Go Back   Forums @ The Digital Fix > Gadgets and Gizmos > Home Entertainment Hardware forum

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-07-2017, 09:21   #1
cjanderson
2 phalanxs and a catapult
 
cjanderson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 35,776
Thanks: 370
Thanked 169 Times in 106 Posts
new LG tv - can't get picture "right"

gone from a samsung LCD tv to a

LG - 49UH620V Smart 4K Ultra HD HDR 49" LED

And I can't find a picture setting i am happy with. We have sky HD connected to it (via HDMI)

The blue background of the sky menu is now quite a muted blue compared to how it was.

But, if i change the picture settings to get the sky bluer, then all the tv shows look too dark.

None of the various modes (Vivid/game/Photo/Sport) seem to be quite right either. All seem too dark.

Maybe its the much higher resolution (1200?) or the 4k Uktra HD bit and just needs some getting used to. Maybe i need to have Sky Q? (though that won't help with my xbox or the built in Nowtv/freeview)
cjanderson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2017, 09:45   #2
Q
Yee Ol Forum Pirate Ahhhh
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: LONDON
Posts: 10,193
Thanks: 19
Thanked 429 Times in 380 Posts
Hey. Long time eh..

Is there a personal mode where you can change all the individual settings?

Making the Sky Bluer would be colour you are changing but if things are too dark then that would come under Brightness. I know you know that but does changing the settings help with it?

What resolution is the TV?

Have a look at the HDR setting..
Try another HDMI socket to see if same.

Last edited by Q; 01-07-2017 at 09:49.
Q is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2017, 10:43   #3
wasted
Was looney, still can be.
 
wasted's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Norfolk
Posts: 567
Thanks: 216
Thanked 60 Times in 35 Posts
I have the LG49UH668V and use the following settings, they may help...

(copy and pasted from another site)

On the control image options, select [isf] Expert (Bright Room). This will darken the image, by default.

-Backlight: 100
-Contrast: 95
-Brightness: 60
-H Sharpness: 20
-V Sharpness: 15
-Colour: 50
-Tint: 0

Expert Controls:

-Dynamic Contrast: Low
-Super Resolution: High
-Colour Gamut: Extended
-Edge Enhancer: On
-Colour Filter: Off
-Gamma: 1.9

White Balance:

-Colour Temperature: Warm2
-Method: 2 Points
-Pattern: Outer
-Red: 6
-Green: -10
-Blue: 8

Colour Management:

Red: S 0 T 0 L 0
Green: S -10 T 0 L 0
Blue: S 0 T 0 L 4
Cyan: S 0 T 2 L 0
Magenta: S 0 T -4 L 8
Yellow: S 0 T 1 L 0

*S = Saturation, T = Tint, L = Luminance*

Picture Options:

-Noise Reduction: Auto
-MPEG Noise Reduction: Off
-Black Level: Auto
-Real Cinema: On
-Motion Eye Care: Off
-TruMotion: Clear
__________________
Just keep breathing
wasted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2017, 10:44   #4
Guest
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
You often get people over at the AV Forums posting their settings for accurate colours in the model's specific thread. The defaults are usually a bit off (and migraine inducing).

I usually find I don't really like their properly calibrated settings though and do a bit of tweaking to my preference.

edit: or try those settings above
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2017, 15:43   #5
cjanderson
2 phalanxs and a catapult
 
cjanderson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 35,776
Thanks: 370
Thanked 169 Times in 106 Posts
thanks, i changed it all to those settings (though no option with mine to do Black level auto (its on or off)

i think it may be my sky box as the tv menu items look amazing. So shall play around with hdmi leads a bit.
cjanderson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2017, 15:49   #6
wasted
Was looney, still can be.
 
wasted's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Norfolk
Posts: 567
Thanks: 216
Thanked 60 Times in 35 Posts
I find my sky box does not give quite as good an image as my consoles or from USB drives connected to TV with films on (which look amazing) Maybe just tweak it a bit to your liking.
__________________
Just keep breathing
wasted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2017, 06:20   #7
Q
Yee Ol Forum Pirate Ahhhh
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: LONDON
Posts: 10,193
Thanks: 19
Thanked 429 Times in 380 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by wasted View Post
I find my sky box does not give quite as good an image as my consoles or from USB drives connected to TV with films on (which look amazing) Maybe just tweak it a bit to your liking.
Sky Box sound is lower than everything else and you can't change it either..
Q is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2017, 06:31   #8
basegreen
neergesab
 
basegreen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Too far south..
Posts: 12,456
Thanks: 340
Thanked 476 Times in 348 Posts
I think there's some minor adjustments you can do to some sky boxes. Can't remember the exact details but I remember something that changed the menu look slightly without adjusting tv settings
basegreen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2017, 11:01   #9
douglasb
Suedehead.
 
douglasb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Exiled in England
Posts: 10,904
Thanks: 142
Thanked 843 Times in 509 Posts
Not sure you can adjust the box image but there is this :

http://www.skyeurope.tv/change-picture-settings
douglasb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2017, 14:12   #10
aliman5000
Clown X
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Northants
Posts: 1,650
Thanks: 19
Thanked 46 Times in 34 Posts
I suppose it depends how fussed you are about picture quality - and I say that as professional calibration can be had for around £200 if you’re close to a city.

Not only will it give you the best picture on all inputs (sky, Xbox etc) the calibrator will work with you to get a picture you are happy with.

Now we are moving towards 4k and HDR being a bit more of ‘the norm’ you obviously want the best possible image from your investment.

Alternatively there will be a thread for your TV at avforums.com where they at very helpful advice wise.
__________________
This place looks terrible in widescreen...
aliman5000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2017, 17:14   #11
The Bear
Old-gold and black member
 
The Bear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Molineux
Posts: 16,108
Thanks: 312
Thanked 1,480 Times in 455 Posts
I'd suggest upping the gamma by one or two and messing around with the colour settings and presets i.e. Warm, Natural, Cool, etc. Increasing the backlight will help too.
The Bear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2017, 11:23   #12
arma_uk
Trusted User
 
arma_uk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 5,131
Thanks: 155
Thanked 262 Times in 175 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by cjanderson View Post
thanks, i changed it all to those settings (though no option with mine to do Black level auto (its on or off)

i think it may be my sky box as the tv menu items look amazing. So shall play around with hdmi leads a bit.
the LG options could be input-specific, so you might have to copy from (e.g.) HDMI to TV - see if the settings are different for each source.
arma_uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"Insert Picture" in Office 2003 Crashes Apps DJBenson Computing Forum 6 08-09-2008 17:14
Are the "Owning Mahowny", "Elephant" and "21 Grams" DVDs subtitled in english? Film Discussion 3 01-11-2004 01:02
XP - All Shortcuts are "Wave Sounds" (In Tile View) - Picture Included Tempest Computing Forum 6 12-09-2004 10:00

All times are GMT. The time now is 23:25.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018 Poisonous Monkey Ltd. Part of The Digital Fix Network