Go Back   Forums @ The Digital Fix > Gadgets and Gizmos > Computing Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-01-2006, 08:30   #1
tomos
XBL - virgo22
 
tomos's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: in Gal Gadot (I wish)
Posts: 4,966
Thanks: 76
Thanked 19 Times in 18 Posts
Setting up QoS on a home network?

Is there a way to set this up on a home network with all pcs running win XP pro?

basically, i use a PC that acts like a server and other PCs stream a load of video content off for encoding purposes (most drives are on this server).

prob is if i watch a video, it can stutter due to the lack of bandwidth, or more often, take ages to seek.

i've never used QoS before but can it do what i want? priorotise(sp?) one file type over another?
__________________
my piccies - http://picasaweb.google.com/tommo123
tomos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2006, 09:00   #2
Guest 27098
tered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: London
Posts: 1,205
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
This might help:

http://www.cisco.com/univercd/cc/td/...os.htm#1020570

tbh for a home network it's not really that realistic - unless you are a techie geek with money to burn....incidently, QOS is

An easier solution might be to put your encoded files onto their own disc and on a different disc controller to the ones that are used for encoding....check your pagefile - if that's being used a lot then maybe it's memory that is the bottleneck...

You might also be able to change your encoder software to a lower process priority such as to only work when the processor is idle.

If you have dual processor then make one for encoding and the other for playback - however I suspect the discs are the problem....
Guest 27098 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2006, 09:52   #3
tomos
XBL - virgo22
 
tomos's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: in Gal Gadot (I wish)
Posts: 4,966
Thanks: 76
Thanked 19 Times in 18 Posts
i have a dual core system, and it is set to idle. playing a video on the same machine (with process set to above normal) can still take ages to seek (both sources on a diff pc)

playing a video at the same time on the server pc is fine and not a drive or memory prob on there (already checked this out).

it looks like it is just down to the bandwidth over the network which is why i would like to priorotise traffic (without buying ultra expensive hardware )
tomos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2006, 11:51   #4
Guest 3526
Getting there...
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Weston-super-Mare
Posts: 373
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
tomos: might be worth giving us some details about your network. I can stream videos off of a Pentium 233 machine with UDMA33 hard disks (running NASLITE+) onto my ethernet switch, through to an AP and then to my laptop without any issues whatsoever...

I think you might have a network issue more then a PC performance issue. What speed/duplex settings have you got on your network cards? Are you using a hub or a switch?
Guest 3526 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 20:41.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018 Poisonous Monkey Ltd. Part of The Digital Fix Network