Go Back   Forums @ The Digital Fix > Gadgets and Gizmos > Home Entertainment Hardware forum > Home Media Streaming Forum

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-06-2016, 16:15   #41
Guest
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Yeah you can boot off the SD but it still needs a specific build. It's not an officially supported device so you need to hope someone, somewhere does the work to get it going.
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2016, 09:57   #42
Stevie G
Dazed and confused
 
Stevie G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: By the seaside
Posts: 11,997
Thanks: 710
Thanked 350 Times in 254 Posts
I've just updated the first post with PS4 and XB One added. Let me know if I've got any wrong, and also if there are any other essential apps I should add to the list (and tell me which they're on!)
__________________
PSN Gamertag: NoMrMoreNiceGuy
It's all about the scrobbling...
Stevie G is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2016, 12:43   #43
orac
information is restricted
 
orac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Devon
Posts: 5,442
Thanks: 154
Thanked 50 Times in 40 Posts
You can easily put Plex on the white now tv box and the current black one.

Plex is on Xbox One

Should have Apple TV 3rd gen.

All4 yes via airplay
Amazon No
Amazon 4K No
Iplayer yes via airplay
ITV hub No
Kodi No
my5 No
Netflix Yes
Netflix 4K No
Plex yes via airplay
Sky go No
Sky news Yes
Spotify Yes via airplay
TV player No
Youtube yes
__________________
its that fine line between stupid and clever..

Films you must see
orac is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanked once by:
Stevie G (07-06-2016)
Old 07-06-2016, 14:28   #44
Stevie G
Dazed and confused
 
Stevie G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: By the seaside
Posts: 11,997
Thanks: 710
Thanked 350 Times in 254 Posts
Do people still buy that?!

I've added that as well, for those people still in 2012....!
__________________
PSN Gamertag: NoMrMoreNiceGuy
It's all about the scrobbling...
Stevie G is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2016, 15:17   #45
orac
information is restricted
 
orac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Devon
Posts: 5,442
Thanks: 154
Thanked 50 Times in 40 Posts
Prob do as its way cheaper than the latest one.
__________________
its that fine line between stupid and clever..

Films you must see
orac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2016, 16:05   #46
ColinP
Egomaniac / Snowflake
 
ColinP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Somewhere out there
Posts: 17,501
Thanks: 436
Thanked 1,275 Times in 641 Posts
Sky Go won't work on any Android platform via HDMI; it only supports devices with built in screens.
__________________
ColinP, Administrator
The Digital Fix | Tweals
ColinP is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanked once by:
Stevie G (10-06-2016)
Old 21-06-2016, 11:55   #47
ColinP
Egomaniac / Snowflake
 
ColinP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Somewhere out there
Posts: 17,501
Thanks: 436
Thanked 1,275 Times in 641 Posts
Worth including the Xbox 360 and PS3? The former in particular I find really handy as it does offer Sky Go support and means I'm still getting use out of it.
__________________
ColinP, Administrator
The Digital Fix | Tweals
ColinP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-06-2016, 11:58   #48
Stevie G
Dazed and confused
 
Stevie G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: By the seaside
Posts: 11,997
Thanks: 710
Thanked 350 Times in 254 Posts
I can do, are you able to confirm which are available on those platforms though?
__________________
PSN Gamertag: NoMrMoreNiceGuy
It's all about the scrobbling...
Stevie G is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-06-2016, 13:24   #49
ColinP
Egomaniac / Snowflake
 
ColinP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Somewhere out there
Posts: 17,501
Thanks: 436
Thanked 1,275 Times in 641 Posts
Sure - this is just XB360 - not sure entirely about PS3 but I think it does most of these too - obviously no 4K options.

All4
Amazon
IPlayer
My5
Netflix
NowTV
Plex
Sky Go
Sky News
Spotify
YouTube

ITV Hub isn't there BUT ITV content IS available to watch live on Sky Go.
__________________
ColinP, Administrator
The Digital Fix | Tweals
ColinP is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanked once by:
Stevie G (21-06-2016)
Old 21-06-2016, 13:45   #50
Stevie G
Dazed and confused
 
Stevie G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: By the seaside
Posts: 11,997
Thanks: 710
Thanked 350 Times in 254 Posts
Thanks, I've added the 360, if anyone can do the PS3 app compatibility list I can add that too.
__________________
PSN Gamertag: NoMrMoreNiceGuy
It's all about the scrobbling...
Stevie G is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-06-2016, 10:09   #51
ColinP
Egomaniac / Snowflake
 
