Go Back   Forums @ The Digital Fix > Gadgets and Gizmos > Home Entertainment Hardware forum

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 26-05-2011, 09:05   #721
T4V
PSN=The4thViewer XBL=t4v
 
T4V's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Lave
Posts: 18,469
Thanks: 246
Thanked 496 Times in 244 Posts
Isn't it good to know that even the pro's double post?

Last edited by T4V; 26-05-2011 at 09:25.
T4V is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-05-2011, 09:23   #722
douglasb
Suedehead.
 
douglasb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Exiled in England
Posts: 11,045
Thanks: 145
Thanked 885 Times in 538 Posts
Thomson box about 14 months old. Has started to freeze when playing back stuff in the planner. Have to crash the box by unplugging 'cos it just just won't do anything.

And, of course, there's always stuff on there that you should've got round to backing up ...
douglasb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-05-2011, 10:45   #723
Hoskas
Trusted User
 
Hoskas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Stirling, Scotland
Posts: 603
Thanks: 33
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by captaineyecatch View Post
Would like to upgrade my old sky box(also have a 2nd old minibox downstairs) to sky+HD But dont want it connected to phone lines (mainly as we use digi cordless phones so have no phone line apart from next to main wall socket downstairs).
Is this possible? and how much will Sky charge as all i can see in the t&c's is the boxes must be connected to phone line for 12 months?
Hi,

Alan is right, Sky will charge extra, making your £10.25 extra subscription up to the full cost of your main subscription essentially making you pay the full whack twice, if they dont get call backs from all your boxes but from the sounds of it you have multiroom already and you couldve already started to get the warning letters(you get three then charged)
__________________
Free roaming Lurkage since 2001.

Last edited by Hoskas; 26-05-2011 at 10:46. Reason: rewording
Hoskas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-05-2011, 22:01   #724
captaineyecatch
Slatanic Wehrmacht Capt.
 
captaineyecatch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: South of Heaven
Posts: 3,388
Thanks: 61
Thanked 283 Times in 109 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hoskas View Post
Hi,

Alan is right, Sky will charge extra, making your £10.25 extra subscription up to the full cost of your main subscription essentially making you pay the full whack twice, if they dont get call backs from all your boxes but from the sounds of it you have multiroom already and you couldve already started to get the warning letters(you get three then charged)
Thanks for the info but should of made it clearer.. Already have 2 boxes (both very old 7+ years old neither of them are Sky+ boxes) and neither are connected to phone lines and pay full sub on both - not bothered about that. What i want to know is can i upgrade to SkyHD+ box with it not being connected to phone line and how much will it cost??
__________________
My Blu-ray and DVD Collection
captaineyecatch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-05-2011, 22:58   #725
powder
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 3,316
Thanks: 14
Thanked 16 Times in 14 Posts
If only you get 3 letters and then charged. Over the last 12months we've been charged 3-4 times, and have then been able to get the money back. One time it was genuinely a dodgy cable, another time the box was faulty, another time the box had died and was unplugged (which Sky knew about), and the last time the replacement box the engineer brought was set to hide the number it was calling from.

In the last 18months i think we have had in total something like 3-4 months where Sky hasn't cost us anything, as they have given us credits for either extra charges they've made previously, or goodwill gestures for repeatedly cocking up our account.

Much as it's nice to save a bit of money, i'd rather just pay what i expect to pay, and have the service work!
powder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2011, 14:59   #726
powder
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 3,316
Thanks: 14
Thanked 16 Times in 14 Posts
Bizarrely for the first time in god knows how long, we've had a letter about a box not dialling up warning us that we will be charged for it.

So will now have to check that. Possible that the old and repaired Thomson box i have with component out is playing up. Even more bizarre now is that the indian guy i have been passed back to (been on the phone 80+ mins now) is saying that they will replace the box with a newer one so it will work with Anytime+

So they won't help me to cancel multiroom, can't give me a price less than £200 for a 1TB upgrade on my main subscription box, but are now saying that they will likely for free swap out the second hand box that i never even sourced from Sky?

This lot are bloody bonkers
powder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2011, 16:14   #727
anephric
Kidney Thief
 
anephric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Derby, UK
Posts: 22,698
Thanks: 33
Thanked 120 Times in 76 Posts
I've never, ever had my Sky+ box or SkyHD box connected to the phone line except upon installation, and then I unplugged them. Once, when I rang up about my broadband, they asked why the box wasn't connected - I said the broadband was already dodgy enough (it was) without me connecting anything else up to the phone. They didn't say anything else and carried on.

Never been charged, never had a warning letter.
__________________
www.khaaan.com
anephric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2011, 16:44   #728
powder
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 3,316
Thanks: 14
Thanked 16 Times in 14 Posts
They're so unreliable. Not only do they say one thing to one customer, and a different thing to another, but you can ring up and be told one thing before being told that isn't possible only a short while later.

