Go Back   Forums @ The Digital Fix > Gadgets and Gizmos > Home Entertainment Hardware forum > Home Media Streaming Forum

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 14-12-2012, 20:46   #21
Mr Flibble
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Kelso
Posts: 5,809
Thanks: 78
Thanked 37 Times in 22 Posts
Yeah, you're right robby, it's drm protected, what a faff! Oddly though, ps3 media server can kind of play them back, but jittery. Plex via our smart tv saysthefile is invalid. That leaves me having to find less than legal means of getting it ontomytv,or buying an Apple TV, which isn't happening!
Mr Flibble is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2013, 14:43   #22
orac
information is restricted
 
orac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Devon
Posts: 5,442
Thanks: 154
Thanked 50 Times in 40 Posts
DRM is annoying on itunes - they removed it from music, so why not not video? Apple TV is all well and good - but then you would have to convert all video files so it could play them - plex plays far more formats... got it set up on my imac and well impressed... great on ipad and better on ps3 than ps3 media server - but an ipad/iphone as controller... with a mac mini under my TV would be lovely - but won't be happening... would love it if the plex media server could be installed on the PS3..
__________________
its that fine line between stupid and clever..

Films you must see

Last edited by orac; 10-01-2013 at 14:45.
orac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2013, 16:09   #23
Robby
XBL- iRobz PSN - PSiRobz
 
Robby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: ‎"Wearing out more picks than Hendrix on a Caffeine drip"
Posts: 8,625
Thanks: 270
Thanked 158 Times in 94 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by orac View Post
DRM is annoying on itunes - they removed it from music, so why not not video? Apple TV is all well and good - but then you would have to convert all video files so it could play them - plex plays far more formats... got it set up on my imac and well impressed... great on ipad
Do you have an Apple TV?, why not stream from iPad to it?
Robby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2013, 09:39   #24
orac
information is restricted
 
orac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Devon
Posts: 5,442
Thanks: 154
Thanked 50 Times in 40 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robby View Post
Do you have an Apple TV?, why not stream from iPad to it?
no don't have Apple TV... If it had a blu ray drive then would get it... I am well into blu ray, so the ps3 serves me better..

hardly have any itunes DRM video stuff anyway... rather get a blu ray of a film than buy from itunes.
__________________
its that fine line between stupid and clever..

Films you must see
orac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2013, 15:22   #25
Mr Flibble
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Kelso
Posts: 5,809
Thanks: 78
Thanked 37 Times in 22 Posts
Oddly enough my ps3 shows the plex media server when the pc and ps3 are switched on. The answer from ll the apple forums is 'buy apple TV', I'm not buying a device for one media from one supplier, plex does all I need ( pretty much)
Mr Flibble is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2013, 21:42   #26
orac
information is restricted
 
orac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Devon
Posts: 5,442
Thanks: 154
Thanked 50 Times in 40 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr Flibble View Post
Oddly enough my ps3 shows the plex media server when the pc and ps3 are switched on. The answer from ll the apple forums is 'buy apple TV', I'm not buying a device for one media from one supplier, plex does all I need ( pretty much)
eh? lost me - the ps3 wouldn't be able to see plex without it running on your pc?
__________________
its that fine line between stupid and clever..

Films you must see
orac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2013, 08:25   #27
JonLaidlow
Scoundrel
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 2,527
Thanks: 141
Thanked 136 Times in 86 Posts
I guess Mr Fibble is trying to play his itunes content on his tv via Plex...
JonLaidlow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2013, 08:48   #28
JonLaidlow
Scoundrel
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 2,527
Thanks: 141
Thanked 136 Times in 86 Posts
But I should add, My PS3 sees the Plex media server as if it were any other - so the add-ins like iplayer and itunes connections don't work
JonLaidlow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-01-2013, 10:34   #29
Mr Flibble
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Kelso
Posts: 5,809
Thanks: 78
Thanked 37 Times in 22 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by JonLaidlow View Post
I guess Mr Fibble is trying to play his itunes content on his tv via Plex...
Yes - sorry for coming back late to this, I've been trying to play Itunes content on either our smart tv, or the PS3 but with no joy whatsoever.

When I fire up the PS3, it'll detect PS3 media server and Plex media server, but won't let me play the Itunes bought content, sadly
Mr Flibble is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-01-2013, 10:58   #30
JonLaidlow
Scoundrel
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 2,527
Thanks: 141
Thanked 136 Times in 86 Posts
Yeah - it'll be the DRM that are stopping you. To play that on a tv you'll need to either connect your laptop to the TV or buy an Apple TV.

Just got a Samsung smart TV and was overjoyed to find a Plex App in their appstore - so neat.
JonLaidlow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-01-2013, 11:10   #31
Mr Flibble
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Kelso
Posts: 5,809
Thanks: 78
Thanked 37 Times in 22 Posts
I'd recommend a Smart TV to anyone really to be honest, ours is LG and has 'Smart Share' - it will scan through the hard drive on our PC via Plex and pick up all the film covers, and give us a synopsis of movies etc. very impressed!

