Go Back   Forums @ The Digital Fix > Gadgets and Gizmos > Home Entertainment Hardware forum

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 27-03-2010, 08:12   #461
Bapapapa
ᗧ。。。。。。ᗣᗣᗣᗣ
 
Bapapapa's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 15,524
Thanks: 155
Thanked 104 Times in 56 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by AdamBrunt View Post
If I take the splitter (which I got from here) out of the equation then the sound comes out.
Reading the description that's doing the opposite of what you want- ie. it's splitting the output and sending to two inputs.

You prolly need a switch like this (from the same seller).
Bapapapa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-03-2010, 13:24   #462
Guest 65023
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 888
Thanks: 4
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Am I imagining it, or have volume levels dropped on SKY over the last couple of days?
Guest 65023 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-03-2010, 13:23   #463
mjb1975
Blandiblub
 
mjb1975's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Kent
Posts: 12,227
Thanks: 27
Thanked 127 Times in 96 Posts
Nope, I've noticed it's quieter too. Usually have the volume on my amp anywhere between -50 and -45 and have had to increase that to about -42 to -40 over the last week or so.

Weird.
__________________
'Haven't you ever practiced on one of your girlfriends?'
mjb1975 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2010, 18:34   #464
TigaSefi
Xbox Live/PS3 : TigaSefi
 
TigaSefi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 18,752
Thanks: 49
Thanked 96 Times in 62 Posts
ITV HD launches from tomorrow at 6am on channel 178 "apparently" after I saw the listing in the HD part of the Sky planner.
TigaSefi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2010, 20:41   #465
Alan b
Administrator
 
Alan b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 35,049
Thanks: 171
Thanked 1,285 Times in 581 Posts
It would be nice to have a ITV4 HD channel as they do show a fair bit of sport along with some classic stuff.
Alan b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2010, 08:38   #466
DM
Self Abuser
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 25,404
Thanks: 114
Thanked 121 Times in 73 Posts
Just checked, Jeremy Kyle in HD.
DM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2010, 09:20   #467
T4V
PSN=The4thViewer XBL=t4v
 
T4V's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Lave
Posts: 18,464
Thanks: 246
Thanked 496 Times in 244 Posts
Its not in HD, ITVHD is just like C4HD in the sense that it just shows the same as its non HD channel whether its in HD or not. The first thing today in HD on there is King Kong at 10:15pm. On the plus side its a copy of ITV1 London so it'll save you having to hunt it down in the high 900's

Last edited by T4V; 02-04-2010 at 09:22.
T4V is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2010, 10:22   #468
boonspoon
SILENCE!! I KEEEEL YOU!!
 
boonspoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Glasgow, Scotland
Posts: 4,688
Thanks: 11
Thanked 47 Times in 17 Posts
Apparently Scottish viewers don't get ITVHD...

You apparently need to have an English or Welsh postcode to receive it!!

What a load of rubbish!
__________________
What happens if you pour Dettol into a Yakult???
I'm on the Twitters... - Bah Gawd, he must be broken in half!!
boonspoon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2010, 12:58   #469
Deron
PS4 Gamertag: D3RONG
 
Deron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Birmingham
Posts: 12,565
Thanks: 55
Thanked 96 Times in 57 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by boonspoon View Post
Apparently Scottish viewers don't get ITVHD...

You apparently need to have an English or Welsh postcode to receive it!!

What a load of rubbish!
Think everyone can still get it manually...but not as part of their epg...which means no recording.
__________________
"If you can't support us when we lose or draw, don't support us when we win." Bill Shankly
500px

Last edited by Deron; 02-04-2010 at 12:58.
Deron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2010, 12:59   #470
boonspoon
SILENCE!! I KEEEEL YOU!!
 
boonspoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Glasgow, Scotland
Posts: 4,688
Thanks: 11
Thanked 47 Times in 17 Posts
I think that route is being taken down today as well.

It's because of this ongoing spat between STV and ITV.

