Go Back   Forums @ The Digital Fix > Gadgets and Gizmos > Computing Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-02-2007, 12:17   #1
Guest 22340
XBL GT: Green Bean 08
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Hertfordshire
Posts: 953
Thanks: 7
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Fresh install of Windows XP on a Time Laptop - Strange Probs!

Hi all,

Someone has dropped into me thier Time 7321 laptop for a fresh install of XP. I am having some strange problems trying to do it though.

It is getting through the format partition stage and getting to the 'Setup copies files' stage but it just keeps stopping at different files each time I try the reinstall.

At the moment it is stuck on copying 'kdcom.dll'. At other attempts it has stopped at different files (a google search doesnt suggest that these files are not anything specific).

I have tried several different cd's so its not scrtached disks. I have tried swapping the ram and I even tried swapping the CD drive.

When I tried swapping the cd drive it just came up in the bios as 'disabled'. This is when some more google hunting led me to some threads about Time machines having 'hidden partitions' which stop you using anything other than the original 'recover disk' for a fresh install and they also play havoc if you try to swap anything in the bios.

Anyone heard of this or can provide me with any ideas of how to do a fresh install on this thing!

Thanks

Last edited by MickeyFinn6999; 02-02-2007 at 12:19.
Guest 22340 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2007, 12:59   #2
Savagexii
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 1,442
Thanks: 1
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
I seem to get this problem at random also, but i can't really offer up any helpful tips I'm afraid, i just keep trying with different combinations of disc/drive/ram in an attempt to get past the file copying process.

It is most bizarre, although i find that it's normally a particular set of files that it stops at, i forget the files in particular, i always thought it was a corrupt section on the disc.
__________________
Gamer Tag: Kyutu

Last edited by Savagexii; 02-02-2007 at 13:01.
Savagexii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2007, 13:08   #3
Guest 22340
XBL GT: Green Bean 08
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Hertfordshire
Posts: 953
Thanks: 7
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Savagexii
I seem to get this problem at random also, but i can't really offer up any helpful tips I'm afraid, i just keep trying with different combinations of disc/drive/ram in an attempt to get past the file copying process.

It is most bizarre, although i find that it's normally a particular set of files that it stops at, i forget the files in particular, i always thought it was a corrupt section on the disc.
Yeah I know what you mean, I had it recently on a desktop machine - a swap of ram sorted it that time.

I just cant figure this one out though, im just going round and round.

Thanks for the inpuit tho
Guest 22340 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2007, 13:09   #4
Guest 22340
XBL GT: Green Bean 08
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Hertfordshire
Posts: 953
Thanks: 7
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
another strange thing is though, it seems to be picky about what it boots from.

I just tried to boot it using Bart PE and it says 'No bootbale CD'

Grrrrrr
Guest 22340 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2007, 13:36   #5
Savagexii
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 1,442
Thanks: 1
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
I've heard it's possible to install an OS to a Laptop over a network using a standard PC, i wonder if that would be of any use to you? I have no experience with Laptops really so again, not alot i can say about that.
__________________
Gamer Tag: Kyutu
Savagexii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2007, 13:49   #6
Guest 22340
XBL GT: Green Bean 08
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Hertfordshire
Posts: 953
Thanks: 7
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Well I did just think about installing it over the network here but theres no option in the bios to boot from the network
Guest 22340 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2007, 14:06   #7
ian turner
Trusted User
 
ian turner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: the pits
Posts: 12,346
Thanks: 15
Thanked 315 Times in 303 Posts
sounds suspiciously like its a custom bios that will only boot from time approved media in some odd ball way.
__________________
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
All important data is backed up. If you didn't back it up it wasn't important
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
ian turner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2007, 14:20   #8
Guest 22340
XBL GT: Green Bean 08
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Hertfordshire
Posts: 953
Thanks: 7
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by ian turner
sounds suspiciously like its a custom bios that will only boot from time approved media in some odd ball way.
Yeah thanks Ian, did Time have a habit of doing this? Will see what Google tells me
Guest 22340 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2007, 15:00   #9
ian turner
Trusted User
 
ian turner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: the pits
Posts: 12,346
Thanks: 15
Thanked 315 Times in 303 Posts
i'm only speculating on that and time and pc tends to find all sorts so difficult to prove
__________________
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
All important data is backed up. If you didn't back it up it wasn't important
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
ian turner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2007, 15:02   #10
Guest 22340
XBL GT: Green Bean 08
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Hertfordshire
Posts: 953
Thanks: 7
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
yeah till me about it!

Its really weird this because Im having trouble getting it to boot from a windows xp cd now. Its will start the setup one minute but not the next
Guest 22340 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2007, 15:11   #11
ian turner
Trusted User
 
ian turner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: the pits
Posts: 12,346
Thanks: 15
Thanked 315 Times in 303 Posts
tried something like ctrl f11 or ctrl f12 on booting up the pc as they are possible hidden partition boot keys for other pcs but can't find anything
__________________
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
All important data is backed up. If you didn't back it up it wasn't important
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
ian turner is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 09:11.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018 Poisonous Monkey Ltd. Part of The Digital Fix Network