Go Back   Forums @ The Digital Fix > Gadgets and Gizmos > Home Entertainment Hardware forum

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-01-2005, 16:29   #21
CLH
La Bender
 
CLH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: On the Fence
Posts: 11,528
Thanks: 154
Thanked 215 Times in 160 Posts
A guide to good LCD's to consider at the moment:

1.Sharp GA3/4
2. Toshiba Stasia range
3. Philips Ambilight range

Sony LCD's look lovely but should really be avoided because they lack digital inputs.
CLH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2005, 19:18   #22
Spooksta
Mr Honest
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 2,650
Thanks: 26
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by CLH
Spooksta,

get some DVI into that thing!!!

Also you might want to consider an RGB component convertor if you're running Sky into it for example?
I run Sky into it from the Phillips Wireless box
Do you need a DVI DVD player to get DVI into this then ? (totaly new to the DVI thing)
__________________
Feedback
Spooksta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2005, 19:58   #23
CLH
La Bender
 
CLH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: On the Fence
Posts: 11,528
Thanks: 154
Thanked 215 Times in 160 Posts
Yes you can use either a DVI equipped player (denon 1910 and Samsung 945 cheapest) or an HDMI player with a DVI/HDMI convertor.

Then you can get some great upscaling going on.

make sure your screen supports HDCP first though. Without that support it won't accept any signal.
CLH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2005, 18:36   #24
Dan
Passed away :(
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 18,791
Thanks: 1
Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
Anyone connected their PC to your LCD as i'm keen to know what the picture quality is like?
Dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2005, 18:41   #25
Spooksta
Mr Honest
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 2,650
Thanks: 26
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
Its not HDCP
and ive not connected the pc to it. Im very happy with the picture and its still on a £1.99 scart!!
Will be getting components at some point. One small gripe i have is the dark areas are too dark but this is a small gripe. Its perfect for the bedroom.
Spooksta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2005, 19:45   #26
CLH
La Bender
 
CLH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: On the Fence
Posts: 11,528
Thanks: 154
Thanked 215 Times in 160 Posts
.

Last edited by CLH; 05-01-2005 at 19:46.
CLH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2005, 11:45   #27
Guest 26557
High def guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,198
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
By way of background, for the bedroom I need to get an LCD to 'upgrade' from a 20 year old Sony Trinitron 14" CRT. The Trinitron still works well and has outstanding picture quality, but unfortunately from the wife's point of view it is too large for the space and has no remote ...

I've recently looked at many many LCDs on display in John Lewis, Dixons and the local Sony Centre. All seem to have an identical problem with their image, which looks like a kind of regular noisy or grainy pixellated pattern has been superimposed. It looks fine if you stand 10 feet away but stupid if you stand "too close". Also on many of these LCD units colours tend to be unnatural and fine colour gradations disappear.

I really hate these effects and I don't understand why they are present, as I get very good, even outstanding results on my LCD PC monitor and equally on an LCD projector using any kind of video source through my PC (DVD, lower-res trailers, HDTV demo clips etc, TV card). Therefore it is not an inherent problem with LCD technology (you can see it on plasma too). But as my PC setup clearly shows, there is no reason in principle why a LCD cannot work extremely well with a noisy source such as analogue broadcast, or equally a DVD which has film grain, pixel noise, mosquito noise etc.

I assume these problems are caused by the low-cost built in tuner and scalar - maybe the same chipset is used in all these screens. A typical PC in comparison has a very high quality video scalar, i.e. the ATI or nVidia graphics card. I'm therefore wondering if better results could be achieved using an external tuner/scalar such as the Avermedia TV Box 9, but I'm a bit reluctant to shell out the cash if the results are no better. Has anybody tried this route? (Another attraction would be that you could use an external tuner with any LCD monitor that has speakers - you are not bound to use one of the LCD TV models.)

Last edited by cm-9; 06-01-2005 at 12:10.
Guest 26557 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2005, 11:56   #28
Guest 26557
High def guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,198
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
And has anybody seen or purchased any of the following LCD monitor/TVs?

