Go Back   Forums @ The Digital Fix > Gadgets and Gizmos > Computing Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-05-2016, 16:48   #1981
target
Trusted User
 
target's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Loughborough
Posts: 19,192
Thanks: 293
Thanked 4,688 Times in 2,067 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Bear View Post
but can I use the OEM copy of W7 from my older laptop?
Legally no. In practise... maybe.
target is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanked once by:
The Bear (09-05-2016)
Old 09-05-2016, 17:15   #1982
The Bear
Old-gold and black member
 
The Bear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Molineux
Posts: 16,942
Thanks: 457
Thanked 1,689 Times in 571 Posts
I'm assuming I wouldn't be able to run both concurrently active on both laptops anyway? I may sell the old one so would still want the OS working.
The Bear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2016, 17:22   #1983
The Bear
Old-gold and black member
 
The Bear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Molineux
Posts: 16,942
Thanks: 457
Thanked 1,689 Times in 571 Posts
I'll answer my other W10 installation question as I've just looked it up.

You can now do a clean install of W10 using a valid product key from W7/8. Guide is here if anyone else reads this in the future and wants to know how:

http://www.howtogeek.com/224342/how-...ll-windows-10/
The Bear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2016, 17:25   #1984
target
Trusted User
 
target's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Loughborough
Posts: 19,192
Thanks: 293
Thanked 4,688 Times in 2,067 Posts
yeah that's been the case since Threshold 2.
target is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2016, 17:26   #1985
target
Trusted User
 
target's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Loughborough
Posts: 19,192
Thanks: 293
Thanked 4,688 Times in 2,067 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Bear View Post
I'm assuming I wouldn't be able to run both concurrently active on both laptops anyway? I may sell the old one so would still want the OS working.
Definitely no chance of that.

If you got the dirt cheap 7 to 8 upgrade, there seems to be nothing stopping you upgrading both your 7 and your 8 to 10.
target is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanked once by:
The Bear (09-05-2016)
Old 10-05-2016, 20:06   #1986
The Bear
Old-gold and black member
 
The Bear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Molineux
Posts: 16,942
Thanks: 457
Thanked 1,689 Times in 571 Posts
So, in the media creation tool it gives me options as to which version of W10 I want to download.

Windows 10
Windows 10 Home single language
Windows 10 N

Obviously it's one of the first two but what is the difference between then. One is just 10 and the other is Home.
The Bear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2016, 20:51   #1987
Tempest
Trusted User
 
Tempest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Horley (Gatwick)
Posts: 27,659
Thanks: 1,270
Thanked 957 Times in 573 Posts
Perhaps someone can clarify.......

I have 2 PC's Both were running Windows 7 Home which I purchased and still have the official boxed DVD's of.

I then, at a later date, purchased a licence of Windows 8.1 Pro, and installed this on one of my machines.

Window 10 upgrade came along, and, as you can guess, One machine, still running Win 7 Home was upgraded to Win 10 home.
The other was upgraded to Win 10 pro.

So I still have, a currently unused Win7 home I was using.

Do I need to stick this onto something....... And use the key to upgrade it to windows 10 for a future machine perhaps?

If I leave it, do nothing with it, then in a few months time the code won't offer the upgrade?
Tempest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2016, 20:55   #1988
The Bear
Old-gold and black member
 
The Bear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Molineux
Posts: 16,942
Thanks: 457
Thanked 1,689 Times in 571 Posts
The free upgrade expires in Jun/Jul this year I think so you'd have to use your W7 Product Key to either upgrade or install W10 on a fresh machine before then.
The Bear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2016, 21:04   #1989
mjr
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: UK
Posts: 2,562
Thanks: 483
Thanked 127 Times in 97 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Bear View Post
So, in the media creation tool it gives me options as to which version of W10 I want to download.

