #11
Guest 243
XBL: Wolfgang Winkle
 
Guest 243's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: ... of the dead
Posts: 10,124
Thanks: 102
Thanked 91 Times in 73 Posts
I've got some Netgear XAVB5001 powerline units and I think they are excellent. They definitely fare better than my old Linksys 200MB ones did. One of mine has a built in 4 port switch (XAVB5004), but there's absolutely no reason why you couldn't stick a router / switch on the end of them - I have always used mine that way.

If you are interested in 200mbs stuff:

Solwise do a mini one which you might be interested in. They also do a 3 port model (not mini though). Finally, they do a 3 port Ethernet and 6 mains pwer block.

But if you wait a little:

Solwise are due some 4 port 500mbs units to accompany their other 500mbs units

Last edited by sideshowbob; 25-08-2011 at 13:05.
Guest 243 is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanked once by:
AndyHall (25-08-2011)
Old 25-08-2011, 13:32   #12
AndyHall
Former DVD Times reviewer
 
AndyHall's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Richmond, Surrey, UK
Posts: 239
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by sideshowbob View Post
I've got some Netgear XAVB5001 powerline units and I think they are excellent. They definitely fare better than my old Linksys 200MB ones did. One of mine has a built in 4 port switch (XAVB5004), but there's absolutely no reason why you couldn't stick a router / switch on the end of them - I have always used mine that way.

If you are interested in 200mbs stuff:

Solwise do a mini one which you might be interested in. They also do a 3 port model (not mini though). Finally, they do a 3 port Ethernet and 6 mains pwer block.

But if you wait a little:

Solwise are due some 4 port 500mbs units to accompany their other 500mbs units
Thanks for your help
AndyHall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-08-2011, 13:52   #13
Guest 243
XBL: Wolfgang Winkle
 
Guest 243's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: ... of the dead
Posts: 10,124
Thanks: 102
Thanked 91 Times in 73 Posts
You're welcome. Anyone whose dog wears a saucepan lid for a hat is fine by me.
Guest 243 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-08-2011, 23:47   #14
daz_75
Trusted User
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 4,938
Thanks: 72
Thanked 25 Times in 12 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by sideshowbob View Post
I've got some Netgear XAVB5001 powerline units and I think they are excellent. They definitely fare better than my old Linksys 200MB ones did. One of mine has a built in 4 port switch (XAVB5004), but there's absolutely no reason why you couldn't stick a router / switch on the end of them - I have always used mine that way.

If you are interested in 200mbs stuff:

Solwise do a mini one which you might be interested in. They also do a 3 port model (not mini though). Finally, they do a 3 port Ethernet and 6 mains pwer block.

But if you wait a little:

Solwise are due some 4 port 500mbs units to accompany their other 500mbs units
i've got the piggy, works a treat
daz_75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-08-2011, 09:05   #15
Guest 28605
MCDBA,MCSE,MCSA,MCITP:DBA
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: North East
Posts: 928
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
I'm running 3 comtrend 200Mbps homeplugs and they work surprisingly well - speed hits around 10MB/s which is probably about what I would expect from a wired 100Mbps network anyway. There can be a bit of variation in speed, but generally it's quite stable and fast enough for streaming HD video.

I would ideally like wired gigabit connections, but these are a good alternative. It would be interesting to see if the gigabit adapters give any better performance, but I suspect I would probably be wasting my money.

If you need yo connect more than 1 device, you can always use a switch. The comtrend adapters only have a single port, but I have my TV, HTPC and XBOX connected to it via a switch. My router, NAS & PC are connected to the other adapter. The 3rd adapter is used by a second HTPC in the bedroom.
Guest 28605 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-08-2011, 18:28   #16
AdamBrunt
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: UK
Posts: 25,788
Thanks: 151
Thanked 306 Times in 213 Posts
looks like I am looking for some new homeplugs as one of my comtrend ones appears to have bitten the dust (all three LEDs are flashing red) and the other one in the pair understandably claims it can't get a connection to it.

So after a cheap pair of 200Mbps ones - and since this was my 2nd lot of Comtrend ones, I might try another make this time round
AdamBrunt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-08-2011, 17:48   #17
powder
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 3,316
Thanks: 14
Thanked 16 Times in 14 Posts
Is anybody using 200mbps homeplugs getting anywhere near the theoretical maximum of 25megabytes a second actual data throughput?
powder is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Zyxel PowerLine HomePlug AV Adapters 200Mbps Twin Pack - £49.98 Guest 1752 Bargain Forum 8 21-11-2008 15:11
85mbps 'homeplug' powerline networking £91.89 del. for 2 Guest 24722 Bargain Forum 38 12-01-2006 13:28

All times are GMT. The time now is 01:40.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018 Poisonous Monkey Ltd. Part of The Digital Fix Network