Go Back   Forums @ The Digital Fix > Gadgets and Gizmos > Home Entertainment Hardware forum > Home Media Streaming Forum

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-01-2009, 14:12   #61
callmecheez
Trusted User
 
callmecheez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,164
Thanks: 5
Thanked 23 Times in 20 Posts
I've worked through the step-by-step on that page, its good, apart from that last (crucial) bit.

I'm storing my movies on an internal IDE drive. . (like you, I guess) ?
__________________
- - - - -
My Flickr
callmecheez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2009, 14:18   #62
LouBarlow
Retired Member
 
LouBarlow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 55,655
Thanks: 923
Thanked 979 Times in 620 Posts
OK, I presume you have mapped the drive on your PC so that it is part of your network? You should then be able to FTP files from your PC to your internal PCH drive. If you have this all working then the GUI should be pretty straight forward. Mine is mapped as Z, so...

Location of your movies : Z:/Video
Set Default Path: make sure NMT player's Hard Disk is selected

The bottom line then should read file:///opt/sybhttpd/localhost.drives/HARD_DISK/Video/

Then it all works fine for me. My internal drive is SATA btw. I presume you have the older model?
LouBarlow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2009, 18:08   #63
Guest 48579
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,313
Thanks: 29
Thanked 15 Times in 12 Posts
Oh boy, this is going to be fun............

On another note, is there a way of archiving stuff off a sky box onto these
Guest 48579 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2009, 18:11   #64
splobber
Administrator
 
splobber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Lake Titicaca
Posts: 67,115
Thanks: 40
Thanked 728 Times in 360 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ******* View Post
Oh boy, this is going to be fun............

On another note, is there a way of archiving stuff off a sky box onto these
Have you tried osmosis?

I received my hard disk today, so should have the unit by the 6th if it is sent out on Monday as per expected.
splobber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2009, 19:00   #65
Guest 48579
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,313
Thanks: 29
Thanked 15 Times in 12 Posts
Where can I buy an osmosis and what is it?

That was good service on the hard disk. I'm probably gonna go that route myself eventually.

I suspect the 6th too - have switched my shift so I will be able to get out to the depot on the day. Lou, can you make sure you're online that evening?
Guest 48579 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2009, 19:34   #66
LouBarlow
Retired Member
 
LouBarlow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 55,655
Thanks: 923
Thanked 979 Times in 620 Posts
It's only complicated if you want fancy front ends. The fancier the front ends, the more complicated it gets.

At the moment I have my YAMJ working as per the pictures I posted before. i.e just click on the poster of the film - which presents you with a brief description - then another click and you are into your movie.

If you want things more complicated than that then start praying.
LouBarlow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2009, 19:49   #67
Guest 48579
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,313
Thanks: 29
Thanked 15 Times in 12 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by LouBarlow View Post

If you want things more complicated than that then start praying.


I must say - I looked on another forum and frightened mysef - but I just want a nice simple interface that plays my media. I may start to mess around with skins but not at first
Guest 48579 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2009, 20:37   #68
Guest 48579
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,313
Thanks: 29
Thanked 15 Times in 12 Posts
I've actually been thinking tonight. I have a load of TV boxset DVDs that I virtually never watch. I often want to, but by the time I've gone into the boxset, found the right episode, hooked up the amp, and the player, and sorted it out, it seems such a hassle.

I might look at the possibility of archiving them on this. Must be a cool way to do it.
Guest 48579 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2009, 15:52   #69
Guest 48579
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,313
Thanks: 29
Thanked 15 Times in 12 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by LouBarlow View Post
Hi,

I only have the jukebox set up to work with the movies on the internal drive. I am not using any jukebox for my networked movies. I use YAMJ for this as the others were far too complicated for what I needed.

Naming the movie files is pretty important. Depending on where the movie has 'come from' ie dvd/Blu ray, I would use the following as an example:

Pulp.Fiction.1994.720p.BluRay.DTS.x264

i.e. the film name / Year of Release/ the resolution it is in (don't worry for SD material ie DVDs) / where it comes from (ie for DVD's put DVD) / soundtrack format / format you have ripped to

You probably could just get away with the name and year, but for completion purposes, I've found naming them as above works, and always points me to the right artwork etc.

To answer your question on the path in the GUI I would need to know how you are storing your movies and where.

The YAMJ wiki is actually pretty helpful

http://code.google.com/p/moviejukebox/
Lou can I ask - does that convention work for TV shows as well? I am taking each episode from DVD and storing them seperately. Would you name them, for example :

Star.Trek.DS9.1.1.emissary.

I see from the wiki that Yamj picks up info on TV shows as well as movies. As I am starting this process now, want to get it right from the start.