Going to draft up a complaint to the Directors office i think.
powder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2011, 09:43   #729
Alan b
Administrator
 
Alan b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 35,049
Thanks: 171
Thanked 1,285 Times in 581 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by anephric View Post
Never been charged, never had a warning letter.
If you have been with Sky for over 12 months they will not bother you anyway.
Alan b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2011, 11:50   #730
anephric
Kidney Thief
 
anephric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Derby, UK
Posts: 22,698
Thanks: 33
Thanked 120 Times in 76 Posts
I thought the T&Cs for SkyHD said that it has to be plugged in all the time? Beyond 12 months?
__________________
www.khaaan.com
anephric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2011, 12:06   #731
cjanderson
2 phalanxs and a catapult
 
cjanderson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 35,801
Thanks: 381
Thanked 170 Times in 107 Posts
i always thought it was multiroom that 100% needed the box plugged in?

normal skyHD you don't/they won't be bothered if it isn't.
cjanderson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2011, 14:19   #732
Guest 24104
Malvinas son Argentinas
 
Guest 24104's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 2,298
Thanks: 5
Thanked 14 Times in 14 Posts
I paid something like £20 when I signed up for a new Sky HD contract in November so I wouldn't have to have my box plugged in all the time.
Guest 24104 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2011, 14:27   #733
LouBarlow
Retired Member
 
LouBarlow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 55,655
Thanks: 923
Thanked 979 Times in 620 Posts
I haven't had my phoneline in for years and years, even when we switched to HD.
LouBarlow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2011, 15:33   #734
powder
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 3,316
Thanks: 14
Thanked 16 Times in 14 Posts
I think if you have multiroom it's required on all boxes, but if not then they are far less stringent.
powder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2011, 17:40   #735
Alan b
Administrator
 
Alan b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 35,049
Thanks: 171
Thanked 1,285 Times in 581 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by powder View Post
I think if you have multiroom it's required on all boxes, but if not then they are far less stringent.
That is it, if you don't have multiroom then beyond a 12 month contract it isn't an issue but if you have multiple boxes then they have to be connected all the time.
Alan b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2011, 16:43   #736
powder
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 3,316
Thanks: 14
Thanked 16 Times in 14 Posts
Fingers crossed it won't be an issue for me for long, just logged into MySKy and sent an email requesting cancellation of Multiroom. They said they could do it on the phone, but after i came back to cancellations from the Customer Service (LOL) team who dealt with something else, i was told that it was physically impossible for them to do it.

Best offer i could get regarding a 1Tb box was to sign up to 12more months of SkyWorld & HD, take out multiroom, and pay the full whack for it all - and get the box for £99 self install.

Hoping that i can cancel multiroom, then look at getting the £49 deal others have got, and if at all possible a discount on the main sub for 6months. Something like that.

In the perfect world it'd be something similar to the last deal of 6months 25% off the main sub price, which would mean multiroom wouldn't cost any extra. Doubt it though, feel like i have been blacklisted
powder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2011, 10:33   #737
powder
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 3,316
Thanks: 14
Thanked 16 Times in 14 Posts
Letter through the post today "as you've been with Sky for over 3 years we'd like to offer you a free Sky+HD box (with free standard setup and free wired sky anytime)".

Weird. It's not long since our primary box got replaced. The offer says that they will take the old box away. So the question is - the box i have now is mine right? So i could take my old box, put it in the lounge, phone Sky and get them to replace the old box for free?

Seems mad, i actually want to pay for the 1Tb box, apparently on offer for £49 if you take multiroom.

Will give the line a call and see what they say.
powder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2011, 13:43   #738
powder
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 3,316
Thanks: 14
Thanked 16 Times in 14 Posts
Only me, posting again!

Sky have only gone and cancelled our broadband service! I got given a whole bunch of reasons why, but of course they are completely contradictory to the advice given when i rang to enquire about moving the phoneline back to BT, but keep our broadband with Sky.

So if we did want ADSL we would have to wait 15days as it would be a new install apparently. Oh and it would cost us more than it did before.

Sky, you have actually managed to get even worse in terms of CS.

Fortunately BT Infinity service will be installed next Thursday, £25 a month for a touch under 15mb download.
powder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2011, 15:17   #739
Jedibitch
XBL - groovephil
 
Jedibitch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Bridgnorth
Posts: 4,833
Thanks: 70
Thanked 123 Times in 63 Posts
If you think Sky are bad just wait to you have a BT issue.

I had to restart the BT router every couple of hours when I was with them, their customer service is appalling.
__________________

I didn't like you very much when I met you and now I like you even less.

The Wonder Stuff
Jedibitch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2011, 15:24   #740
powder
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 3,316
Thanks: 14
Thanked 16 Times in 14 Posts
There's certainly bad customer service everywhere, Sky just never seem to stop cocking up. I've had problems with BT before, but touch wood usually they've done what they said they would, or charged what they are supposed to.

Things going wrong i can handle, **** happens. I just like it to be dealt with, even if it takes a while. With Sky i can check every step of a 6stage conversation, get a note put on the account, then a month later be back at square one.
powder is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
EPG, sky, sky hd, SkyHD

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Official SPL 2009/10 thread - "The Establishment's" Favourite Thread on the Forums!! boonspoon Sports Forum 440 09-05-2010 17:34
The 'Official' MMA Thread Guest 522 Sports Forum 1001 05-03-2007 18:05
*The Official PS3 Thread* TimJBart Video Games Forum 1029 08-09-2006 16:27
Official Liverpool 06 - 07 Thread - The Official Pedant thread! Guest 816 Sports Forum 1013 06-09-2006 10:09
The one and only official "official"Tru calling thread... Lorne.t Television Discussion 79 23-03-2005 19:37

All times are GMT. The time now is 01:17.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018 Poisonous Monkey Ltd. Part of The Digital Fix Network