Windows 10
Windows 10 Home single language
Windows 10 N

Obviously it's one of the first two but what is the difference between then. One is just 10 and the other is Home.
Pretty sure you want the first one. IIRC the "single language" variants are sold in developing countries where the licenses are cheaper, but crucially it can't be switched to another language and sold abroad.
mjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanked once by:
The Bear (10-05-2016)
Old 10-05-2016, 21:33   #1990
The Bear
Old-gold and black member
 
The Bear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Molineux
Posts: 16,942
Thanks: 457
Thanked 1,689 Times in 571 Posts
Yeah turns out after some more searching that the first option includes options to install any version of W10 whereas the second is just for the Home version with the single language option.
The Bear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2016, 21:48   #1991
Chris Locke
Making a 1% improvement
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Essex, UK
Posts: 7,344
Thanks: 566
Thanked 1,713 Times in 582 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tempest View Post
Do I need to stick this onto something....... And use the key to upgrade it to windows 10 for a future machine perhaps?

If I leave it, do nothing with it, then in a few months time the code won't offer the upgrade?
You are given the option to upgrade an installed version of 7/8 to 10 - not upgrade a copy of Win 7/8 to 10. The OS must be installed for the upgrade, or you can use a Win 7/8 key to install a fresh installation. After July, you will no longer have this option, and your Win 7/8 will remain a Win 7/8 copy. Maybe at some point later down the line (in an effort to get rid of the last remaining 7's and 8's) Microsoft might repeat the 'free upgrade' offer, but you can't 'bank' a copy of Win 10 now for future use.
Chris Locke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2016, 21:58   #1992
Tempest
Trusted User
 
Tempest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Horley (Gatwick)
Posts: 27,659
Thanks: 1,270
Thanked 957 Times in 573 Posts
Si, in effect, all I need to do is to install my spare, Windows 7 home DVD onto any computer. Do an upgrade. Then, back at MS HQ my serial no will be listed as from that point onwards usable on a future machine?
Tempest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2016, 22:04   #1993
The Bear
Old-gold and black member
 
The Bear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Molineux
Posts: 16,942
Thanks: 457
Thanked 1,689 Times in 571 Posts
I guess so.

Thinking about it you could probably just put a USB stick (with enough space) into one of your existing computers and install W10 onto that by downloading it onto that then booting into it and choosing the USB as the drive when installing.

That way you have a licensed copy of W10 on a USB stick which you can then transfer over to any other machine since it's used a retail key from W7.

Is that right?
The Bear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2016, 22:06   #1994
vaderag
Gamertag: VaderAG
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Bexleyheath
Posts: 6,995
Thanks: 389
Thanked 79 Times in 61 Posts
I think it's linked to hardware, so you will only be able to use on the hardware it's activated on
__________________
@GambitUK
vaderag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2016, 22:09   #1995
The Bear
Old-gold and black member
 
The Bear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Molineux
Posts: 16,942
Thanks: 457
Thanked 1,689 Times in 571 Posts
Only OEM copies are linked to hardware.

Retail copies can be activated on any machine.
The Bear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2016, 05:14   #1996
target
Trusted User
 
target's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Loughborough
Posts: 19,192
Thanks: 293
Thanked 4,688 Times in 2,067 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Bear View Post
Thinking about it you could probably just put a USB stick (with enough space) into one of your existing computers and install W10 onto that by downloading it onto that then booting into it and choosing the USB as the drive when installing.
I wouldn't recommend it as it will likely find and make use of your existing boot partition. I'm not sure how happy your current Windows would then be when you remove said USB stick with a Windows install.
Personally I used a VM for upgrading my 'spare' retail Windows.
target is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2016, 05:40   #1997
The Bear
Old-gold and black member
 
The Bear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Molineux
Posts: 16,942
Thanks: 457
Thanked 1,689 Times in 571 Posts
Why would it do that when you're specifying which drive and partition to install onto?

Even if that might be an issue, can't you just temporarily unplug your main C drive whilst you do it?