ColinP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Somewhere out there
Posts: 17,501
Thanks: 436
Thanked 1,275 Times in 641 Posts
New NowTV box AND contract-free broadband/TV/calls - http://television.thedigitalfix.com/...medium=twitter
__________________
ColinP, Administrator
The Digital Fix | Tweals
ColinP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-06-2016, 10:35   #52
Stevie G
Dazed and confused
 
Stevie G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: By the seaside
Posts: 11,997
Thanks: 710
Thanked 350 Times in 254 Posts
It'll be interesting to see how that new Roku 4 box performs. I read a couple of reviews saying it was noisy because of the fan it has to keep it cool. That could kill a good media player dead if it's too noisy.
__________________
PSN Gamertag: NoMrMoreNiceGuy
It's all about the scrobbling...
Stevie G is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-06-2016, 10:50   #53
Guest
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
That looks pretty cool. Does it need an aerial for Freeview or does it stream it all?
  Reply With Quote
Old 29-06-2016, 11:53   #54
Stevie G
Dazed and confused
 
Stevie G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: By the seaside
Posts: 11,997
Thanks: 710
Thanked 350 Times in 254 Posts
Looking on the Now TV website it'll still need an aerial for freeview;

Quote:
Digital TV aerial required to watch free to air channels live.
Shame, it'd be great to have an IP only box that does it all without having to use varying apps to access them
__________________
PSN Gamertag: NoMrMoreNiceGuy
It's all about the scrobbling...
Stevie G is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-06-2016, 12:22   #55
Guest
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Ahh that's a shame. My aerial can be a bit rubbish with HD channels and I get a lot of blocking and glitches. Something that could stream HD regular TV would be great for me (or I could just get my aerial fixed! ).
  Reply With Quote
Old 29-06-2016, 12:33   #56
Stevie G
Dazed and confused
 
Stevie G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: By the seaside
Posts: 11,997
Thanks: 710
Thanked 350 Times in 254 Posts
Yeah, same here, I have no aerial for our small telly in the dining room so I have to use the BBC iPlayer on it for BBC and an Amazon stick for ITV and other TV channels. It's fine but not ideal
__________________
PSN Gamertag: NoMrMoreNiceGuy
It's all about the scrobbling...
Stevie G is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-06-2016, 13:12   #57
ColinP
Egomaniac / Snowflake
 
ColinP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Somewhere out there
Posts: 17,501
Thanks: 436
Thanked 1,275 Times in 641 Posts
I'm disappointed they didn't go for freesat support given many customers are old Sky customers and have dishes set up.
__________________
ColinP, Administrator
The Digital Fix | Tweals
ColinP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-06-2016, 13:39   #58
Guest
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
I hadn't considered that, yeah that's a good idea. It would be nice if you could plug a HDD in and record stuff on it, not sure if they've said you can do that or not.
  Reply With Quote
Old 29-06-2016, 13:55   #59
ColinP
Egomaniac / Snowflake
 
ColinP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Somewhere out there
Posts: 17,501
Thanks: 436
Thanked 1,275 Times in 641 Posts
You can pause and rewind - so that suggests some storage support but not if that'll extend to full recording support.

I am trying to get more detail.
__________________
ColinP, Administrator
The Digital Fix | Tweals
ColinP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2016, 19:21   #60
Stevie G
Dazed and confused
 
Stevie G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: By the seaside
Posts: 11,997
Thanks: 710
Thanked 350 Times in 254 Posts
It seems that the ITV Hub for iOS now supports Chromecast.... finally!

Can anyone confirm whether or not ITV Hub for Android mobile also now has casting to Chromecast please, I'll update the list in the first thread when I get the chance, thanks.
__________________
PSN Gamertag: NoMrMoreNiceGuy
It's all about the scrobbling...
Stevie G is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
JUSTOP mini PC - 32GB - perfect media streamer, works with Steam streaming and Xbox One Streaming - Ł89.99 @ Amazon ColinP Bargain Forum 2 28-08-2015 07:18
The streaming thread - all about streaming to 360 and PS3 Guest 48579 Video Games Forum 3 03-06-2007 09:54
best price comparison? Guest 59813 Photography and Video 2 06-04-2007 11:19
NME in Random made up list shocker! The Cool List 2006 Mr Majestik Music Discussion 27 23-11-2006 09:59

All times are GMT. The time now is 09:22.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018 Poisonous Monkey Ltd. Part of The Digital Fix Network