Go Back   Forums @ The Digital Fix > Gadgets and Gizmos > Home Entertainment Hardware forum > Home Media Streaming Forum

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-07-2011, 16:36   #1
megatron
Trusted User
 
megatron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 5,927
Thanks: 54
Thanked 45 Times in 18 Posts
Anyone else stream media to a Sony Bravia TV?

I have one in the bedroom and my PC & NAS in the living room. I was hoping to to stream all the media via a homeplug but the Bravia doesn't seem to like 99% of my video files (mainly mkvs).

I don't wan't to re encode all my stuff to make it compatible, so what other options does that leave me?
megatron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2011, 16:56   #2
alsemail
Bibble....
 
alsemail's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 6,873
Thanks: 986
Thanked 670 Times in 386 Posts
A media streamer such as a WDTV Live, Boxee, Popcorn Hour etc.
An HTPC running XBMC or some other Media software.

Depending upon the size and quality of the files and the condition of your house wiring, streaming may not be possible via homeplugs.
Most people seem to find streaming 1080p over them to be near useless.
alsemail is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-07-2011, 10:26   #3
cloudchaser
XBL: boredknees
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: London
Posts: 1,087
Thanks: 213
Thanked 196 Times in 80 Posts
I have a Bravia TV and Sony Home Cinema - both have trouble with playing most of the files I have on my Netgear ReadyNAS Duo. I have mainly ISO files so re-encoding is not the ideal option.

I was hoping the Sony kit would not require a separate media streamer but this is the only option and as alsemail says the best option. I have a Popcorn Hour which is the most flexible and ultimately be used as main media streamer.

Not ideal for me as it increases another box on the shelves and clutter! In my current setup I also use the Xbox 360 to view some files, some direct and some via the Windows Media Center.

All of these are connected via Devolo powerplugs to my ReadyNAS - no issues in playing any files and simple to use and most houses should be fine.

Hope that helps.

Last edited by cloudchaser; 19-07-2011 at 10:06.
cloudchaser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-07-2011, 16:37   #4
megatron
Trusted User
 
megatron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 5,927
Thanks: 54
Thanked 45 Times in 18 Posts
Is there really no chance of a firmware update so it can play mkvs etc.
megatron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-07-2011, 16:55   #5
Guest
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Have you tried PS3 Media Server? It has config files for Bravia TVs so it could well work for them. If it's the same as how it works on the PS3 it just converts the MKVs into a format the TV/PS3 can understand in realtime.

http://code.google.com/p/ps3mediaserver/
  Reply With Quote
Old 19-07-2011, 10:07   #6
cloudchaser
XBL: boredknees
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: London
Posts: 1,087
Thanks: 213
Thanked 196 Times in 80 Posts
Unlikely. I have been following threads on the Sony support forums and so far not seen any indication that Sony will support more formats in future.
Quote:
Originally Posted by megatron View Post
Is there really no chance of a firmware update so it can play mkvs etc.
cloudchaser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-07-2011, 19:21   #7
megatron
Trusted User
 
megatron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 5,927
Thanks: 54
Thanked 45 Times in 18 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ShakeyJake View Post
Have you tried PS3 Media Server? It has config files for Bravia TVs so it could well work for them. If it's the same as how it works on the PS3 it just converts the MKVs into a format the TV/PS3 can understand in realtime.

http://code.google.com/p/ps3mediaserver/
I'm trying to understand how that works. Would I need to install ps3 media on my NAS, Windows 7, or on the Bravia TV itself.
megatron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-07-2011, 08:50   #8
cloudchaser
XBL: boredknees
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: London
Posts: 1,087
Thanks: 213
Thanked 196 Times in 80 Posts
I have a Vaio laptop which has a Viao Media Plus software - this helps displays media from my machine to the TV. You could try giving that a go.
cloudchaser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-07-2011, 15:48   #9
Guest
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by megatron View Post
I'm trying to understand how that works. Would I need to install ps3 media on my NAS, Windows 7, or on the Bravia TV itself.
You'd install it to your pc, then I guess tell it where your videos are stored on your NAS (not entirely sure and I don't have one) so you would always need your PC to be powered on while watching stuff, so it wouldn't be a perfect solution.
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sony Bravia V Series 46" 46V4000 HD 1080p (Includes Sony 3 Year Guarantee) - Ł649.99 Alan b Suppliers and Shopping Forum 39 08-12-2009 18:13
Whats your htpc /stream media setups then? Guest 33751 Computing Forum 122 21-11-2009 19:49
How to stream AVI files on 360 Media centre? paulmotion Computing Forum 3 26-03-2007 10:36
Media Centre PC v HDTV v Sony Bravia Ds3 Home Entertainment Hardware forum 8 11-04-2006 12:37
Alternatives to Media Encoder to stream live TV kanjar Computing Forum 8 01-09-2004 17:50

All times are GMT. The time now is 17:57.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018 Poisonous Monkey Ltd. Part of The Digital Fix Network