Go Back   Forums @ The Digital Fix > Entertainment Discussion Forums > Television Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 31-07-2007, 20:21   #1
Guest 44119
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Birmingham, UK
Posts: 1,806
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Subtitles on all programmes on Virgin Cable - how do you turn it off?!?!

Not sure whats happened, but for some reason there now appears to be subtitle text on all programmes that I watch on Virgin Cable.

Does anyone know how you turn this off?

Thanks.
Guest 44119 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-07-2007, 20:26   #2
TigaSefi
Xbox Live/PS3 : TigaSefi
 
TigaSefi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 18,752
Thanks: 49
Thanked 96 Times in 62 Posts
I presume that you must have gone into the options for the box and have subtitles turned on by default one way or another. So I suggest you look there first of all.
__________________
"And so it is, just as you said it would be"

Last edited by TigaSefi; 31-07-2007 at 20:26.
TigaSefi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-07-2007, 20:29   #3
Guest 44119
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Birmingham, UK
Posts: 1,806
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by TigaSefi View Post
I presume that you must have gone into the options for the box and have subtitles turned on by default one way or another. So I suggest you look there first of all.
Ive tried looking for such an option but can't see it.

Ive never turned them on...!
Guest 44119 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-07-2007, 20:45   #4
zantarous
Xbox Live tag: wargame
 
zantarous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London
Posts: 10,455
Thanks: 122
Thanked 206 Times in 159 Posts
I am quite sure that Virgin does not support subtitles on all channels, have you got teletext switched on page 888?
zantarous is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 31-07-2007, 21:13   #5
Guest 59796
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 245
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by DK_UK View Post
Ive tried looking for such an option but can't see it.

Ive never turned them on...!
Go to the SETTINGS menu and the Subtitles option is there or on one of the sub menus from that page

Last edited by davidanders; 31-07-2007 at 21:13.
Guest 59796 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-07-2007, 22:39   #6
Guest 31385
Trusted User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Bradford
Posts: 715
Thanks: 18
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
When you have the mini-guide up the blue button is subtitles on and off, if thats set correctly sounds more like a fault on the service.
Guest 31385 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2007, 20:05   #7
Guest 44119
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Birmingham, UK
Posts: 1,806
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pist View Post
When you have the mini-guide up the blue button is subtitles on and off, if thats set correctly sounds more like a fault on the service.
Ah. That was it, thanks.
Guest 44119 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2007, 15:07   #8
wardmj1
Word
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: London
Posts: 1,110
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Strangly, I turned this on the other day and could not work it out. Took me ages!
It was what Pist says and is blatantly not obvious at all!
__________________
____________________________________________
"im bringing him in closer..."
"You're gonna do WHAT!!"
wardmj1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2007, 15:16   #9
brett@liverpoolfc.net
Trusted User
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 146
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
also within the options as mentioned above... Happened to us at home a couple of days ago - wasn't a software update was there?
brett@liverpoolfc.net is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to share a connection on Virgin cable? SqueakyG Computing Forum 4 16-07-2007 17:48
Virgin Cable questions kohoutec Computing Forum 29 16-07-2007 15:31
setting programmes with Virgin Media BigH Home Entertainment Hardware forum 4 14-06-2007 00:19
Virgin cable expansion plans? Guest 15117 Computing Forum 2 01-05-2007 12:44
extending telewest/virgin cable tv box CrumpetMan Home Entertainment Hardware forum 3 23-04-2007 08:55

All times are GMT. The time now is 14:50.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018 Poisonous Monkey Ltd. Part of The Digital Fix Network