Go Back   Forums @ The Digital Fix > Gadgets and Gizmos > Home Entertainment Hardware forum > Home Media Streaming Forum

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 13-06-2009, 11:27   #81
Toge
North London is red
 
Toge's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: London via Essex
Posts: 7,791
Thanks: 77
Thanked 43 Times in 32 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boink! View Post
Royal mail recorded post is only £2.85, so you can get it for £68.83. Bargain.
gone back up?
__________________
My sales thread | Trader Feedback
Toge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-06-2009, 12:01   #82
biggis
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Aberdeen
Posts: 449
Thanks: 1
Thanked 8 Times in 3 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by powder View Post
Has anyone used XBMC on a small pc of some sort? Could be tempted by one of those new Acer HTPCs based on the Nvidia Ion platform to do something like this.

Main thing is lack of noise and easy to use interface otherwise the family will moan
After using XBMC on several xbox's religiously for the last 6 years I built a nice AMD phenom X3 HTPC and stuck XBMC atlantis on it. Its rubbish. BUggy as hell and ridiculously slow compared to the xbox.

Then I put on Media portal. Blows the crap out of XBMC. Bit more fiddly to set up but once it is its fantastic. Moving pictures and MyTVSeries make you feel super slick
biggis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2009, 23:57   #83
singhstar
battery aziz
 
singhstar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 841
Thanks: 8
Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
if you have a usb powered hd plugged in does the wdtv turn off the power to the hd when it is turned off by remote? if anyone has one i would really appreciate if someone could have a try for me. thanks in advance
singhstar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2009, 01:18   #84
Boink!
Politics, eh?
 
Boink!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Part of Europe
Posts: 23,509
Thanks: 1,254
Thanked 3,386 Times in 1,130 Posts
I have a Seagate external drive attached to my WDTV and it does indeed power down the external drive when you turn the unit off. You can also 'eject' any of your (2 max) usb drives seperately and that powers them down as well.
One thing I have found with the external Seagate is that sometimes the drive doesn't come on automatically with the WDTV.
HTH
Boink! is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2009, 10:51   #85
singhstar
battery aziz
 
singhstar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 841
Thanks: 8
Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
excellent, thanks a lot - it was the power down that was most important
singhstar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2009, 12:21   #86
Guest 7237
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 5,367
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
My Seagate Freeagent doesn't power down
Guest 7237 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-07-2009, 22:23   #87
danielsesay
Your Oh Vision!
 
danielsesay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Londonshire
Posts: 4,582
Thanks: 9
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Ordered mine from Amazon for £76.93. Can't wait to try it out.

Has anyone tried plugging a Creative Zen Vision M into one of these? I've heard it recognised iPods so I will give my Zen a try. If it doesn't work then I have two large external drives anyway, but I will probably eventally get a couple of WD Passports.
danielsesay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-07-2009, 08:11   #88
Boink!
Politics, eh?
 
Boink!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Part of Europe
Posts: 23,509
Thanks: 1,254
Thanked 3,386 Times in 1,130 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter UK View Post
My Seagate Freeagent doesn't power down
Not even when you disconnect the drive?
Boink! is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 21-07-2009, 08:22   #89
Guest 7237
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 5,367
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
No when I 'Eject', although the player doesn't recognise a drive being attached any more, the HD is still powered and active and doesn't power down.

So I either have to physcially remove the USB leads from the player or switch it off at the mains.

Last edited by Peter UK; 21-07-2009 at 08:22.
Guest 7237 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-07-2009, 14:13   #90
BigH
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Brighton
Posts: 5,396
Thanks: 20
Thanked 36 Times in 27 Posts
thinking of getting one of these for the brother-in-law. Can anyone let me know:-

1. does it have bookmarks (ie remembering where you're up to in a film?)

2. do mkv's in 1080p still have problems playing?
__________________
I love my dead gay son
BigH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-07-2009, 15:53   #91
Guest 1123
XBL:rpcdrag0n/PSN:andyp77
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Cardiff
Posts: 2,318
Thanks: 0
Thanked 15 Times in 8 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigH View Post

1. does it have bookmarks (ie remembering where you're up to in a film?)
Yep sure does, asks you to start from where you left off or you hit cancel to go from the beginning again.
Guest 1123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-07-2009, 15:54   #92
Guest 1123
XBL:rpcdrag0n/PSN:andyp77
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Cardiff
Posts: 2,318
Thanks: 0
Thanked 15 Times in 8 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter UK View Post
No when I 'Eject', although the player doesn't recognise a drive being attached any more, the HD is still powered and active and doesn't power down.