I work at STV.... now who I can go after and beat up to get it sorted.....
__________________
What happens if you pour Dettol into a Yakult???
I'm on the Twitters... - Bah Gawd, he must be broken in half!!
boonspoon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2010, 18:10   #471
Guest 857
XBL: Evil Gizzle
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 2,284
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Here's a question - I have had SkyHD installed today and the box the decoder came in was a plain black and white box with Sky branding. I noticed that it said 250GB, is that the standard size?
Guest 857 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2010, 18:12   #472
deanos
You can call me Deano
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Lincolnshire
Posts: 4,867
Thanks: 2
Thanked 40 Times in 13 Posts
Yeah 250gb it the latest box it was 160gb
__________________
> <
deanos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2010, 09:25   #473
ascender
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Schottland
Posts: 5,172
Thanks: 200
Thanked 105 Times in 82 Posts
My Thomson box seems to be on its last legs, but it still seems to be rated as a very good receiver if you get the PSU problem sorted out. Given the feedback on newer boxes, instead of going for a refurb or a new one I think I'll just get the PSU sorted and put a 1TB HDD in to it.
ascender is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-04-2010, 08:50   #474
Guest 22713
Bronze Trader
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Scotland
Posts: 431
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 4 Posts
So I now have Sky+HD and have decided to stay connected to the amp via phono cables. I know it's not 5.1 I'll get but I can live with that for now!
When I connect the HDMI switcher I am planning to put it into HDMI(1) on the TV then put Sky and the PS3 into hdmi 1 and 2 respectively on the switcher. I'm goin to have the home cinema connected to the tv in HDMI(2) and not going through the switcher at all.
I take it everyone agrees with this?
My question is this, will I lose and quality in the ps3 or with sky with them both going thro the switcher?
And is the silver HDMI supplied with the box any good or should I get a gold plated one?

Any suggestions to help would be very much appreciated thanks!
Guest 22713 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-04-2010, 19:08   #475
Guest 22713
Bronze Trader
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Scotland
Posts: 431
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 4 Posts
Anyone???
Guest 22713 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-04-2010, 20:00   #476
groover22
Trusted User
 
groover22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Tewkesbury
Posts: 741
Thanks: 33
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
AFAIK picture quality will be unaffected by using an HDMI switcher.

Also, the HMDI lead that came with the box will be fine, gold plated leads won't improve the picture any.

Someone feel free to correct me if i'm wrong.

hth.
__________________
Add me on -
PSN: groover22
Live: groovus22
groover22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-04-2010, 08:47   #477
ascender
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Schottland
Posts: 5,172
Thanks: 200
Thanked 105 Times in 82 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by groover22 View Post
AFAIK picture quality will be unaffected by using an HDMI switcher.

Also, the HMDI lead that came with the box will be fine, gold plated leads won't improve the picture any.

Someone feel free to correct me if i'm wrong.

hth.
That was my understanding too.

Had my Thomson box overhauled, new fan, repaired PSU and 1TB HDD. Difference in reliability is amazing.
ascender is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-05-2010, 14:31   #478
john316
XBL: morro316
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Aigburth, Liverpool, UK, Europe, The World
Posts: 28,783
Thanks: 7
Thanked 49 Times in 20 Posts
Just got off the phone with Sky and got myself a 1tb box upgrade for £179 (£149 plus £30 delivery for self install)! A fair saving on the standard 1tb box from Sky and should be a major upgrade on the crappy old Thomson boxes. On I think my 5th refurb Thomson and this one was on the way out as well now!

EDIT: BTW, its an offer for those Sky HD customers who had the HD box installed on or soon after the initial launch. I got my HD upgrade initially around 5 months after it went live.

Last edited by john316; 15-05-2010 at 14:51.
john316 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-05-2010, 14:40   #479
boonspoon
SILENCE!! I KEEEEL YOU!!
 
boonspoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Glasgow, Scotland
Posts: 4,688
Thanks: 11
Thanked 47 Times in 17 Posts
Is there any way to bypass the parental controls on a SKYHD box??

Been wanting to watch stuff that's on Anytime but because some of it is rated 15 or over, it's asking for a PIN number. I've never set it on the box before so I don't know why it's asking for one. Someone said once that it's the last 4 numbers of your viewing card number but I've tried that too but nothing.

Anyone help?? It's a major PITA....
__________________
What happens if you pour Dettol into a Yakult???
I'm on the Twitters... - Bah Gawd, he must be broken in half!!
boonspoon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-05-2010, 15:00   #480
ascender
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Schottland
Posts: 5,172
Thanks: 200
Thanked 105 Times in 82 Posts
Yes, default is last 4 digits of card number. Without it, you need to phone Sky. Not sure if you can completely disable it though, I seem to remember Sky saying it was a requirement from ofcom if they're to screen certain stuff during the day. Check out digital spy, there's loads of topics about this stuff on there.
ascender is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
EPG, sky, sky hd, SkyHD

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Official SPL 2009/10 thread - "The Establishment's" Favourite Thread on the Forums!! boonspoon Sports Forum 440 09-05-2010 17:34
The 'Official' MMA Thread Guest 522 Sports Forum 1001 05-03-2007 18:05
*The Official PS3 Thread* TimJBart Video Games Forum 1029 08-09-2006 16:27
Official Liverpool 06 - 07 Thread - The Official Pedant thread! Guest 816 Sports Forum 1013 06-09-2006 10:09
The one and only official "official"Tru calling thread... Lorne.t Television Discussion 79 23-03-2005 19:37

All times are GMT. The time now is 12:47.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018 Poisonous Monkey Ltd. Part of The Digital Fix Network