Go Back   Forums @ The Digital Fix > Gadgets and Gizmos > Home Entertainment Hardware forum

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 25-06-2017, 10:35   #1
neilalford
I angered a crow
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Bristol
Posts: 7,591
Thanks: 7
Thanked 111 Times in 59 Posts
HDD recorder with external input?

Does anyone know if there are any HDD recorders available which have external inputs for recording, either analogue or HDMI?

My dad has an old Sky+HD box which he just uses for BT Sport and which doesn't have a Sky subscription so cannot record (and he doesn't want to pay the Ł10 a month to enable recording). Currently he records on it using my old TiVo box, but that's pretty old now and is becoming a little unreliable, plus with only a 40GB disc the recording space is pretty limited.

Therefore been looking for a replacement, however seems that these days nearly all the recorders just have built in Freeview\Freesat tuners rather than external inputs (which isn't surprising really). So is there anything available that will allow him to record?

As I understand it, you can't get BT Sport on a regular Freesat box only a Sky box, otherwise that would be the obvious solution.
neilalford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-06-2017, 13:18   #2
jockosjungle
formerly rbullivant
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Warrington
Posts: 21,874
Thanks: 278
Thanked 1,077 Times in 769 Posts
Is this solution just to support BT sports recording or some other function? How about BT's own version of Sky+?
jockosjungle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-06-2017, 20:37   #3
qwakuk
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 414
Thanks: 1
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
You need one of those DVD HDD recorders. 10+ years ago I was using it to record from Virgin Media before they offered a recording box instead of a VCR.
qwakuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-06-2017, 13:00   #4
Q
Yee Ol Forum Pirate Ahhhh
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: LONDON
Posts: 10,185
Thanks: 19
Thanked 429 Times in 380 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by qwakuk View Post
You need one of those DVD HDD recorders. 10+ years ago I was using it to record from Virgin Media before they offered a recording box instead of a VCR.
I've still got my Panny DVD-Ram Recorder.. Hasn't been used in about 4 yrs and when it was,it was to record off Free-Sat..
Q is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-06-2017, 13:46   #5
stephen
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 4,923
Thanks: 43
Thanked 197 Times in 149 Posts
I think they avoid putting HDMI inputs on recorders for copy protection reasons. Could he switch to BT TV and use their own box?
stephen is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Looking for a DVD/HDD recorder that can output to an external HDD Guest 37362 Home Entertainment Hardware forum 6 30-07-2008 01:39
HD 'DVD' player upscaling an external input? Guest 14124 Home Entertainment Hardware forum 1 24-08-2006 14:47
Cheap DVD Recorder with RGB Input Guest 6619 Home Entertainment Hardware forum 1 21-09-2004 07:28

All times are GMT. The time now is 18:09.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018 Poisonous Monkey Ltd. Part of The Digital Fix Network