Go Back   Forums @ The Digital Fix > Gadgets and Gizmos > Computing Forum

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-07-2004, 17:00   #1
Guest 16622
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Wanting to build a website

I want to be my own website, I have a copy of Dreamweaver and webspace from NTL.

I have shuttle ftp installed as well.


What do I need to do in order to upload it and change the name to something more meaningful. What are the costs involved for cheapish hosting/domain name changing?


Thanks in advance
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2004, 17:11   #2
Guest 267
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
I bought my domain name for about 5 quid for 2 years, and have it hosted by ukinternet.me.uk for about 20 quid a year with 1 gig of online sotrage.
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2004, 20:43   #3
Guest 16622
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
So I need to first pay for a domain name and then webhosting. Should these be from the same company?
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2004, 21:10   #4
Guest 267
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Depends if you want to go for an all in one solution I suppose. Im not very good at these things, it took me 7 years to build my first website.
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2004, 22:00   #5
GlennSh
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Norwich
Posts: 5,880
Thanks: 70
Thanked 62 Times in 19 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by maxfox44
So I need to first pay for a domain name and then webhosting. Should these be from the same company?
Not at all mate - Just buy a domain name (a .co.uk cost me under Ł7 for 2 years from 123-reg.co.uk) then set it up to redirect to your free webspace (in your case NTL)

All there is to it...As for building the site thats a whole different ball game!
__________________
Glenn
GlennSh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2004, 23:13   #6
Guest 16622
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Does it cost to have a redirection?

How does that affect the keywords for say google?

Last edited by maxfox44; 12-07-2004 at 23:16.
  Reply With Quote
Old 13-07-2004, 07:21   #7
GlennSh
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Norwich
Posts: 5,880
Thanks: 70
Thanked 62 Times in 19 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by maxfox44
Does it cost to have a redirection?
No. Just set it up from where you bought your domain name

Quote:
Originally Posted by maxfox44
How does that affect the keywords for say google?
Sounds like this is more of a business site than a personal/fun site ? But no, you would still give Google the keywords you want to search on then link them from there (although this isnt something I've had any experience of so might be better seeing what others say)
__________________
Glenn
GlennSh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-07-2004, 19:19   #8
Guest 16622
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
So, I first buy a domain name from company X. The upload on to my NTL webspace and get my new domain name address to redirect to the NTL space.


Max
  Reply With Quote
Old 13-07-2004, 19:25   #9
GlennSh
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Norwich
Posts: 5,880
Thanks: 70
Thanked 62 Times in 19 Posts
yep
GlennSh is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 15:19.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018 Poisonous Monkey Ltd. Part of The Digital Fix Network