Go Back   Forums @ The Digital Fix > Gadgets and Gizmos > Home Entertainment Hardware forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 22-01-2008, 17:34   #1
powder
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 3,316
Thanks: 14
Thanked 16 Times in 14 Posts
Recommend a Twin Tuner Freeview Recorder with Component?

I'm in the market for a new freeview recorder to replace one that just freezes and requires power cylcling too often.

Ideally 160Gb minimum, preferably 250Gb storage, twin tuners with the ability to record two programs at once and watch a third that's already on the drive, topup tv is not essential, but if at all possible component output. I know you can get component output on DVD players with freeview and hard drives but they tend not to have as good menus as the standalone freeview recorders.

Will be hooked up to a Yamaha RVX359 amp for sound and an Optoma HD70 projector onto an 81" motorised screen for something like 1500 hours viewing a year.

Cheers in advance
powder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-01-2008, 22:25   #2
cmgarrod
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,719
Thanks: 18
Thanked 11 Times in 9 Posts
Humax 9200 is the best out there, not sure if it does component.
cmgarrod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-01-2008, 01:19   #3
Guest 1752
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 5,399
Thanks: 26
Thanked 49 Times in 24 Posts
Don't think I've ever seen a Freeview tuner with component out, but certainly the Humax 9200 is the one you want or if you want to spend a little more for an 'enthusiasts' machine then perhaps the Topfield 5800.

The Humax is 160Gb [although very easily upgraded by simply slotting in a larger hard drive] but the Topfield comes in both 160Gb or 250Gb. Both have a 2 year warranty.
Guest 1752 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-01-2008, 09:53   #4
Guest 4232
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Kent
Posts: 162
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
You can get a 320GB Humax direct from Humax (don't think it is available from anywhere else):- http://www.humaxdigital.com/uk/products/pvr-9200tbx.asp

Still no component though.
Guest 4232 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-01-2008, 21:08   #5
njc
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 4,608
Thanks: 19
Thanked 128 Times in 80 Posts
BT Vision has component out, only for BT Broadband customers though
njc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-01-2008, 09:58   #6
HubbaHubba
PSN: modernlife
 
HubbaHubba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,010
Thanks: 8
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
I've got the Topfield 5800 connected via a scart to component cable. You can change what the scart socket outputs in the setup menu

Edit: This is the cable I used: http://www.clearly-av.co.uk/PGV372.html

Last edited by HubbaHubba; 24-01-2008 at 10:02.
HubbaHubba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-01-2008, 17:02   #7
powder
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 3,316
Thanks: 14
Thanked 16 Times in 14 Posts
HubbaHubba - what display have you got your hooked up to and do you notice any difference for better or worse from using the scart/component cable?

Ideally i want to plug it into the receiver, then have the projector always display the component input that comes from the receiver. It will just mean that there's less for the family to remember to do when they have to turn everything on.

Currently the projector has to be set to either component or VGA/Scart, then the sound/receiver has to be set whereas hopefully with the topfield that won't be needed.

Thanks for posting that btw.
powder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-01-2008, 17:16   #8
HubbaHubba
PSN: modernlife
 
HubbaHubba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,010
Thanks: 8
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
I've got mine plugged into an Onkyo 605 which is connected to a Sony 40" D3000.

I got my cable just after I bought the tv so can't really compare against how it would look with just scart -> scart. But the comments I read online on how much better it would be via component on an HD display convinced me to do it that way (and for the convenience of being able to switch audio/video through a click of the amp remote control). It certainly looks alright to me though, especially for SD on a larger HD display (better than I expected)

Last edited by HubbaHubba; 24-01-2008 at 17:16.
HubbaHubba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-01-2008, 22:55   #9
powder
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 3,316
Thanks: 14
Thanked 16 Times in 14 Posts
I think that's pretty much sold me on the Topfield, going to go and have a shop around. The receiver switching will free up the scart connector for something else and give easier input selection.
powder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-01-2008, 17:02   #10
Refrenz
Phantom Raspberry Blower
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Button Moon
Posts: 2,225
Thanks: 57
Thanked 11 Times in 2 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by HubbaHubba View Post
I've got the Topfield 5800 connected via a scart to component cable. You can change what the scart socket outputs in the setup menu

Edit: This is the cable I used: http://www.clearly-av.co.uk/PGV372.html
I've got the same cable on my Topfield connected directly to my 32" Sony Bravia D3000 and the picture is a bit clearer than through SCART, although slightly darker than SCART but that can be fixed by mucking about with the TV picture settings for the component input.
Refrenz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-01-2008, 09:09   #11
powder
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 3,316
Thanks: 14
Thanked 16 Times in 14 Posts
Shopping around it looks like i can get the Topfield for £229 from Comet, plus the cost of a SCART-Component cable. Got to find out now if i can use Comet vouchers online as i can pay £8.70 for £10 worth of vouchers using my Virgin Credit Card so it'll cost ~£200 if i can use those

Any ideas where i can find out about the reliability of different PVRs? This is the main reason for replacing the one we have now. Going for a better brand and having a longer warranty will help but currently we've gone from a single tuner 80Gb which worked for months without a reboot to a twin tuner 160Gb Daewoo which needs rebooting almost daily. Touch wood it seems to record ok when scheduled but the box is in a cupboard hidden away to go with the retractable screen/projector/no tv in the room appearance.
powder is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Barebones Twin Tuner Freeview DTR (PVR) £49.99 ArthurDent Bargain Forum 19 30-12-2007 20:14
Daewoo DSD9502T Twin Tuner Freeview tuner with 80GB HDD £89.99 richieuk Bargain Forum 11 19-12-2006 00:36
Bush IDPVR802B Digital TV Recorder with Freeview twin tuner and 80GB Hard Drive - £75 The Saint Bargain Forum 1 19-12-2006 00:30
can you get twin tuner dvd recorder with freeview? Guest 21806 Home Entertainment Hardware forum 5 13-11-2006 00:13

All times are GMT. The time now is 17:13.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018 Poisonous Monkey Ltd. Part of The Digital Fix Network