I'm loath to buy AppleTV for just a few files though, so will have to just accept they won't play!
Mr Flibble is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-01-2013, 11:11   #32
JonLaidlow
Scoundrel
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 2,527
Thanks: 141
Thanked 136 Times in 86 Posts
The Plex interface on Samsung is gorgeous - synopses, seasons, bg music, cover images.
JonLaidlow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-01-2013, 12:36   #33
lsba02853
Trusted User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Kent
Posts: 1,321
Thanks: 28
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by JonLaidlow View Post
The Plex interface on Samsung is gorgeous - synopses, seasons, bg music, cover images.
XBMC has been doing this for years.
It's highly addictive once you get into it.
lsba02853 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-01-2013, 22:27   #34
Guest 45362
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 5,619
Thanks: 26
Thanked 150 Times in 115 Posts
Am I right in saying that currently Plex has no way to group movie series togther in the way that XBMC can? I know you can create collections but it's not as good - there's also a tweak you can do by editting the metadata so that the sort field is different from the title field. Whilst simple sequence titles like SAW 1-7 appear indexed as you would expect, sequential films with individual titles don't (like the Indiana JOnes ones) but they will index necxt to each other if you change the sort field to "Indiana Jones 1" and stuff like that. It still displays the title field though so it doesn;t look nasty

The Plex forums indicate people have been asking for a group movies function for a while, but has anything been done?

It's really a no-brainer feature, surprised it wasn;t in long ago

Last edited by Nebiroth; 27-01-2013 at 22:28.
Guest 45362 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-01-2013, 01:26   #35
zorro
Trusted User
 
zorro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: New York
Posts: 1,910
Thanks: 0
Thanked 7 Times in 6 Posts
Can someone help me sort out TV shows

I have a few tv series yet they will not add to the TV Show section

I am sure it is how they are named/structured, but just cant seem to figure this out

For example, I have;

C:\DOWNLOADS\TV Shows

then in there, individually named folders with for example 6 episodes of TV show, individually named

I know I am doing something wrong - any ideas?

Thanks
zorro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-01-2013, 05:05   #36
Robby
XBL- iRobz PSN - PSiRobz
 
Robby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: ‎"Wearing out more picks than Hendrix on a Caffeine drip"
Posts: 8,625
Thanks: 270
Thanked 158 Times in 94 Posts
How have you named each show? Do you list by name or number?

Try the following as an example and Plex should pull all relevant info:

C:\DOWNLOADS\TV Shows\XXXX\Season 1\1x01

XXXX being whatever TV show you have.
Robby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-01-2013, 07:43   #37
JonLaidlow
Scoundrel
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 2,527
Thanks: 141
Thanked 136 Times in 86 Posts
I've found odd shows haven't been found, even when named the same as other shows - first port of call is to go into plex settings and force it to recheck. But I've had better success by moving the files it won't list into a different folder! it then found them, added them to the right category, job done!
JonLaidlow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-01-2013, 09:25   #38
Guest 45362
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 5,619
Thanks: 26
Thanked 150 Times in 115 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by zorro View Post
Can someone help me sort out TV shows

I have a few tv series yet they will not add to the TV Show section

I am sure it is how they are named/structured, but just cant seem to figure this out

For example, I have;

C:\DOWNLOADS\TV Shows

then in there, individually named folders with for example 6 episodes of TV show, individually named

I know I am doing something wrong - any ideas?

Thanks
I think you need to have your stuff structured in the way Plex recommend.

http://wiki.plexapp.com/index.php/Me...Guide#TV_Shows

Otherwise neither Plex nor scrapers willbe able to identify or organise them properly

XBMC has similar rules
Guest 45362 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2013, 14:42   #39
Robby
XBL- iRobz PSN - PSiRobz
 
Robby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: ‎"Wearing out more picks than Hendrix on a Caffeine drip"
Posts: 8,625
Thanks: 270
Thanked 158 Times in 94 Posts
Does anyone here have BT Infinity (and by extension their router) and have any issues streaming content via wifi?

Plex is being very temperamental lately, despite the recent updates that they've released. Usually at the 10 minute mark (and then any other time after that) any video I stream will suddenly restart back to the beginning, meaning I have to exit and resume playback.

Buffering has also been an issue, I'm hoping i've solved that issue by hard wiring my Apple TV to my Mac but I'm still stumped as to why media keeps reseting itself.
Robby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2013, 09:24   #40
Mr Flibble
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Kelso
Posts: 5,809
Thanks: 78
Thanked 37 Times in 22 Posts
Time for an update from me!

So I had an awful lot of media that wasn't displaying on Plex for TV shows, but once I named them correctly, they now appear fine.

This is probably an LG specific question - but if I use Smart Share on here, I can browse all videos and have cover art, along with a synopsis displayed, but it doesn't pick up anything in the 'TV' folder. The files aren't displayed at all.

When I check on PLEX on the PC, the shows are shown, with synopsis for each episode - perhaps a limitation of the LG TV itself? If I access Plex media server from the PC (as opposed to Smart Share) I can browse the TV folder, but here you just get a file name, no synopsis at all.

Probably a poor explanation for those not familiar with LG, but perhaps someone can help!
Mr Flibble is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Customising Plex front end. j0nn13 Home Media Streaming Forum 0 12-03-2012 15:32
VMWare Users - Workstation/Server virtual machine compatibility gobstopper Computing Forum 3 14-12-2008 19:25
Any users of Free SMTP Server? Paden Computing Forum 4 29-10-2008 12:21
Users Logged in a Server midknight Computing Forum 4 31-07-2007 11:42
Applying Server 2003 themes to users? Guest 20850 Computing Forum 2 01-05-2007 15:06

All times are GMT. The time now is 01:55.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018 Poisonous Monkey Ltd. Part of The Digital Fix Network