Go Back   Forums @ The Digital Fix > Gadgets and Gizmos > Home Entertainment Hardware forum > Home Media Streaming Forum

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-10-2012, 08:30   #1
splobber
Administrator
 
splobber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Lake Titicaca
Posts: 67,115
Thanks: 40
Thanked 728 Times in 360 Posts
Acer Aspire Revo + XBMC (Part 2)

Continued from here
splobber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-10-2012, 13:32   #2
Fatbloke
PSN : Fatbloke-66
 
Fatbloke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Deepest Barking
Posts: 9,216
Thanks: 379
Thanked 511 Times in 307 Posts
Could this be the first real off the shelf XBMC box?

http://www.reghardware.com/2012/10/2..._for_xbmc_box/
Fatbloke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2012, 11:55   #3
ColinP
Egomaniac / Snowflake
 
ColinP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Somewhere out there
Posts: 17,898
Thanks: 442
Thanked 1,306 Times in 668 Posts
I've upgraded both of my Revo boxes to Eden - my secondary lower-spec Revo works perfectly, but my 2GB Revo stutters badly on playback of ALL video (not just HD). For now I've reverted that one back to Dharma but that's not ideal.

I upgraded the NVidia drivers to no effect. Dropping the output res to 1280x720 improves things slightly, but it still stutters and drops frames every few seconds.

Anyone else experienced similar?
__________________
ColinP, Administrator
The Digital Fix | Tweals
ColinP is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2012, 16:39   #4
lsba02853
Trusted User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Kent
Posts: 1,321
Thanks: 28
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
I've been playing HD mkv files on my revo without any problems.
It's the original Linux version that got a RAM upgrade.

Are you streaming from a NAS?
Mine was all operating from an external HD, but as I've just purchased a NAS that could all change.
lsba02853 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2012, 16:42   #5
ColinP
Egomaniac / Snowflake
 
ColinP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Somewhere out there
Posts: 17,898
Thanks: 442
Thanked 1,306 Times in 668 Posts
I am streaming from a WHS.
__________________
ColinP, Administrator
The Digital Fix | Tweals
ColinP is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2012, 09:16   #6
Blokie
Don't Ask...
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Cippenham, UK
Posts: 1,195
Thanks: 26
Thanked 26 Times in 26 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ColinP View Post
I am streaming from a WHS.
Have you tried playing a file locally as opposed to over the network Colin?

Would rule in/out anything related to network drivers etc.
__________________
Mark
====

My Credit Card Bill
Blokie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2012, 09:31   #7
ColinP
Egomaniac / Snowflake
 
ColinP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Somewhere out there
Posts: 17,898
Thanks: 442
Thanked 1,306 Times in 668 Posts
I will give it a go
__________________
ColinP, Administrator
The Digital Fix | Tweals
ColinP is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2012, 20:33   #8
Guest 10877
Bink Bink
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Bat Country
Posts: 5,557
Thanks: 17
Thanked 20 Times in 19 Posts
Have you enabled dxva in the video options to get it using the hardware acceleration?
Guest 10877 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-12-2012, 20:31   #9
splobber
Administrator
 
splobber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Lake Titicaca
Posts: 67,115
Thanks: 40
Thanked 728 Times in 360 Posts
I wiped my XBMCbuntu install and chucked on the Openelec beta that is based on Frodo. Easy to install and pretty much works straight out the box, including the Hama remote so no facing about with lirc scripts and the like. In fact, it was that easy I went round my neighbours and upgraded his old Dharma build to this.
splobber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-12-2012, 20:34   #10
megatron
Trusted User
 
megatron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 5,927
Thanks: 54
Thanked 45 Times in 18 Posts
Can anyone get HD flash videos running smooth on their web browser?
megatron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-12-2012, 06:01   #11
Fatbloke
PSN : Fatbloke-66
 
Fatbloke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Deepest Barking
Posts: 9,216
Thanks: 379
Thanked 511 Times in 307 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by splobber View Post
I wiped my XBMCbuntu install and chucked on the Openelec beta that is based on Frodo. Easy to install and pretty much works straight out the box, including the Hama remote so no facing about with lirc scripts and the like. In fact, it was that easy I went round my neighbours and upgraded his old Dharma build to this.
I'd not heard of this before, sounds interesting because it does take a while to boot whenever I need to restart. I assume it can still work with a mySQL DB in the background? Also, does this type of installation still allow access via Putty to talk to the console, so you can also install other stuff on the same box?
Fatbloke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-12-2012, 08:17   #12
splobber
Administrator
 
splobber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Lake Titicaca
Posts: 67,115
Thanks: 40
Thanked 728 Times in 360 Posts
You can definitely setup SSH with it, although can't answer your question about mySQL as I don't have a need for it.

The skins at the moment are pretty limited, although you can ponce about and get a few more into the install with a bit of jiggery pokery. The main draw for me is not having to continually update Ubuntu and running commands to update the software. With Openelec, you can tell it to auto update through the GUI, so for anyone who doesn't want to tinker, this is the best option for running the software.

