Go Back   Forums @ The Digital Fix > Entertainment Discussion Forums > DVD and Blu-ray Discussion

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-09-2012, 08:12   #141
Withnail73
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: England
Posts: 98
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Psycho View Post
I didn't noticed any issues when watching my Elm Street set!

Psycho
Oh, man....can you please check when you get a sec - the worst part is when Nancy chases Tina's body bag around the corner and runs into the hall monitor....but the class scene before that is pretty bad. Thanks.
Withnail73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 08:26   #142
allan
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: England
Posts: 13,577
Thanks: 271
Thanked 285 Times in 225 Posts
Seemed fine to me as well.
allan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 08:27   #143
Psycho
Trusted User
 
Psycho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Croydon, London
Posts: 10,159
Thanks: 817
Thanked 159 Times in 95 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Withnail73 View Post
Oh, man....can you please check when you get a sec - the worst part is when Nancy chases Tina's body bag around the corner and runs into the hall monitor....but the class scene before that is pretty bad. Thanks.
Just did a quick check and it doesn't look out of out of synch to me... but the sun decided to come out as soon as I got to that scene and I can hardly see the picture on my plasma!

I'll wait for the sun to pass and then check again.

Psycho
__________________
Graphic Design Website: www.ph-design.co.uk
Twitter: @pHdesign2011
eBay Auctions: Nothing at the moment
Trader Feedback: Trader Feedback Thread
Psycho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 10:21   #144
Psycho
Trusted User
 
Psycho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Croydon, London
Posts: 10,159
Thanks: 817
Thanked 159 Times in 95 Posts
Checked it again and didn't noticed any issues. I watched the classroom scene, the body bag and hall monitor scene, and the prison cell scene.

Unless it was a very subtle lip-synch issue, then there wasn't anything I could see or hear when looking out for it.

Psycho
__________________
Graphic Design Website: www.ph-design.co.uk
Twitter: @pHdesign2011
eBay Auctions: Nothing at the moment
Trader Feedback: Trader Feedback Thread
Psycho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 10:34   #145
Withnail73
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: England
Posts: 98
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Psycho View Post
Checked it again and didn't noticed any issues. I watched the classroom scene, the body bag and hall monitor scene, and the prison cell scene.

Unless it was a very subtle lip-synch issue, then there wasn't anything I could see or hear when looking out for it.

Psycho
Thanks! What a bloody pain....from reading about it on other forums one fella had the problem on one set-up, switched to another and it was ok. wtf is that all about? I'd have thought that a pretty decent BD like mine shouldn't have any problems....can't see how the TV could be the problem either.
Withnail73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 10:40   #146
Psycho
Trusted User
 
Psycho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Croydon, London
Posts: 10,159
Thanks: 817
Thanked 159 Times in 95 Posts
What are your HDMI cables like?

I had issues playing Blu-Rays on my PS3 and watching them on my Panasonic plasma. It ended up being because my PS3 was set to 1080p but my TV was only 768p and my HDMI cable was only CAT1, which can't handle 1080p.

I reduced the PS3 output to 1080i and this resolved the problems with audio and visuals.

If I upgrade to a 1080p TV, I'll also have to upgrade my HDMI cables to CAT2 or else they can't handle 1080p picture.

Well, this is what I was told. I'm no expert!

Psycho
__________________
Graphic Design Website: www.ph-design.co.uk
Twitter: @pHdesign2011
eBay Auctions: Nothing at the moment
Trader Feedback: Trader Feedback Thread
Psycho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 11:01   #147
Withnail73
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: England
Posts: 98
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Only have one Sony HDMI that came with the player...couldn't tell ya whether it's CAT1 or 2...how can I tell?
Withnail73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 11:21   #148
Psycho
Trusted User
 
Psycho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Croydon, London
Posts: 10,159
Thanks: 817
Thanked 159 Times in 95 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Withnail73 View Post
Only have one Sony HDMI that came with the player...couldn't tell ya whether it's CAT1 or 2...how can I tell?
I think the cable should have some markings on it... CAT2, High Speed, or something like that. If it doesn't, then I think that means it is only CAT1.

If anyone else can help out, then that would be great. I'm not an expert and I'm trying to remember what I was told some time ago.

Psycho
__________________
Graphic Design Website: www.ph-design.co.uk
Twitter: @pHdesign2011
eBay Auctions: Nothing at the moment
Trader Feedback: Trader Feedback Thread
Psycho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 11:51   #149
Withnail73
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: England
Posts: 98
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Psycho View Post
I think the cable should have some markings on it... CAT2, High Speed, or something like that. If it doesn't, then I think that means it is only CAT1.

Psycho
Ta...will take a look tonight.
Withnail73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 12:18   #150
chris21
DVD Forums Veteran
 
chris21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Mulholland Drive
Posts: 6,412
Thanks: 4
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
If you have any of those tv settings on like motion enhancers (and others) then this can slow down processing time. But then again if this was the case I'd have thought you'd have seen it on other discs, and like you say, other people have noticed it too.
chris21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 12:20   #151
Withnail73
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: England
Posts: 98
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by chris21 View Post
If you have any of those tv settings on like motion enhancers (and others) then this can slow down processing time. But then again if this was the case I'd have thought you'd have seen it on other discs, and like you say, other people have noticed it too.
TV (amazingly for a 2012 TV) has no motion processing whatsoever.
Withnail73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 12:36   #152
chris21
DVD Forums Veteran
 
chris21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Mulholland Drive
Posts: 6,412
Thanks: 4
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
That's good then. Best set to "off" anyway.
chris21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 17:01   #153
nwgarratt
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 10,574
Thanks: 79
Thanked 85 Times in 58 Posts
I remember the same lip sync thing turning up when the US disc came out and as the UK disc is the same, some people also saw it with the UK disc.

However, after some looking around the net, it is believed to be ADR that some equipment have had problems with. I have both the boxset and the NOES single release and they play fine on all my Sony players.
nwgarratt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 18:33   #154
Withnail73
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: England
Posts: 98
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
The hdmi says 'highspeed'.

I'll try it on another tv- see if that's the prob. So frustrating!
Withnail73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 19:18   #155
Withnail73
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: England
Posts: 98
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by nwgarratt View Post
I remember the same lip sync thing turning up when the US disc came out and as the UK disc is the same, some people also saw it with the UK disc.

However, after some looking around the net, it is believed to be ADR that some equipment have had problems with. I have both the boxset and the NOES single release and they play fine on all my Sony players.
ADR causing the prob? Isnt the a/v synched on the disc and fixed? I just can't understand how it could work on some set-ups and not others....the fact that it plays on your Sony but not mine leads me to believe the tv is problem, but if so, what could that be? ****-poor processing of the hdmi input?
Withnail73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
a nightmare on elm street, Blu-ray Disc

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Nightmare On Elm Street KeyserSoze Television Discussion 7 09-07-2004 00:07
Nightmare on Elm Street Guest 28750 Film Discussion 6 30-03-2003 20:18
Where to buy A Nightmare On Elm Street Guest 19120 Suppliers and Shopping Forum 4 10-12-2002 14:28
Nightmare on Elm street box set Guest 9769 Film Discussion 19 08-10-2002 22:50
Nightmare On Elm Street - Help! CraigKORE Film Discussion 6 07-01-2002 00:01

All times are GMT. The time now is 04:27.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018 Poisonous Monkey Ltd. Part of The Digital Fix Network