4:3 aspect ratio
LG L173ST
Samsung 730MP
ADI I700 with optional tuner
Videoseven LTV17D

15:9 or 16:9 aspect ratio
SVA 1703
Hansol HW1710
Toshiba 17" Wxga Stasia
Sharp LL-171ME

(On the subject of aspect ratio:
* 16:9 is typically 1280x720 or 1366x768, suitable for HDTV (720p) and DVD
* 15:9 is typically 1280x768 (WXGA), a compromise between 16:9 and 14:9, and also compatible with a PC's standard 1024x768 XGA desktop resolution
* 14:9 does not match any screen, but is the correct resolution for terrestrial analogue TV in the UK (BBC1, BBC2, ITV, Channel 4, etc)

My current inclination is towards the LG L173ST, because LG/Philips make the best LCD panels in my opinion, and it looks like its speakers (side mounted) are larger and more powerful than average. I'm assuming it must be good because it is recently introduced, and at £450 it is more expensive than most 17" screens even though LG are normally a reasonably priced brand. The problem is I can only find it at one retailer (Pixmania) and I can't see it before I buy.
Guest 26557 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2005, 15:02   #29
Guest 26557
High def guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,198
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
The Emperor's New Clothes

One thing I've noticed: pretty much all LCD TVs have a fixed standard refresh rate (also called scanning rate or vertical sync) of 60 Hz. This means that UK television broadcasts, which are 50Hz, require internal conversion from 50 Hz to 60 Hz. That obviously introduces artifacts like judder and motion blurring.

My research to date suggests this is not a well-known problem, but my opinion is that unless it gets fixed, LCD TVs are never going to look as good as CRT.

It is true that a few LCD panels can switch to 50 Hz or 75Hz, either of which would be good for PAL broadcasts, but this is normally the domain of professional studio monitors costing £000s, or high-end 40" LCDs.

Comet's "specifications" (joke) suggest that a few LCD TVs have "50Hz standard scanning" but I'm not sure whether that is true or whether it is a typo. Put it this way, I've done searches on a few of the models I am interested in, and the same information is not repeated elsewhere (apart from places like Kelkoo which got the information from Comet in the first place) ...

Last edited by cm-9; 07-01-2005 at 15:04.
Guest 26557 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2005, 15:38   #30
CLH
La Bender
 
CLH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: On the Fence
Posts: 11,528
Thanks: 154
Thanked 215 Times in 160 Posts
A good point. Sharp deal with this with a progressive mode. With it off I can see the flicker in Sky's menus. With it on I can't and the PQ is still free of motion judder.
CLH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2005, 15:40   #31
Guest 34031
hippy-happy-heavydude
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: London W14
Posts: 2,294
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by cm-9
(Pixmania)
Don't buy anything from these guys. They ship from Paris, so you're probably going to get French goods (sure the goods are probably fine, but subsequent warranty service could be a problem). They charge £9 for next day delivery of small items but are unable to achieve this at all. And appear to have no useful customer service to deal with any problems, they just fob you off with pre-prepared answers.
Guest 34031 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2005, 17:52   #32
Guest 111
Meep meep
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Fleetwood, Lancashire
Posts: 482
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Wooohooooo! Finally found a retailer with a Toshiba 32WL48 in stock. I really wanted one after seeing the 32WL46 briefly the other week but was told I'd need to wait till the end of the month.

Hopefully QED will deliver next week.

Anyway....question! I have the Toshiba SD900e as a DVD player. It supports NTSC progressive scan and pseudo PAL progressive scan. If I run the DVD through component (got some Profigold PGV332 leads already) and leave the DVD in interlace mode will the TV do the progressive scan quite well? The SD900e has a fantastic interlaced picture afterall.

Now I need to get a stand and er....get rid of my old IDTV.....hmmmmmm

Last edited by Damian Arstall; 08-01-2005 at 19:31.
Guest 111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2005, 18:38   #33
Guest 20396
T.H.F.C.
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Higham Ferrers
Posts: 2,482
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Does anyone own the sharp LC26GA4E?I'm looking to buy one,just want to know what inputs it has and what the pictures like.
Will be running ariel up from sky+ down stairs for picture,so take it that it's got a tv tuners?
Guest 20396 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2005, 19:41   #34
Guest 26557
High def guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,198
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ian-n
Don't buy anything from these guys. They ship from Paris, so you're probably going to get French goods (sure the goods are probably fine, but subsequent warranty service could be a problem). They charge £9 for next day delivery of small items but are unable to achieve this at all. And appear to have no useful customer service to deal with any problems, they just fob you off with pre-prepared answers.
Thanks Ian. I know it's a French company but I thought they had a warehouse in London SW6 too - I think you can actually collect the goods there in person? Anyhow, I'm happy to buy from a French company - in the past I have bought electrical goods from Denmark (power amps), Canada (projector), the US (remote), and plenty of DVDs purchased from Korea, Hong Kong, Australia, US, Canada, France, etc - all problem free.

