Go Back   Forums @ The Digital Fix > Gadgets and Gizmos > Home Entertainment Hardware forum > Home Media Streaming Forum

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 17-06-2013, 09:53   #1
Guest 1303
Guest
 
Location: Rayleigh, Essex
Posts: n/a
Want to watch TV online easily

Hi all,

I want a TV in the bedroom but have no aerial. I do have an Internet connection though. I though a raspberry pi with XBMC and TVCatchup would do it, but it's so slow and clunky it's horrible. What kind of devices exist out there which will give me Freeview equivalent over the Internet?

Cheers,
Steve
  Reply With Quote
Old 17-06-2013, 09:55   #2
bumfrog
bum of the highest order
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: In a Shoebox, In A Hole In the Road
Posts: 12,338
Thanks: 58
Thanked 625 Times in 412 Posts
you could try filmon.tv
bumfrog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-06-2013, 09:56   #3
Guest 1303
Guest
 
Location: Rayleigh, Essex
Posts: n/a
But what device would I use to play that with?
  Reply With Quote
Old 17-06-2013, 10:01   #4
bumfrog
bum of the highest order
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: In a Shoebox, In A Hole In the Road
Posts: 12,338
Thanks: 58
Thanked 625 Times in 412 Posts
try it with the pi, see if it works any better than tvcatchup. It's just a website with a flash player in it.

If not, you can either use an android/ios device with a tv out, or stump up and buy a bit more of a beefier unit than a pi that will handle flash decently.
bumfrog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-06-2013, 10:03   #5
Guest 1303
Guest
 
Location: Rayleigh, Essex
Posts: n/a
Yeah I don't mind buying something. The Roku range look good, but don't do normal TV it seems?
  Reply With Quote
Old 17-06-2013, 11:40   #6
Guest 1303
Guest
 
Location: Rayleigh, Essex
Posts: n/a
Or do any freeview/youview/etc boxes work on broadband only?

How well does XBMC run on Apple TVs? I'd like to stay with XBMC as I use that elsewhere at home.

edit - they are well expensive so maybe not!

Last edited by SteveC; 17-06-2013 at 12:01.
  Reply With Quote
Old 17-06-2013, 14:56   #7
Guest 1303
Guest
 
Location: Rayleigh, Essex
Posts: n/a
Ended up ordering a dodgy Android device - this http://www.ebuyer.com/501755-sumvisi...one-android-x2 which is actually http://www.futeko.com/products/MP00043.php which is actually made by http://www.geniatech.com/news.asp

Supposedly runs XBMC well and there's a linux build available now too.
  Reply With Quote
Old 24-11-2014, 13:06   #8
stephen
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 4,929
Thanks: 43
Thanked 205 Times in 153 Posts
It seems odd that you have to messa round like this. In this day and age you'd think that all tvs would have the facility to view all freeview channels via an internet connection.
stephen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-11-2014, 13:32   #9
bumfrog
bum of the highest order
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: In a Shoebox, In A Hole In the Road
Posts: 12,338
Thanks: 58
Thanked 625 Times in 412 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by stephen View Post
It seems odd that you have to messa round like this. In this day and age you'd think that all tvs would have the facility to view all freeview channels via an internet connection.
given Netflix are having issues with ISP's and in general most of the ISP's want to take the profits without spending in on sorting out their infrastructure, we're a long way off, plus there's the whole net neutrality thing which needs sorting as well.
bumfrog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-11-2014, 13:40   #10
Q
Yee Ol Forum Pirate Ahhhh
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: LONDON
Posts: 10,185
Thanks: 19
Thanked 429 Times in 380 Posts
Have a look at a Tivizen Iplug(You can get them on Amazon for Ł50).Aerial plugs into it and it transmits Aerisl signal wirelessly to a laptop,Phone or Tablet.Install App or Windows software and can watch Freeview anywhere in range of WiFi connection.It will even record as well.I use one when visiting my mum or travelling.
Q is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-11-2014, 09:00   #11
tizza
cranial deficient
 
tizza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 16,801
Thanks: 570
Thanked 437 Times in 331 Posts
You can get a cheap indoor aerial for a fiver. Weve been using one since our blew down. Works fine.

Depends on what signal strength you have in your area I suppose.
tizza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-11-2014, 11:25   #12
dunkle
Trusted User
 
dunkle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 9,982
Thanks: 817
Thanked 195 Times in 118 Posts
I'd suggest spending a half hour getting your pi tweaked and running better
Mine runs Xbmc fine, ok it's slower than my nuc, obviously, but clocked and running from a usb stick it's far from slow and clunky
dunkle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-11-2014, 11:31   #13
Mr Flibble
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Kelso
Posts: 5,809
Thanks: 78
Thanked 37 Times in 22 Posts
I guess it depends what you want to watch and when - would a Google Chromecast be any use? Plug that into the TV via USB and access things such as Netflix, Iplayer etc. etc. Would that be an easy solution?
Mr Flibble is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2015, 17:11   #14
stephen
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 4,929
Thanks: 43
Thanked 205 Times in 153 Posts
I've heard that you can use an Amazon fire TV stick and install the tvplayer app on it. I've never tried it but I'll give it a go when my stick comes.
stephen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2015, 18:35   #15
maddogsuk
Moderator
 
maddogsuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Cambridge
Posts: 8,244
Thanks: 114
Thanked 84 Times in 50 Posts
The Tvplayer app works fine on my FireTv
__________________
Forum Moderator
The Digital Fix Shopping
maddogsuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2015, 21:06   #16
zantarous
Xbox Live tag: wargame
 
zantarous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London
Posts: 10,069
Thanks: 103
Thanked 132 Times in 112 Posts
It is a pretty good app seems to have a lot more then just the Freeview channels and the performance of the apps is pretty good.

I am still surprised there is no actual Freeview app to get all the channels from a legitimate source with a decent bit rate. I tend to find these apps work for a while then start having issues.
zantarous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-04-2015, 13:53   #17
stephen
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 4,929
Thanks: 43
Thanked 205 Times in 153 Posts
It does seem rather strange. The bandwidth required for millions of people each watching different parts of different programs on netflix, iPlayer etc must dwarf the amount required for multicasting the freeview channels.
stephen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-04-2015, 22:08   #18
stephen
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 4,929
Thanks: 43
Thanked 205 Times in 153 Posts
I've just tried the tvplayer app on a fire tv stick and it works fine. It's very responsive, the quality is not that great but it would be quite acceptable on a smaller tv.
stephen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-04-2015, 07:17   #19
bumfrog
bum of the highest order
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: In a Shoebox, In A Hole In the Road
Posts: 12,338
Thanks: 58
Thanked 625 Times in 412 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by stephen View Post
It does seem rather strange. The bandwidth required for millions of people each watching different parts of different programs on netflix, iPlayer etc must dwarf the amount required for multicasting the freeview channels.

it's not about bandwdith though, it's about licensing and more importantly tv licensing, especially the BBC. If you open that all up, there's not much point in the TV license any more.
bumfrog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-04-2015, 10:53   #20
stephen
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 4,929
Thanks: 43
Thanked 205 Times in 153 Posts
tvplayer and tvcatchup both manage to get around that and stream freeview, so you'd think freeview themselves would be able to do it. Why is a stream any different to terrestrial/satellite broadcasting a channel?
stephen is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Where can I easily put my wedding photos online? Image Hosting? Adge Computing Forum 5 11-10-2004 22:45

All times are GMT. The time now is 05:47.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018 Poisonous Monkey Ltd. Part of The Digital Fix Network