I have a slight problem with the XBMCremote app with this version of the software, but expect it to be ironed out and there is a higher frequency of crashing, although I am putting this down to using a beta.
splobber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-12-2012, 08:31   #13
welshmatt
Rusted User
 
welshmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Caerleon
Posts: 6,779
Thanks: 113
Thanked 183 Times in 82 Posts
I've always used openelec as it's perfect for some like me with fairly basic computing skills. By the way Splobber not sure if you're on android, if so I've found Yatse to be the best remote app for any xbmc setup. It has regular updates and near perfect reviews on the the play store.
__________________
XBL - welshmatt / PSN - britneynopants
welshmatt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-12-2012, 08:36   #14
splobber
Administrator
 
splobber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Lake Titicaca
Posts: 67,115
Thanks: 40
Thanked 728 Times in 360 Posts
No, iPhone I'm afraid, although I am waiting for delivery of a Nexus 4 at some point in the next 9 months, or however long Google decide to bother.
splobber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-12-2012, 12:25   #15
ColinP
Egomaniac / Snowflake
 
ColinP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Somewhere out there
Posts: 17,898
Thanks: 442
Thanked 1,306 Times in 668 Posts
Tried everything with my stuttering issue but no luck so far. It doesn't appear to be network related as there are no buffering or audio issues - just a strange appearance of dropped frames, usually on close-ups and panning shots.

I upgraded to the latest Frodo RC and it's a little better but not perfect
__________________
ColinP, Administrator
The Digital Fix | Tweals
ColinP is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 17-12-2012, 12:46   #16
Blokie
Don't Ask...
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Cippenham, UK
Posts: 1,195
Thanks: 26
Thanked 26 Times in 26 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ColinP View Post
Tried everything with my stuttering issue but no luck so far. It doesn't appear to be network related as there are no buffering or audio issues - just a strange appearance of dropped frames, usually on close-ups and panning shots.

I upgraded to the latest Frodo RC and it's a little better but not perfect
If you host one of the files you're having issues with and let me know the location I'll test it out and see if it plays fine for me if you like Colin. I'm running Eden ((XBMC Live version) on a Revo 3700.
__________________
Mark
====

My Credit Card Bill
Blokie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-12-2012, 13:52   #17
Stevie G
Dazed and confused
 
Stevie G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: By the seaside
Posts: 12,076
Thanks: 722
Thanked 358 Times in 262 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by splobber View Post
I wiped my XBMCbuntu install and chucked on the Openelec beta that is based on Frodo. Easy to install and pretty much works straight out the box, including the Hama remote so no facing about with lirc scripts and the like. In fact, it was that easy I went round my neighbours and upgraded his old Dharma build to this.
That's encouraging. It took me ages to get XBMCbuntu properly configured, especially to display 1080.

Is Openelec as responsive? And which skin do you use? I tend to stick with Transparency, anything too stylish makes it a bit sluggish on my R3700 (2GB)

Edited: Ooh, slightly away from the main topic, but I see that OpenElec works on ATV as well....anyone tried that?!
__________________
PSN Gamertag: NoMrMoreNiceGuy
It's all about the scrobbling...

Last edited by Stevie G; 17-12-2012 at 13:57.
Stevie G is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-12-2012, 14:14   #18
splobber
Administrator
 
splobber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Lake Titicaca
Posts: 67,115
Thanks: 40
Thanked 728 Times in 360 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stevie G View Post
That's encouraging. It took me ages to get XBMCbuntu properly configured, especially to display 1080.

Is Openelec as responsive? And which skin do you use? I tend to stick with Transparency, anything too stylish makes it a bit sluggish on my R3700 (2GB)

Edited: Ooh, slightly away from the main topic, but I see that OpenElec works on ATV as well....anyone tried that?!
Openelec is quicker, both to boot and to navigate. The standard skin is Confluence (which I use), but Transparency! is quick enough too. As of yesterday, Back Row was added to the repo, which is a little slower.

I ave a 3610 and ran Aeon Nox OK, so am just waiting for that to be added.
splobber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-12-2012, 14:22   #19
Stevie G
Dazed and confused
 
Stevie G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: By the seaside
Posts: 12,076
Thanks: 722
Thanked 358 Times in 262 Posts
Great, thanks, I'll give that a go then.
__________________
PSN Gamertag: NoMrMoreNiceGuy
It's all about the scrobbling...
Stevie G is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-12-2012, 14:25   #20
ColinP
Egomaniac / Snowflake
 
ColinP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Somewhere out there
Posts: 17,898
Thanks: 442
Thanked 1,306 Times in 668 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blokie View Post
If you host one of the files you're having issues with and let me know the location I'll test it out and see if it plays fine for me if you like Colin. I'm running Eden ((XBMC Live version) on a Revo 3700.
The files are fine - they played perfectly on my old Revo Dharma install They're also flawless on my other HTPC that's running at a lower resolution so it seems to be a performance or framerate issue at 1080p.
__________________
ColinP, Administrator
The Digital Fix | Tweals
ColinP is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Acer Aspire Revo + XBMC splobber Home Media Streaming Forum 1023 06-10-2012 08:31
Acer Aspire Revo powder Computing Forum 23 08-06-2009 21:24

All times are GMT. The time now is 08:35.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018 Poisonous Monkey Ltd. Part of The Digital Fix Network