Go Back   Forums @ The Digital Fix > Gadgets and Gizmos > Home Entertainment Hardware forum > Home Media Streaming Forum

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-03-2016, 18:12   #441
KeyserSoze
Trusted User
 
KeyserSoze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: London
Posts: 12,693
Thanks: 735
Thanked 444 Times in 232 Posts
Amazon Fire TV

Quote:
Originally Posted by Robby View Post
Thanks guys. It might be a similar to the Apple TV and you have to change the region to US although according to Hulu it seems it's only available on the main Amazon TV unit.

If you can find the apk file out there it will probably still work on the stick. If the app is exclusive to 4K box then make sure the stick has been updated to OS 5 and it should be compatible.

That's how I got the All 4 app (finally!!) as its not officially available for the first gen devices yet.

Last edited by KeyserSoze; 03-03-2016 at 18:14.
KeyserSoze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2016, 18:30   #442
Scottola
Plok!tastic
 
Scottola's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Undr a rug
Posts: 2,753
Thanks: 32
Thanked 14 Times in 9 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by kanedaa View Post
You can set it so you never see Firestarter, but still get the benefits of using a double-tap of the Home button to launch something. That's what I've done. The box boots to the normal Amazon menu, and pressing the Home button does exactly what you'd expect. Double-tap the Home button launches Kodi.
Ah, I didn't realise that, I like the sound of that feature.
__________________
Fondant fancy
Scottola is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2016, 22:01   #443
zantarous
Xbox Live tag: wargame
 
zantarous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London
Posts: 10,069
Thanks: 103
Thanked 132 Times in 112 Posts
All4 is now available for original Fire TV and stick
zantarous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2016, 05:10   #444
KeyserSoze
Trusted User
 
KeyserSoze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: London
Posts: 12,693
Thanks: 735
Thanked 444 Times in 232 Posts
Finally! I had to sideload it with the 4K version.
KeyserSoze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2016, 07:29   #445
jockosjungle
formerly rbullivant
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Warrington
Posts: 21,874
Thanks: 278
Thanked 1,078 Times in 769 Posts
Good news! My remote gave up the ghost from a day one purchase box, so they're sending me another complete unit free of charge!
jockosjungle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2016, 07:56   #446
rustybin
Xbox/PSN Tag: Rustybin69
 
rustybin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Manchester
Posts: 24,073
Thanks: 1,211
Thanked 916 Times in 487 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by rbullivant View Post
Good news! My remote gave up the ghost from a day one purchase box, so they're sending me another complete unit free of charge!
My Fire Stick (1 year old next week) is playing up - I've emailed them
rustybin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2016, 08:14   #447
jockosjungle
formerly rbullivant
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Warrington
Posts: 21,874
Thanks: 278
Thanked 1,078 Times in 769 Posts
I did this on live chat, you might still be in warranty, I was well out of it.

They only want the box itself back, which seems fine, maybe it'll be more updated though
jockosjungle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2016, 13:00   #448
HenryKrinkle
Clean, like my conscience
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Downtown
Posts: 4,107
Thanks: 1
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Am I right in thinking I can install Firestarter, Kodi etc via the USB on the back of the FireTV (...original model)? Also, I have an older version of Kodi on with loads of addons, a lot of which no longer work. I want to slim the FireTV down as much as possible so what's the best way to get rid of the unwanted zip file, repositories & addons... ...should I do a factory reset to the AFTV or should I just uninstall Kodi?
__________________
"Suck on this!"
HenryKrinkle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2016, 13:08   #449
Stevie G
Dazed and confused
 
Stevie G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: By the seaside
Posts: 11,933
Thanks: 701
Thanked 335 Times in 244 Posts
Just uninstall Kodi. All the addons, etc will be within the installation. Whenever I've had issues with Kodi (including accidentally installing a modified version with all repos and addons included) I just uninstalled it, reinstalled and it was a fresh new installation again.
__________________
PSN Gamertag: NoMrMoreNiceGuy
It's all about the scrobbling...
Stevie G is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2016, 13:57   #450
HenryKrinkle
Clean, like my conscience
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Downtown
Posts: 4,107
Thanks: 1
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stevie G View Post
Just uninstall Kodi. All the addons, etc will be within the installation. Whenever I've had issues with Kodi (including accidentally installing a modified version with all repos and addons included) I just uninstalled it, reinstalled and it was a fresh new installation again.
...ah thanks
__________________
"Suck on this!"
HenryKrinkle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2016, 13:32   #451
KeyserSoze
Trusted User
 
KeyserSoze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: London
Posts: 12,693
Thanks: 735
Thanked 444 Times in 232 Posts
Well the latest update has killed FireStarter. Basically uninstalled the app!

