Go Back   Forums @ The Digital Fix > Gadgets and Gizmos > Home Entertainment Hardware forum

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 29-06-2011, 18:44   #781
powder
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 3,316
Thanks: 14
Thanked 16 Times in 14 Posts
Didn't cut the other trees down for them at all, have a 1-1.5m gap between the back of my shed and the dilapidated fence between our properties. The last tree is right in the corner, and cutting down the other four gave me more space.

If they were still there i reckon a dish move would do the job fine. I'm just thinking worst case scenario. I have enough hassle at the moment with dealing with a boundary dispute at my parents house, not that this would cause one, but for the sake of maybe £30 i'd rather be reasonable and still get on with them.

Though i don't even think it'll come to that. I'm sure Sky will be able to sort something out, i just might need to help them out organising it as they aren't so good with this sort of thing.

Cheers Alan. £65 is roughly what i thought.

Funnily enough after my recent debacle with Sky, we've had a £120 install charge, then a £120 credit on our bill, then £499 charge, and £499 credit for the 1.5tb Sky+HD box

Top that off they still got our bill wrong again, no refund for the Sky broadband that they cancelled after we paid in advance for it, and they tried to bill us another £41.75 on the multiroom box. Fortunately i now have a hotline to the directors office complaints team to deal with things straight away!
powder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2011, 14:26   #782
LouBarlow
Retired Member
 
LouBarlow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 55,655
Thanks: 923
Thanked 979 Times in 620 Posts
Installer replaced our box today and didn't even ask about the old one so now have two boxes

The new one seems to run pretty warm though towards the top middle/rear. Is anyone elses the same? Also where have the contrast settings gone?
LouBarlow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2011, 20:33   #783
powder
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 3,316
Thanks: 14
Thanked 16 Times in 14 Posts
Did notice that our 890 box ran pretty warm exactly where you said, but figured that was where the hard drive was. Haven't noticed on the 895 yet, may have to check it now.

Oh and Sky managed to cockup our bill again this month, so it's a £50 overcharge, which has apparently been credited to our account already so next month should only be a tenner but i won't hold my breath!
powder is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanked once by:
LouBarlow (05-07-2011)
Old 06-07-2011, 13:56   #784
LouBarlow
Retired Member
 
LouBarlow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 55,655
Thanks: 923
Thanked 979 Times in 620 Posts
Cheers.

I must say, after a day with the new box I am very happy indeed. The image is slightly softer but that seems to make it more forgivable when it comes to blocking etc. It is also far better at deinterlacing. There are none of the jaggies I had on our old Thomson.

It is also quieter and more nippy when moving between menus. Overall very happy.
LouBarlow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2011, 16:26   #785
Alan b
Administrator
 
Alan b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 35,049
Thanks: 171
Thanked 1,285 Times in 581 Posts
http://www.sky.com/mysky/enjoymore/entertainment

Sky prize freeze this year as well as the changes to the packages so some will end with extra channels for no extra cost this year. Plus confirmation that the HD charge will be per account and not per box come 1st September:

http://www.sky.com/mysky/indexb.html

Quote:
From September your HD subscription will cover your whole home so with over 54 channels available, the whole family can enjoy stunning high definition.
Alan b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2011, 18:35   #786
boonspoon
SILENCE!! I KEEEEL YOU!!
 
boonspoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Glasgow, Scotland
Posts: 4,688
Thanks: 11
Thanked 47 Times in 17 Posts
So if we already have an HD box in the house, we could get another HD box and not pay for a 2nd HD sub? Just paying for the box itself?
__________________
What happens if you pour Dettol into a Yakult???
I'm on the Twitters... - Bah Gawd, he must be broken in half!!
boonspoon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2011, 18:46   #787
LouBarlow
Retired Member
 
LouBarlow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 55,655
Thanks: 923
Thanked 979 Times in 620 Posts
We have 2 and already get HD channels on the other, which only has a freesat for sky card in it
LouBarlow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2011, 20:34   #788
Alan b
Administrator
 
Alan b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 35,049
Thanks: 171
Thanked 1,285 Times in 581 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by boonspoon View Post
So if we already have an HD box in the house, we could get another HD box and not pay for a 2nd HD sub? Just paying for the box itself?
You would have to pay for a multiroom sub but you wouldn't have to pay a second HD sub.

Quote:
Originally Posted by LouBarlow View Post
We have 2 and already get HD channels on the other, which only has a freesat for sky card in it
On the freesat box are you sure you are not getting just the free ones from the likes of the BBC, ITV, CH4 and CH5 ?
Alan b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2011, 21:09   #789
boonspoon
SILENCE!! I KEEEEL YOU!!
 
boonspoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Glasgow, Scotland
Posts: 4,688
Thanks: 11
Thanked 47 Times in 17 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alan b View Post
You would have to pay for a multiroom sub but you wouldn't have to pay a second HD sub.
Sorry, meant to say that we already have another (normal) SKY+ box in the house already, as well as a HD one. So would it just be the cost of a new HD box?
__________________
What happens if you pour Dettol into a Yakult???
I'm on the Twitters... - Bah Gawd, he must be broken in half!!
boonspoon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2011, 21:19   #790
Alan b
Administrator
 
Alan b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 35,049
Thanks: 171
Thanked 1,285 Times in 581 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by boonspoon View Post
So would it just be the cost of a new HD box?
Yes. I have almost the same as you apart from from my other box is an old standard box which I am looking at replacing.
Alan b is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanked once by:
boonspoon (08-07-2011)
Old 08-07-2011, 21:48   #791
boonspoon
SILENCE!! I KEEEEL YOU!!
 
boonspoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Glasgow, Scotland
Posts: 4,688
Thanks: 11
Thanked 47 Times in 17 Posts
Ah sweet..... thanks.
__________________
What happens if you pour Dettol into a Yakult???
I'm on the Twitters... - Bah Gawd, he must be broken in half!!
boonspoon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2011, 21:51   #792
powder
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 3,316
Thanks: 14
Thanked 16 Times in 14 Posts
That is good news. Just got to upgrade to a HD tv in my bedroom or setup the projector.

