Go Back   Forums @ The Digital Fix > Gadgets and Gizmos > Home Entertainment Hardware forum > Home Media Streaming Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-09-2020, 13:48   #1
Chris Locke
Making a 1% improvement
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Essex, UK
Posts: 7,344
Thanks: 566
Thanked 1,714 Times in 582 Posts
Now TV white boxes unsupported

Got an email saying the white Now TV boxes will be bricked from 6 Oct. Not just 'not supported', but turned off. Can't watch Now TV or 'any other apps' on them.
But thats OK, as you can send the units to them and they'll recycle them.
I know the units are quite cheap, but seems a bad way to operate. Glad smart TVs don't do that!
Wasn't much we watched on it, to be fair, and the box wasn't the fastest going ... think I mainly watched 'Last Week Tonight' on it... saves another couple of quid a month.

Last edited by Chris Locke; 02-09-2020 at 13:51.
Chris Locke is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2020, 14:30   #2
jockosjungle
Alone in the Atlantic
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Falkland Islands
Posts: 23,889
Thanks: 288
Thanked 1,271 Times in 897 Posts
Are they not offering a replacement or anything? How old is a white one? Have to admit I have chucked loads away and given them as they did stupid deals with vouchers in the boxes, but they were too tied to NowTV to make them useful. I use Rokus
jockosjungle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2020, 14:47   #3
Chris Locke
Making a 1% improvement
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Essex, UK
Posts: 7,344
Thanks: 566
Thanked 1,714 Times in 582 Posts
They did have other apps too (iPlayer, etc) but it was a bit slower to use than the smart TV. Only used it to access Now TV mainly.
No, no replacement or even a 'here's £5 off a replacement'. Simply 'we're turning it off'. I can understand no more updates, but to just turn it off seems a bit harsh.
Chris Locke is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2020, 14:01   #4
cliff homewood
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Southend
Posts: 5,443
Thanks: 2
Thanked 80 Times in 63 Posts
Indeed. I have a white box in my bedroom as tv backup if the frontroom is being used.
cliff homewood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2020, 14:56   #5
Lee Brown
The Kraken Awakes!
 
Lee Brown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Oxford
Posts: 1,946
Thanks: 39
Thanked 69 Times in 37 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by cliff homewood View Post
Indeed. I have a white box in my bedroom as tv backup if the frontroom is being used.
My mum has a white box upstairs as her TV is so old it doesn't have HDMI. Only the white boxes have composite/AV out.
Lee Brown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2020, 07:09   #6
GalaxyBlue
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 590
Thanks: 115
Thanked 134 Times in 78 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lee Brown View Post
My mum has a white box upstairs as her TV is so old it doesn't have HDMI. Only the white boxes have composite/AV out.
Apparently you can get them to give you a replacement Now TV USB stick if you use the white box as your main device to stream Now TV.

https://community.nowtv.com/t5/NOW-T...ox/td-p/539483
GalaxyBlue is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanked 2 times by:
Chris Locke (08-09-2020), statto (08-09-2020)
Old 08-09-2020, 14:10   #7
cliff homewood
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Southend
Posts: 5,443
Thanks: 2
Thanked 80 Times in 63 Posts
Shame mine is a secondary device then as have black box downstairs and I am assuming they can tell. HArdly ever use the upstairs one, but the point though is it is there if have a schedulnig conflict in main living room
cliff homewood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2020, 17:03   #8
GalaxyBlue
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 590
Thanks: 115
Thanked 134 Times in 78 Posts
I had a quick look on Ebay to see if there are any cheap Roku boxes to replace these.

I've come across the below for £19.99 which sounds like a great price to me :

https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Roku-Expr...p/174258692670
GalaxyBlue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2020, 17:29   #9
jockosjungle
Alone in the Atlantic
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Falkland Islands
Posts: 23,889
Thanks: 288
Thanked 1,271 Times in 897 Posts
Yeh I use Roku boxes, replace them when it takes my fancy, they have all the apps and are great.

Yeh they can no doubt tell, my account tells me what the box is and when it was last accessed.
jockosjungle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2020, 13:14   #10
cliff homewood
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Southend
Posts: 5,443
Thanks: 2
Thanked 80 Times in 63 Posts
Wondering if someone will come up with a hack to override and get into designer mode to get it working again to be used for other things. I messaged them yesterday and said its not very green of them, creating more detritus for landfill.
cliff homewood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2020, 18:20   #11
w_n_s
Scare Mongerer
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Currently in Belfast
Posts: 6,753
Thanks: 32
Thanked 227 Times in 146 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by cliff homewood View Post
Wondering if someone will come up with a hack to override and get into designer mode to get it working again to be used for other things. I messaged them yesterday and said its not very green of them, creating more detritus for landfill.
I remember someone on stack overflow was reverse engineering them years ago, but Roku ( who made the boxes for Sky ) had them solidly locked down to the hardware level so that they could not be made into Roku boxes via a firmware upgrade. I think someone managed to get one working, but it involved desoldering and re-soldering a chip from a Roku box - this was more an exercise in seeing if it worked, rather than being worth doing.

EDIT

it was actually xda developers, think this is the thread :

https://forum.xda-developers.com/sho...2384435&page=2
__________________
what you call it when you look at the sky in a poetic kind of way

Last edited by w_n_s; 09-09-2020 at 18:22.
w_n_s is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2020, 18:25   #12
jockosjungle
Alone in the Atlantic
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Falkland Islands
Posts: 23,889
Thanks: 288
Thanked 1,271 Times in 897 Posts
Yeh I gave loads away back in the day, basically they were a voucher and two aaa batteries and a hdmi cable
jockosjungle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2020, 13:47   #13
cliff homewood
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Southend
Posts: 5,443
Thanks: 2
Thanked 80 Times in 63 Posts
Yeah soldering is beyond my knowledgebase, don't mind pressing key combinations to get into designer mode. SHame they shoudl release a firmware update to unlock it again when bricking so they can be recycled and not add to the world landfill problem.
cliff homewood is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Philips Hue White A19 E27 60 W Equivalent Smart Bulb Starter Kit (2 Hue White Bulbs and a Bridge) £39.99 @ Amazon kanedaa Bargain Forum 0 07-07-2019 06:06
Nintendo DSi White Bundle (Includes Pokemon White) Reduced To £49.99 @ Zavvi Guest 86752 Bargain Forum 0 02-12-2014 22:26
ASUS Motherboard - Diagnosis for Unsupported CPU SpaceCoyote Computing Forum 6 19-12-2007 09:52
The Velvet Underground - White Light/White Heat 1996 Remaster LouBarlow Music Discussion 4 29-12-2004 18:17
White Enemy - 'Too Black, Too White (7")' (White Label) Philc Music Discussion 3 14-05-2004 00:57

All times are GMT. The time now is 10:13.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018 Poisonous Monkey Ltd. Part of The Digital Fix Network