Incidentally that LG L173ST screen appears to be not released in the UK yet, although it's available in France, Germany, Italy and Russia - looks like it has been out since late November 2004 - typical! I want one because it looks like it has the best specs - 400 cd/m2 brightness, 500:1 contrast ratio, are exceptional for a 17" screen and it's a looker too - some great pictures of it at this Russian site: http://www.euclid.ru/manuals/monitor/173ST.htm
and a datasheet in German here: http://ec.ingrammicro.de/pdf/4060877.pdf.
Guest 26557 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2005, 10:10   #35
Leigh
Happy snapper
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: UK
Posts: 4,982
Thanks: 217
Thanked 39 Times in 34 Posts
Just bought a DMtech 17" widescreen LCD TV with built in DVD player from Comet for £400 to replace a 14" CRT (for the bedroom) Its an absolute stunner for the price (i was going to buy the relisys, but it has no RGB scart input) and since it has a DVD player built in it saves me a load of workspace as well. If your looking for a good TV for the bedroom, definitely consider this one!

EDIT :

Ive just managed to make the DVD player multiregion as well thank to the handset hack over at avforums
__________________
PSN Tag : Razer_73

Last edited by Leigh; 09-01-2005 at 11:02.
Leigh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2005, 11:00   #36
ColinP
Egomaniac / Snowflake
 
ColinP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Somewhere out there
Posts: 17,887
Thanks: 442
Thanked 1,306 Times in 668 Posts
My set is finally scheduled to be delivered on Tuesday - it's been with the courier since 30th December! Unbelieveably crap delivery times!

Their most local depot is in Reading and they're not even open on the weekend so picking it up wasn't even an option.

Last edited by ColinP; 09-01-2005 at 11:01.
ColinP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2005, 11:04   #37
CLH
La Bender
 
CLH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: On the Fence
Posts: 11,528
Thanks: 154
Thanked 215 Times in 160 Posts
That's not good!! Ah well, at least you managed to source one!
CLH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2005, 12:51   #38
Guest 20396
T.H.F.C.
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Higham Ferrers
Posts: 2,482
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ColinP
My set is finally scheduled to be delivered on Tuesday - it's been with the courier since 30th December! Unbelieveably crap delivery times!

Their most local depot is in Reading and they're not even open on the weekend so picking it up wasn't even an option.
Colin i see you went for the Sharp GA4 ,what size screen did you go for?Where did you buy from m8?I've been looking at the 26" from John Lewis,trying to get them to price match cramptonand moore £975.Now i've seen robert whyte doing intrest free with 5 year warrenty i might go for the 32" £1399 GA5.
Guest 20396 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2005, 12:01   #39
ColinP
Egomaniac / Snowflake
 
ColinP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Somewhere out there
Posts: 17,887
Thanks: 442
Thanked 1,306 Times in 668 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by hunts1uk
Colin i see you went for the Sharp GA4 ,what size screen did you go for?Where did you buy from m8?I've been looking at the 26" from John Lewis,trying to get them to price match cramptonand moore £975.Now i've seen robert whyte doing intrest free with 5 year warrenty i might go for the 32" £1399 GA5.
I went for the 32" from Empire Direct at £1299 - appears I had the last one (which was lucky as I deliberated for about 2 days as CLH can confirm )
__________________
ColinP, Administrator
The Digital Fix | Tweals
ColinP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2005, 10:23   #40
Guest 111
Meep meep
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Fleetwood, Lancashire
Posts: 482
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Well my Toshiba 32WL48 should come today. I hope so as I'm off work (and I only just went back yesterday )

It's a risk as my stand is coming from a different place. Will let you know how I get on....later, probably.
Guest 111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 04:13.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018 Poisonous Monkey Ltd. Part of The Digital Fix Network