So I either have to physcially remove the USB leads from the player or switch it off at the mains.
I have a WD mybook and it's exactly the same, Ijust remove the USB cable from the side and it powers down.
Guest 1123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-07-2009, 16:51   #93
CORTEZ2112
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: N.WALES
Posts: 524
Thanks: 54
Thanked 20 Times in 8 Posts
Any news on new firmware.Still waiting for gapless audio.
CORTEZ2112 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-07-2009, 18:26   #94
BigH
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Brighton
Posts: 5,396
Thanks: 20
Thanked 36 Times in 27 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by andyp2 View Post
Yep sure does, asks you to start from where you left off or you hit cancel to go from the beginning again.
thanks for that

with problems with mkv's, are all problems sorted by remuxing to ts?
__________________
I love my dead gay son
BigH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-07-2009, 18:41   #95
Boink!
Politics, eh?
 
Boink!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Part of Europe
Posts: 23,509
Thanks: 1,254
Thanked 3,386 Times in 1,130 Posts
The couple of DTS ones I've tried, remuxing sorts it out prefectly.
Also, the bookmarks work with any number of videos, not just the last one you watched (which is very handy). Haven't tried it with audio though.
Boink! is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 26-07-2009, 08:04   #96
Robby
XBL- iRobz PSN - PSiRobz
 
Robby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: ‎"Wearing out more picks than Hendrix on a Caffeine drip"
Posts: 8,625
Thanks: 270
Thanked 158 Times in 94 Posts
Probably a really daft question to ask here but has anyone hooked this up to a standard def CRT TV via the composite cables? If so what are the results like? I realise HD stuff won't display but what about regular SD material?
Robby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-07-2009, 08:40   #97
alsemail
Bibble....
 
alsemail's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 6,873
Thanks: 986
Thanked 670 Times in 386 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigH View Post
with problems with mkv's, are all problems sorted by remuxing to ts?
Or you can keep it as an mkv file and add an AC3 soundtrack to the file, giving you more options later on by using the freeware popcorn audio converter.

http://audioconverter.heartware.dk/Tutorial/

EDIT - Ignore me as it seems we're talking ab out different issues.

Last edited by alsemail; 26-07-2009 at 09:02.
alsemail is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-07-2009, 09:33   #98
tizza
cranial deficient
 
tizza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 16,801
Thanks: 570
Thanked 437 Times in 331 Posts
Im after a bit of info..fancy getting something like this. I see from the back picture this doesnt have component, can I get a hdmi to comp lead to enable it to play HD on a projector which isn hdmi equipped? It does have optical audio doesnt it?
tizza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-07-2009, 22:39   #99
danielsesay
Your Oh Vision!
 
danielsesay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Londonshire
Posts: 4,582
Thanks: 9
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Well I got mine last week and I'm very impressed with it so far. I've watched some of my videos and the quality is very good. It works with my 300GB Maxtor and 1TB Toshiba drives.

Quote:
Originally Posted by danielsesay View Post
Has anyone tried plugging a Creative Zen Vision M into one of these? I've heard it recognised iPods so I will give my Zen a try. If it doesn't work then I have two large external drives anyway, but I will probably eventally get a couple of WD Passports.
It doesn't work my Zen unfortunately (so that throws that idea out), but it works with my Sony Walkman (plays all the MP4 videos I have on it too). I'll use my mains powered Toshiba drive for now but will eventually get a WD Passport to save me having to run a HD off of the mains while using it and to save me having to cart the larger drive to and from the PC.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Robby View Post
Probably a really daft question to ask here but has anyone hooked this up to a standard def CRT TV via the composite cables? If so what are the results like? I realise HD stuff won't display but what about regular SD material?
It displays fine on my 28" Grundig CRT. Good quality and very happy with it. You do get some slight motion blur (barely noticable though) but I think that's because this device is designed with higher quality LCD/Plasma displays in mind. We're planning to upgrade the TV soon anyway so the quality should improve. Also you have to bear in mind the quality of the files you playback on the device (it will vary due to codec, file type, size etc).
danielsesay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-07-2009, 05:43   #100
Robby
XBL- iRobz PSN - PSiRobz
 
Robby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: ‎"Wearing out more picks than Hendrix on a Caffeine drip"
Posts: 8,625
Thanks: 270
Thanked 158 Times in 94 Posts
Cheers Daniel, good to know.
Robby is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
Media Player, Western Digital, Western Digital WD TV HD

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Western Digital WD TV HD Media Player Dan Home Entertainment Hardware forum 4 14-12-2008 23:32
Digital Media Player Guest 18643 Suppliers and Shopping Forum 3 08-12-2006 13:08
BT Voyager Digital Media Player £49.95 still £149 @ BT Guest 1338 Bargain Forum 11 30-11-2005 15:54

All times are GMT. The time now is 13:56.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018 Poisonous Monkey Ltd. Part of The Digital Fix Network