Go Back   Forums @ The Digital Fix > Gadgets and Gizmos > Home Entertainment Hardware forum > Home Media Streaming Forum

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-12-2010, 20:06   #381
Guest 5611
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: wales uk
Posts: 3,781
Thanks: 38
Thanked 27 Times in 20 Posts
picked up one of these today - after a couple of panics when it told me there was no folder content (think it was because i didnt give a user and password, even though windows 7 isnt set up for one) its very very nice.

however, have a bit of an issue - i only have scart and 1 component - the xbox needs this, and otherwise looks REALLY pants, but the WD needs it now doh!!!

Has anyone used such a thing as a component switcher or something so i can have both into the one set of sockets on the tv?

If I can't do this, it has to go back really :-(

Impressed with the quality - visually and sonically :-)

interface is SLIGHTLY clunky but dont really care about that.

It also picked up 2 firmware updates as soon as i plugged it in and the FF and RW work good to.

Last edited by davey1970; 05-12-2010 at 20:07.
Guest 5611 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2010, 22:14   #382
nwgarratt
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 10,574
Thanks: 79
Thanked 85 Times in 58 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robby View Post
Thanks, but it's not that. My HDMI output is completely knackered as it works in composite on various TVs but not via HDMI. As Ono hints at it looks like they've all but stopped updates for these so I don't hold out much hope for a fix.

Will wait for the Boxee box to iron out its issues and come down in price.
I have been given one of these (Gen2 Model). I already have a Live model too. The Gen2 has a fussy HDMI socket and out of five cables, only two gave a picture on hdmi otherwise, it defaulted to composite (even with lower resolutions). Even a cable that works at 1080p on the Live doesn't work with the Gen2 model.
nwgarratt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2010, 23:09   #383
internetuser
XBL / PSN : Googleboogle
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: In my own little wibbely wobbely world
Posts: 7,117
Thanks: 1
Thanked 74 Times in 48 Posts
Any idea what the latest firmware chances ?
internetuser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2010, 23:29   #384
nwgarratt
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 10,574
Thanks: 79
Thanked 85 Times in 58 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by internetuser View Post
Any idea what the latest firmware chances ?
The HD Gen2 has not supported by WD anymore. The last firmware was a year ago.

Last edited by nwgarratt; 05-12-2010 at 23:29.
nwgarratt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2010, 12:55   #385
Tob
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 5,717
Thanks: 173
Thanked 170 Times in 59 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by davey1970 View Post
however, have a bit of an issue - i only have scart and 1 component - the xbox needs this, and otherwise looks REALLY pants, but the WD needs it now doh!!!
I used to use a component switcher between my Wii and my DVD player - picked one up from ebay for about ~£15 and it was pretty decent, just flicked a switch when I needed to change the source.

Something like this - Component switcher

Last edited by Tob; 10-12-2010 at 12:58.
Tob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2010, 14:04   #386
Guest 5611
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: wales uk
Posts: 3,781
Thanks: 38
Thanked 27 Times in 20 Posts
Thanks - I ordered one from amazon that has really good reviews - am v pleased with the wd box so far - lush picture and sound.slightly slow starting up but nothing major. V pleased. Facebook is useless but didn't buy it for those extras.
Guest 5611 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2011, 10:40   #387
Ono
I LIEK JEON JI-HYUN!!!111
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: London(ish)
Posts: 25,318
Thanks: 541
Thanked 270 Times in 147 Posts
My (Gen 1?) WD TV HD stopped working yesterday!

PLays music snd stuff fine but my MKVs are just a blank screen.

Nothing wrong with my encodings nor the HDD because I have tested with previously working stuff.


Looking online it suggests some people have had this issue but can't find a resolution.
Ono is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2011, 11:58   #388
Robby
XBL- iRobz PSN - PSiRobz
 
Robby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: ‎"Wearing out more picks than Hendrix on a Caffeine drip"
Posts: 8,625
Thanks: 270
Thanked 158 Times in 94 Posts
Is the HDMI not giving out any signal? I had that happen on my gen2 model and as yet haven't found a fix.
Robby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2011, 13:07   #389
Ono
I LIEK JEON JI-HYUN!!!111
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: London(ish)
Posts: 25,318
Thanks: 541
Thanked 270 Times in 147 Posts
Don't think it is the HDMI as the menu and photos are still working. It is MKV playback (not tried any avi).

Worked perfectly fine yesterday until it just went.
Ono is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2011, 14:33   #390
Robby
XBL- iRobz PSN - PSiRobz
 
Robby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: ‎"Wearing out more picks than Hendrix on a Caffeine drip"
Posts: 8,625
Thanks: 270
Thanked 158 Times in 94 Posts
Sounds suspect, I'd be wary of unplugging the hdmi myself as mine showed no sign of failure before it stopped outpouring hdmi. Can't be too careful.

Shame WD's normally excellent quality control don't seem to stretch further than their portable Hard Drives.

Hope it sorts itself out Ono.
Robby is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanked once by:
eric (15-08-2011)
Old 12-03-2011, 14:44   #391
Ono
I LIEK JEON JI-HYUN!!!111
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: London(ish)
Posts: 25,318
Thanks: 541
Thanked 270 Times in 147 Posts
It's working again. If it fails again I'll start hunting for something new. Been thinking about upgrading fo a while
Ono is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
Media Player, Western Digital, Western Digital WD TV HD

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Western Digital WD TV HD Media Player Dan Home Entertainment Hardware forum 4 14-12-2008 23:32
Digital Media Player Guest 18643 Suppliers and Shopping Forum 3 08-12-2006 13:08
BT Voyager Digital Media Player £49.95 still £149 @ BT Guest 1338 Bargain Forum 11 30-11-2005 15:54

All times are GMT. The time now is 01:14.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018 Poisonous Monkey Ltd. Part of The Digital Fix Network