Biggest bonus will be that Anytime will actually be of some use on my 890 box - without a HD sub i can pretty much watch about 2% of the Anytime content!
powder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2011, 22:03   #793
Deron
PS4 Gamertag: D3RONG
 
Deron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Birmingham
Posts: 12,565
Thanks: 55
Thanked 96 Times in 57 Posts
I can finally upgrade the sky+ in the bedroom...
__________________
"If you can't support us when we lose or draw, don't support us when we win." Bill Shankly
500px
Deron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2011, 22:32   #794
drainman
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 239
Thanks: 7
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
When I had the box changed recently for anytime+ (which I cannot get as I am with Virgin Media for my broadband) they left the old HD box behind. Already have multiroom so will be sticking the old HD box in come 1 Sept.
drainman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2011, 02:57   #795
LouBarlow
Retired Member
 
LouBarlow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 55,655
Thanks: 923
Thanked 979 Times in 620 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alan b View Post
On the freesat box are you sure you are not getting just the free ones from the likes of the BBC, ITV, CH4 and CH5 ?
Ahhh so in effect it will be like getting multiroom for free? Otherwise, I don't see any advantage.
LouBarlow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2011, 09:00   #796
Deron
PS4 Gamertag: D3RONG
 
Deron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Birmingham
Posts: 12,565
Thanks: 55
Thanked 96 Times in 57 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by LouBarlow View Post
Ahhh so in effect it will be like getting multiroom for free? Otherwise, I don't see any advantage.
If you wanted a 2nd hd box in another room, you'd have to pay £10 for multiroom to mirror your normal sub and another £10 for another HD sub.

Now they are getting rid of the extra £10 HD charge for the extra boxes. I wanted a HD box in my bedroom but refused to pay another HD charge. They've been offering me a Hd box for ages, but I didn't want an extra £10 charge.
__________________
"If you can't support us when we lose or draw, don't support us when we win." Bill Shankly
500px
Deron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2011, 12:10   #797
ascender
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Schottland
Posts: 5,172
Thanks: 200
Thanked 105 Times in 82 Posts
Just wanted to check.... what size of HDD should be in these boxes that Sky are replacing for free? For some reason I can't view historic orders on the Account page, but Sky came this morning when I was out and it looks like the new box is 250GB (+250 services I'm guessing), so that's 500GB but I thought these replacements were supposed to be 1TB models?
ascender is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2011, 12:44   #798
Deron
PS4 Gamertag: D3RONG
 
Deron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Birmingham
Posts: 12,565
Thanks: 55
Thanked 96 Times in 57 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ascender View Post
Just wanted to check.... what size of HDD should be in these boxes that Sky are replacing for free? For some reason I can't view historic orders on the Account page, but Sky came this morning when I was out and it looks like the new box is 250GB (+250 services I'm guessing), so that's 500GB but I thought these replacements were supposed to be 1TB models?
Standard boxes should be 500gb, which is bigger than the original ones...

The 1tb boxes have 1tb for personal recordings and 500gb for anytime...

As far as I'm aware, they aren't available for free...you may get the option to buy at £150...
__________________
"If you can't support us when we lose or draw, don't support us when we win." Bill Shankly
500px
Deron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2011, 12:56   #799
Niceguygeoff
I Do Deny Them My Essence
 
Niceguygeoff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Swanage, Dorset
Posts: 10,176
Thanks: 129
Thanked 49 Times in 30 Posts
Already got another HD box in t'other room (picked it up cheap on ebay a while ago) so I'm all set for September.
Niceguygeoff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2011, 13:23   #800
powder
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 3,316
Thanks: 14
Thanked 16 Times in 14 Posts
As above the standard Sky+HD boxes now given out are the 890 models - 500gb drives with it split 250/250 for personal and sky use. The bigger box you have to pay for is 1.5tb drive split 1000/500 personal and sky.

THe bigger boxes were on offer to some people for £49 when taking out multiroom.
powder is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
EPG, sky, sky hd, SkyHD

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Official SPL 2009/10 thread - "The Establishment's" Favourite Thread on the Forums!! boonspoon Sports Forum 440 09-05-2010 17:34
The 'Official' MMA Thread Guest 522 Sports Forum 1001 05-03-2007 18:05
*The Official PS3 Thread* TimJBart Video Games Forum 1029 08-09-2006 16:27
Official Liverpool 06 - 07 Thread - The Official Pedant thread! Guest 816 Sports Forum 1013 06-09-2006 10:09
The one and only official "official"Tru calling thread... Lorne.t Television Discussion 79 23-03-2005 19:37

All times are GMT. The time now is 18:41.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018 Poisonous Monkey Ltd. Part of The Digital Fix Network