TIA.
Guest 48579 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2009, 16:52   #70
LouBarlow
Retired Member
 
LouBarlow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 55,655
Thanks: 923
Thanked 979 Times in 620 Posts
For example, I name my episodes of The Office (US)

the office us s01e01

The 's01e01' bit seems important
LouBarlow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2009, 17:25   #71
Guest 48579
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,313
Thanks: 29
Thanked 15 Times in 12 Posts
Lovely - I can see why that makes sense thinking about it - that's how the database would pick it up!

Top advice, thanks
Guest 48579 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2009, 17:43   #72
DrVenkman
Formerly GrossePointeJack
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 3,373
Thanks: 0
Thanked 15 Times in 11 Posts
It's rare that you'll need that much info for films. I've gone with just the titles and its rarely caused any issues. Unless there's something with the same your fine with just the title.

It picks up TV episodes a lot easier than it used to though.
__________________
Its called the BAG-L325!
It's quality. You can well imagine it hangin about with R2-D2. And when the fan is switched on it looks like it's scanning for life-forms like R2-D2 does on the ice world of Hoth when Luke Skywalker goes missing. Quality in moton. The other day it disappeared. I said, "where's the bag-l gone? have the jawas come to pick it up in the sandcrawler?" to which one of the girls in the office replied, "No, Les the porter!" —Captainchode
DrVenkman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2009, 18:05   #73
Guest 48579
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,313
Thanks: 29
Thanked 15 Times in 12 Posts
What's the best format to use for TV shows for the Popcorn hour to get the best quality?

MP4, M4V, MKV, AVI, or OGM?
Guest 48579 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2009, 19:21   #74
LouBarlow
Retired Member
 
LouBarlow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 55,655
Thanks: 923
Thanked 979 Times in 620 Posts
I would suggest researching the best format full-stop. The PCH will play any of those. It depends on how good you want the quality to be Vs how much space you have for them. If space is no issue just prepare your DVD's as .ISO files. If you want to keep an eye on space, yet use quality, encode to x264 otherwise XviD is your friend.

Think of the encoding method rather than the container
LouBarlow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2009, 11:43   #75
Marek
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: newcastle,england
Posts: 464
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Ordered one of these from advancedmp3 website just before new year when unit was in stock. Staff are back today and the unit is out of stock and wont be getting supplied till end of month at earliest. Dont you hate it when that happens. Just to forewarn anyone who ordered during the christmas break.

This was due to a website discrepency i was told.

cheers
Marek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2009, 17:47   #76
Guest 48579
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,313
Thanks: 29
Thanked 15 Times in 12 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marek View Post
Ordered one of these from advancedmp3 website just before new year when unit was in stock. Staff are back today and the unit is out of stock and wont be getting supplied till end of month at earliest. Dont you hate it when that happens. Just to forewarn anyone who ordered during the christmas break.

This was due to a website discrepency i was told.

cheers
Yeah I'm not happy either because I spoke to them on the phone today, because there was a problem with the card I used (I have moved and forgot to give the new details to the bank).

So I rang them up and they told me that if I placed the order over the phone today they would ship it out tonight, so I paid Ł194 and then got the out of stock email.

Not overjoyed but I suppose a few weeks wait is not the end of the world.

Last edited by Cockeye; 05-01-2009 at 17:48.
Guest 48579 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2009, 17:57   #77
splobber
Administrator
 
splobber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Lake Titicaca
Posts: 67,115
Thanks: 40
Thanked 728 Times in 360 Posts
I ordered mine Christmas Day and it says:

Quote:
Picking

This means that your order has been sent down to our warehouse to check stock levels and to be packed up
No dispatch email though so could be in the same boat as you lot....shouldn't be given I ordered earlier but anyway.
splobber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2009, 18:07   #78
Guest 48579
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,313
Thanks: 29
Thanked 15 Times in 12 Posts
Well, good luck with that I hope you get it.

I guess the guy I was speaking to on the phone was working from website stock levels and if they were wrong he wasn't to know.

At least I know it's paid for rather than worrying about finding Ł200 when it comes in. And it gives me more time to get prepared for it.
Guest 48579 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2009, 10:34   #79
splobber
Administrator
 
splobber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Lake Titicaca
Posts: 67,115
Thanks: 40
Thanked 728 Times in 360 Posts
I just got off the phone with them and they said they have received them back into stock today so mine and everyone else who ordered one will be sent out today.

Just had a look at the website and it says they are in stock again so looks like this is the case.
splobber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2009, 12:29   #80
mr starface
He's on the Jazz again...
 
mr starface's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Essex
Posts: 4,665
Thanks: 27
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
When you get it update the firmware before you start setting things up as they are updated quite regularly and nearly always offer worthwhile enhancements and fixes.
__________________
Turn Heads, Turn on Crowds and Come out on Top
mr starface is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
A-100, A-110, Media Center, Popcorn Hour, Popcorn Hour A-110, Wireless

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 02:37.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018 Poisonous Monkey Ltd. Part of The Digital Fix Network