This really sucks and hope it doesn't pave the way for app blacklisting.

Hope the dev manages to get it working again.
KeyserSoze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2016, 14:48   #452
kanedaa
XBL: kanedaa
 
kanedaa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: UK
Posts: 14,278
Thanks: 66
Thanked 1,426 Times in 947 Posts
That does suck. Blocked software updates on mine for now.
kanedaa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2016, 17:14   #453
redvers
Member? FNARR!
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Corby
Posts: 2,623
Thanks: 83
Thanked 146 Times in 101 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by kanedaa View Post
That does suck. Blocked software updates on mine for now.


How does one do that? I need to tell my dad so that his firestick doesn't get broken again!
redvers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2016, 18:47   #454
kanedaa
XBL: kanedaa
 
kanedaa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: UK
Posts: 14,278
Thanks: 66
Thanked 1,426 Times in 947 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by redvers View Post
How does one do that? I need to tell my dad so that his firestick doesn't get broken again!
I used method 2 on this list:

http://www.aftvnews.com/how-to-block...k/#withoutroot

Method 2 was a little harder than described on that site as Firestarter uses ADB and therefore blocks you so you have to disable Firestarter first and then re-enable.

Method 3 is easiest I'd say but my router (ISP supplied) can't cope with address filtering enabled.

Edit: Just read on the same site that Methods 3 & 4 may no longer work. At the very least the address you need to block has changed.

http://www.aftvnews.com/warning-bloc...o-longer-work/

Last edited by kanedaa; 04-04-2016 at 18:54.
kanedaa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2016, 19:53   #455
redvers
Member? FNARR!
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Corby
Posts: 2,623
Thanks: 83
Thanked 146 Times in 101 Posts
I was hoping it would just be an option on the device; he isn't going to be able to set up any of those himself, and I'm not able to perform them remotely!
redvers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2016, 09:42   #456
AFC
Trusted User
 
AFC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 818
Thanks: 72
Thanked 30 Times in 24 Posts
Will the Amazon fire stick automatically update on start up? If so how do I get to do one e of the above methods before the update.

Sent from my SHIELD Tablet K1 using Tapatalk
AFC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2016, 11:22   #457
jockosjungle
formerly rbullivant
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Warrington
Posts: 21,874
Thanks: 278
Thanked 1,078 Times in 769 Posts
Turn off your wifi?
jockosjungle is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanked once by:
AFC (06-04-2016)
Old 06-04-2016, 11:29   #458
Lee Brown
The Kraken Awakes!
 
Lee Brown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Oxford
Posts: 1,870
Thanks: 38
Thanked 52 Times in 29 Posts
My FireTV updated overnight, and firestarter has been disabled.

I tried blocking updates yesterday but couldn't get ADB to connect. Turns out firestarter itself blocks ADB connects when it is installed.

Anyway, it appears that Amazon have blocked firestarter by application name. Someone on XDADevelopers has recomplied the code with a new name 'FireStopper', and it apparently works.
Lee Brown is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanked once by:
redvers (08-04-2016)
Old 08-04-2016, 10:12   #459
fothy123
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,055
Thanks: 77
Thanked 52 Times in 33 Posts
Can confirm that firestopper works fine. Make sure you update adbfire if you use that to transfer it over as an older version kept failing when doing the transfer for me.
fothy123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanked once by:
redvers (08-04-2016)
Old 08-04-2016, 22:33   #460
LordoftheDance
PSN: Stigdu
 
LordoftheDance's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Sutton, UK
Posts: 14,268
Thanks: 1,276
Thanked 665 Times in 350 Posts
My AFTV box (Gen 1) often runs incredibly slowly since the recent firmware update. I have to reboot it to get it running at normal speed again. Just really, really slow to navigate the menu. Anyone else getting this? I have about 850MB space left.

I was running Firestarter on it, if that makes any difference.
LordoftheDance is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ł25 off all Kindle Fire tablets at Amazon KeyserSoze Bargain Forum 0 17-01-2014 18:30

All times are GMT. The time now is 05:40.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018 Poisonous Monkey Ltd. Part of The Digital Fix Network