Go Back   Forums @ The Digital Fix > Gadgets and Gizmos > Home Entertainment Hardware forum > Home Media Streaming Forum

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 27-11-2011, 13:27   #1
dancleary1
gamertag= kinapak
 
dancleary1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Preston
Posts: 1,477
Thanks: 19
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Anyone else got an emachines ER1401?

I bought this unit from CPC yesterday. First thing i did was to install xbmc live using Openelec, which took about 10 mins. The unit itself is virtually silent and I currently have an external drive attached via USB. Playback of .mkvs and music files etc is great. I have also got the xbmc constellation app which was free and is an excellent remote control for xbmc, I then configured the htpc to switch on from the iPad, and everything is working really well. YouTube works well too. Boot up time is currently around 10 seconds.

If you've this pc i can recommend a blog by Daniel McLean whose posts I have used to achieve the above. Just google his name and xbmc.

If anyone's got any tips etc, to get more out of this machine, feel free to ask/post!
__________________
My Photos http://www.fluidr.com/photos/51311253@N02/sets
dancleary1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2011, 14:47   #2
welshmatt
Rusted User
 
welshmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Caerleon
Posts: 6,779
Thanks: 113
Thanked 183 Times in 82 Posts
I bought one a few months ago, and have been using it in my bedroom mainly to stream TV episodes from my PC in the spare room, and a 1TB WD NAS drive plugged in to my router.

Being a total novice in this area I was surprised how easy it was to install openelec, and it all worked fine straight away. I recently bought a another one and have it set up in my living room, streaming 720p mkv through homeplugs again with no problems. My TV is only HD ready so have not tried to stream 1080p but I believe this should be fine.

I'm hoping to get an iPad next year, so the constellation app looks great. I'm currently using harmony remotes (350 & 650).

How do you find out how much space you have left on the built in 250GB HDD?

Also, can you install a sopcast (or similar) app?

Probably my only disappointment with it is that I have lots of old hdtv 350mb rips and they don't look that good as they do if I watch them on my PS3. I guess the ER1401 doesn't do as good a job with upscaling SD content.

Last edited by welshmatt; 05-12-2011 at 15:20.
welshmatt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2011, 20:29   #3
dancleary1
gamertag= kinapak
 
dancleary1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Preston
Posts: 1,477
Thanks: 19
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Hi welsh matt good to hear from a fellow user. The most annoying thing for me at present is that for the life of me I can't enable file sharing with another PC, care to post a link or how-to. So, at the moment I have an external HDD attached to mine.

Apart from that, I agree it has been easy to install Openelec etc. Also, the constellation iPad app works really well.

Dan
__________________
My Photos http://www.fluidr.com/photos/51311253@N02/sets
dancleary1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2011, 21:23   #4
dancleary1
gamertag= kinapak
 
dancleary1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Preston
Posts: 1,477
Thanks: 19
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
PS i think you can view how much storage you have left in xbmc live by going system-system info-storage
__________________
My Photos http://www.fluidr.com/photos/51311253@N02/sets

Last edited by dancleary1; 07-12-2011 at 21:24.
dancleary1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2011, 21:34   #5
Jimmyboy
^__^
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 15,613
Thanks: 79
Thanked 23 Times in 14 Posts
I'm pretty sure that unless you format the internal hd you can't get access to it via xbmc live. This is due to how the emachine is set up with only a boot partition and backup partition available on first boot.
Jimmyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2011, 23:10   #6
welshmatt
Rusted User
 
welshmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Caerleon
Posts: 6,779
Thanks: 113
Thanked 183 Times in 82 Posts
I had to do a load of googling, but I somehow managed it eventually. Something to remember is that there are other devices with a bigger following (eg the revo 3610 or 3700) and a lot of the tweaks to openelec on those machines will also work on the ER1401.

I cant remember exactly but you need to share the locations you wish to stream from so that openelec can connect to them. I think I may have gone into Control Panel > Network & Internet > Homegroup to share the relevant folders with my homegroup. Then I can see the them through openelec via Videos > Files > Add source > Browse > Windows Network SMB.

Looking at my network setup at the moment I have 2 PCs connected, my main PC and the ER1401 (recognised as openelec). If I click on my PC from here you can see all the individual folders I have shared with the network.

Ive also managed to share an external hard drive connected to my PC with the 2 Er1401s on my network.

Last edited by welshmatt; 07-12-2011 at 23:19.
welshmatt is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanked once by:
dancleary1 (08-12-2011)
Old 07-12-2011, 23:17   #7
welshmatt
Rusted User
 
welshmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Caerleon
Posts: 6,779
Thanks: 113
Thanked 183 Times in 82 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jimmyboy View Post
I'm pretty sure that unless you format the internal hd you can't get access to it via xbmc live. This is due to how the emachine is set up with only a boot partition and backup partition available on first boot.
I installed openelec on the hard drive without formatting it from how it was out of the box. I can now transfer files onto the Er1401 by using my PC to access openelec through network > openelec > Tv shows and simply drag and drop. Then from within openelec itself, I just added this TV shows folder as another source.
welshmatt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2012, 20:35   #8
Guest 81424
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 2
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I'm thinking about setting up a similar system but (silly question alert), can I use the emachines like a NAS, store all my files and media on the internal hard drive (and add additional storage via USB), and then access these files using a different computer, e.g., on a laptop while sitting on the sofa watching a film also stored on the emachine ?
Guest 81424 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2012, 21:40   #9
welshmatt
Rusted User
 
welshmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Caerleon
Posts: 6,779
Thanks: 113
Thanked 183 Times in 82 Posts
I dont see why not, its just a PC at the end of the day.
welshmatt is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanked once by:
Guest 81424 (06-01-2012)
Old 06-01-2012, 22:43   #10
Guest 81424
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 2
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by welshmatt View Post
I dont see why not, its just a PC at the end of the day.
Thanks! I just have to find one in stock now for a reasonable price...
Guest 81424 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Emachines E510 Booting Problem - please help Guest 10383 Computing Forum 6 06-02-2010 19:00
Base unit emachines.... Guest 3456 Bargain Forum 17 08-05-2007 00:00
Emachines 420 PSU weirdness Guest 251 Computing Forum 2 20-11-2005 14:26
Help sourcing a PSU for emachines etower 110 rickdean Computing Forum 2 06-07-2005 22:40
PC World, Windows XP, EMachines Paul Raines Suppliers and Shopping Forum 4 22-10-2003 22:27

All times are GMT. The time now is 20:13.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018 Poisonous Monkey Ltd. Part of The Digital Fix Network