Actually does the Windows setup program even recognise USB drives to install on anyway?
The Bear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2016, 06:02   #1998
target
Trusted User
 
target's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Loughborough
Posts: 19,192
Thanks: 293
Thanked 4,688 Times in 2,067 Posts
You could unplug your other OS drive yeah. That's what we recommend doing when setting up an SSD. Otherwise you end up with the boot partition on your old HDD and you're screwed when you unplug it.

It does it because it doesn't need more than one in a system.
Depending on options and support for it, it's probably be setting up dual booting too...

Last edited by target; 11-05-2016 at 06:04.
target is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2016, 06:53   #1999
Chris Locke
Making a 1% improvement
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Essex, UK
Posts: 7,344
Thanks: 566
Thanked 1,713 Times in 582 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tempest View Post
Si, in effect, all I need to do is to install my spare, Windows 7 home DVD onto any computer. Do an upgrade. Then, back at MS HQ my serial no will be listed as from that point onwards usable on a future machine?
No, thats not it at all. I thought it was clear: "You are given the option to upgrade an installed version of 7/8 to 10 - not upgrade a copy of Win 7/8 to 10."

Microsoft wants everyone to go to Windows 10, so if you've a running copy of Win 7/8, then Microsoft will upgrade you to Win 10 for free.

I also put, "but you can't 'bank' a copy of Win 10 now for future use."

If you install Windows 7 on a machine, Microsoft allow that machine to be upgraded to Windows 10. They are not replacing your DVD of Win 7/8 for a DVD of Windows 10. You cannot bank a copy of Windows 10 for later .... just because you have a DVD, doesn't give you the 'rights' to Windows 10 after July*.

For the avoidance of doubt. If you install/upgrade a copy of Win 7/8 to Win 10, Microsoft logs the activation key used (so a Win 7/8 key or Win 10 key) against the hardware key of that machine. This is useful in that if you reinstall Win 10 on the same hardware again, you don't need the Win 7/8/10 key as Microsoft already have it. It also means you can't use that Win 7/8/10 key on another machine as its locked against the hardware.

So despite what The Bear has suggested, his 'trick' will not work. Installing Win 10 will lock that copy of Win 10 against that hardware. Unplug the USB stick, stick it in another machine, and Win 10 will detect different hardware. Think about it logically. If you could do what The Bear suggested, there would only be one copy of Win 10 in existence - everyone would be using the same licensed copy...
Chris Locke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2016, 08:50   #2000
Q
Yee Ol Forum Pirate Ahhhh
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: LONDON
Posts: 10,196
Thanks: 19
Thanked 429 Times in 380 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tempest View Post
Si, in effect, all I need to do is to install my spare, Windows 7 home DVD onto any computer. Do an upgrade. Then, back at MS HQ my serial no will be listed as from that point onwards usable on a future machine?
What I did is clone the W7's O/S onto a spare SSD and upgrade from the Clone to W10. Doing this I still have a valid W7 on SSD and W10 activated.

To be honest I've kept all the W10 running at the mo. But if I wanted to change back to W7 for any reason then it's just a case of swapping SSD's..

SSD's are like DVD's at moment. Got plenty stacked up in the draw..
Q is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrading Windows Vista to Windows 7... Decided on Windows 8 - RESOLVED Psycho Computing Forum 26 03-11-2012 17:53
Simple video editor like Windows Live Movie Maker for Windows? King Mustard Computing Forum 1 05-03-2012 08:39
MS Technet: Windows 7 and Windows Server 2008 R2 Service Pack 1 (SP1) Beta driver8 Computing Forum 31 28-02-2011 10:44
Windows Home Server / Windows 7 - temporary loss of access to random shared folders? ColinP Computing Forum 5 25-01-2010 21:49
Windows developers : Displaying MDI child windows in a multiple monitor environment pkr Computing Forum 4 04-08-2005 23:08

All times are GMT. The time now is 20:32.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018 Poisonous Monkey Ltd. Part of The Digital Fix Network